25

Still life occupies a prominent place amongst the pictorial genres of Western visual art, but is too often seen as an academic exercise in imitation. This ambitious, original exhibition turns this perception upside down with an overview of 400 years of Spanish still lives.

 

Spanish still lives occupy a unique place within the European context, and have an unmistakeable relationship with Flemish and Italian models, but resolutely unique imagery, developed by Sanchez Cotán and his contemporaries. The genre experienced an unprecedented boom in the late Baroque to suddenly become a real battleground for the arts in the twentieth century. In still life, avant-garde notably finds a unique medium for a new experiment: cubism.

 

This exhibition brings together the great Spanish masters to illustrate this breath-taking journey, from Velázquez and Goya to PicassoDali and Miró.

 

Can’t get enough of Spanish still lives? Then be sure to pay our neighbours at the Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium a visit. They have an incredible collection of still lives by the likes of Frans Snijders, his pupil Joannes Fyt and Joachim Beuckelaer, not to mention Ensor, Spilliaert and Magritte. Or why not visit the renovated Snijders&Rockox House in Antwerp, where Frans Snijders was a regular visitor. It’ll give you a perfect flavour of the Baroque year 2018.

Did you know?

  • Make the most of your visit with the Spring Pass!

    For just € 25 you can visit the exhibitions Dirk BraeckmanFernand LégerSpanish Still Life and Hugo Claus whenever you want (please note that the exhibitions have different closing dates), until 3 June 2018. Interested?

    read more
    — published on

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

21

La nature morte occupe une place prépondérante parmi les genres picturaux de l’art plastique occidental, mais elle est trop souvent considérée comme un exercice académique d’imitation. Cette exposition ambitieuse et originale réfute cette idée et propose pas moins de 400 ans de nature morte espagnole.
 

La nature morte espagnole occupe une place unique en Europe : clairement apparentée aux modèles flamands et italiens, elle adopte un langage visuel absolument unique, développé par Sanchez Cotán et ses contemporains. Le genre connaît un essor sans précédent à la fin du baroque avant de devenir subitement, au XXe siècle, un véritable champ de bataille pour les arts. L’avant-garde voit en effet dans la nature morte un moyen unique de s’adonner à une nouvelle expérience : le cubisme.
 

Ce voyage époustouflant dans l’histoire de la nature morte est illustré par des œuvres des grands maîtres espagnols, de Velázquez et Goya à Picasso, Dali et Miró.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Profitez du printemps grâce à notre Spring Pass

    Pour € 25 à peine, vous pourrez visiter les expositions Dirk BraeckmanFernand LégerSpanish Still Life et Hugo Claus quand vous le souhaiterez (attention, veuillez tenir compte des différentes dates de fermeture des expos), jusqu’au 3 juin 2018. Cela vous intéresse ?

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • L’Espagne à moitié prix !

    La culture espagnole est l’une des plus riches d’Europe. Grâce à notre offre spéciale, vous pouvez à la fois vibrer sur les sonorités suaves du flamenco et vous plonger dans l’histoire passionnante de la nature morte dans la peinture espagnole, à un prix plus qu’avantageux. 

    lire la suite
    — publié le

En cours et à venir