22

RESIST! The 1960s protests, photography and visual legacy presents some of the most iconic images of the 1960s movements that shook the world and influenced contemporary history. The project sets the tone of the Summer of Photography 2018 focusing on the theme of revolt, and marking the fiftieth anniversary of the students protests that erupted in Paris in May 1968.

The exhibition brings together works by seminal figures from the photographic and photojournalistic world, alongside rare archive images. These important first-hand visual accounts highlight the dedication of the photographers to document history and raise awareness of crucial humanist issues. They also serve to define the aesthetics of resistance born out of these hostile socio-political contexts. 

Underpinning the concept of this exhibition is the idea of ‘lens of resistance’ as a socio-political filter adopted by the image-makers. As such the exhibition will also include representations of aspirations to freedom, human rights and equality that were the object the 1960s protests and, in many instances, remain ideals worth protecting in the face of the troubled time the world is facing today. 

Contemporary art practices will be considered in light of the achievements and failures of past struggles. In this respect, the exhibition will also reappraise the legacy of past forms of visual resistance and how they permeate contemporary art and photography. 

Throughout the exhibition there is a space at your disposal where you can create your own slogans, banners and posters. It's open to all so why not come along and express yourself!

 

Curator: Christine Eyene

Artists: AES+F, John Akomfrah, Francis Alÿs, Bruno Barbey, Ian Berry, Ursula Biemann et Paulo Tavares, Marcelo Brodsky, René Burri, Gilles Caron, Raymond Depardon, Stan Douglas, Mounir Fatmi, Leonard Freed, Jean Gaumy, Burt Glinn, Hiroshi Hamaya, Gavin Jantjes, Josef Koudelka, Artem Loskutov, Hugo Mellaerts et Henri Storck, Gideon Mendel, Oliver Ressler, Graciela Sacco, Larissa Sansour, Steve Schapiro, Gundula Schulze-Eldowy, Bruno Serralongue, Wolfgang Tillmans, Sue Williamson, Hank Willis Thomas, Yong Xu with archives from the Centre for Fine Arts, General Library of the University of Coimbra – Student Association Archive and Fundação Mário Soares.

Did you know?

  • Summer of Photography

    On presentation of your ticket RESIST! The 1960’s protests, photography and visual legacy you receive a discount at the exhibitions of the partners* of the Summer of Photography and vice versa. Offer cannot be combined with any other discount. 

    read more
    — published on
  • Make the most of your visit with the Summer Pass!

    For just € 20 you can visit the exhibitions Charlemagne Palestine, Hugo Claus. Con AmoreResist! and Somewhere in Between whenever you want (please note that the exhibitions have different closing dates), until 26 August 2018. Interested?

    read more
    — published on
  • Cultural workers of the world, unite!

    May ‘68 made it as far as the Centre for Fine Arts. On the evening of 28 May 1968, artists and writers gathered in a Brussels café. They all wanted to mark the event with an immediate collective action... And what an action it was!

    — published on

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

22

RESIST! The 1960s protests, photography and visual legacy présente quelques-unes des images les plus emblématiques des mouvements qui ont secoué le monde dans les années 60 et influencé l’histoire contemporaine. Ce projet donne le ton du Summer of Photography 2018, qui a pour thème la révolte, et marque le cinquantième anniversaire des manifestations étudiantes qui ont éclaté à Paris en mai 68.

L’exposition réunit des œuvres de figures marquantes de la photographie et du photojournalisme, ainsi que de rares images d’archives.Ces témoignages visuels directs soulignent le dévouement des photographes, qui tenaient à garder une trace de ces événements historiques et à sensibiliser l’opinion publique aux questions humanistes cruciales. Ces images ont aussi défini l’esthétique de la résistance née de ces contextes sociopolitiques hostiles.

Le concept de la résistance, photographiée sous l’angle sociopolitique par les artistes, est le fil conducteur de cette expo. Mais ce projet s’emploie aussi à représenter les aspirations liées à la liberté, aux droits de l’homme et à l’égalité revendiquées par les jeunes manifestants dans les années 60 et qui demeurent, dans bien des cas, des idéaux à protéger en cette période difficile.

Les pratiques artistiques contemporaines seront examinées à la lumière des réussites et des échecs des combats passés. À cet égard, l’exposition reconsidèrera les anciennes formes de résistance visuelle et la façon dont elles imprègnent l’art et la photographie contemporains.

Nous vous proposons également tout au long de l'exposition un espace ouvert à tous, conçu et dédié à la création de slogans, de pancartes et d'affiches. Exprimez-vous , vous aussi!  

 

Commissaire : Christine Eyene

Artistes : AES+F, John Akomfrah, Francis Alÿs, Bruno Barbey, Ian Berry, Ursula Biemann et Paulo Tavares, Marcelo Brodsky, René Burri, Gilles Caron, Raymond Depardon, Stan Douglas, Mounir Fatmi, Leonard Freed, Jean Gaumy, Burt Glinn, Hiroshi Hamaya, Gavin Jantjes, Josef Koudelka, Artem Loskutov, Hugo Mellaerts et Henri Storck, Gideon Mendel, Oliver Ressler, Graciela Sacco, Larissa Sansour, Steve Schapiro, Gundula Schulze-Eldowy, Bruno Serralongue, Wolfgang Tillmans, Sue Williamson, Hank Willis Thomas, Yong Xu with archives from the Centre for Fine Arts, General Library of the University of Coimbra – Student Association Archive and Fundação Mário Soares.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Summer of Photography

    Sur présentation de votre ticket RESIST! The 1960’s protests, photography and visual legacy, bénéficiez d’une réduction pour les expos de nos partenaires* du Summer of Photography et réciproquement. Offre non cumulable avec d’autres réductions.

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • Profitez de l'été grâce à notre Summer Pass

    Pour € 20 à peine, vous pourrez visiter les expositions Charlemagne Palestine, Hugo Claus. Con AmoreResist! and Somewhere in Between quand vous le souhaiterez (attention, veuillez tenir compte des différentes dates de fermeture des expos), jusqu’au 26 août 2018. Cela vous intéresse ?

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • Travailleurs culturels de tous les pays, unissez-vous !

    Mai ‘68 s’est étendu au Palais des Beaux-Arts. Dans la soirée du 28 mai 1968, des artistes et écrivains s’étaient rassemblés dans un café bruxellois. Tous voulaient marquer le coup avec une action collective immédiate... Et quelle action !

    — publié le

En cours et à venir

Précédemment