21

Dance the night away listening to quality electronic music acts, while visiting top notch exhibitions: this is BOZAR NIGHT !

This edition is one you can’t afford to miss.  Fernand Léger’s work is the perfect backdrop to electronic music. His representation of a fragmented and syncopated fast-moving society effortlessly blends in with the repetitive electro beats. Alongside Kehinde Wiley’s monumental stained glass pieces you also get to take in a unique collection of classic Spanish still lives and a multidisciplinary exhibition on Hugo Claus, one of Belgium’s most famous authors.
The minimal house and techno of Detroit-born Magda, the subtle and elegant electronic music of veteran Frenchwoman Chloé, the raw, danceable beats of Kyoka, Haring’s playful experiments, the dark abstract textures of Monolithe Noir and the narrative sounds of Liyo will lift your spirits into this unique BOZAR Night

EXPOSITIONS > 20:00 - 01:00

Fernand Léger. Beauty is Everywhere
Spanish Still Life. Velázquez, Goya, Picasso, Miró, ...
Hugo Claus. Con Amore
Kehinde Wiley
Benoit Platéus

MUSIC > 20:00 - 03:00

HORTA HALL

20:00 Pierre & Marc (BE)
22:00 Haring (BE)
23:00 Chloé (FR)
01:00 Magda (US)

FUMOIR
22:00 Liyo (BE)
23:00 Monolithe Noir (BE)
00:00 Kyoka (JA)
01:00 Liyo (BE)

Magda (US)

Magda's realm as an artist spans far beyond the typical role played by DJs and producers. With an open mind, Magda will try her hand at whatever feels right - from tech collaborations to fashion and art, creating a truly unique, multifaceted expression of herself.  Born in Poland and raised in Detroit, where she partied as a teenager, it wasn't long until Magda was fully immersed in the city's underground scene. In 1998, she joined Minus and began touring the world as Richie Hawtin's opening DJ. In her selections, she combines her love for Italian horror composition, Detroit techno futurism, modular acid and straight-forward dancefloor functionality. She has also remixed the likes of Plastikman and Depeche Mode. Magda continues to explore new creative avenues, each of them executed with the stamp of quality she has come to represent.

Chloé (FR)

Chloé is the perfect example of a polyvalent artist. She is a composer, working mainly with electronic music tools. She has released music on labels such as BPitch Control, Live at Robert Johnson, Kill the DJ, My Favorite Robot, and Throne of Blood. She is constantly seeking for new ventures, and collaborates with cinema, the contemporary art world and with institutions such as IRCAM. She also has her own label, Lumière Noire, on which she releases her own work. Her versatilty is perfectly reflected in her dj sets. She assembles and blends together unlikely tracks, creating subtle contrasts that come together into singular mixes with a rare elegance.

Kyoka (JP)

Kyoka is a Japanese composer and musician living between Berlin and Tokyo. In her childhood she learned to play piano, flute and shamisen, later on she started exploring the possibilities of field recordings and tape manipulations. She then began to examine the limits of synthesizer and computer generated sounds. She has released music on Raster-Media (ex Raster-Noton) highlighting her adventurous artistic approach. She plays inventive electronic music. Her lightly chaotic, sometimes frisky, but at the same time rich and wide atmospheric sound mixed with rough and experimental yet danceable beats creates an extraordinary listening experience.

Haring (BE)

Haring is a young Belgian musician and producer of electronic music based in Brussels. His music  is  a  combination  of  house,  electronica  and  downtempo. His  sounds  are inspired  by  his  travels and  encounters,  which  he  translates  into  music  during  long evenings  and  nights  searching  for  the  perfect  sounds. Influenced  by  artists  such  as Gold  Panda, Rone, Fatima  Yamaha and Vessels ,  Haring  has  recently  released  his debut album ‘In Spaces’on his own label City Tracks.

Monolithe Noir (BE)

Monolithe Noir is the solo project of Antoine Pasqualini. After having played mostly in pop bands, he wanted to make a drastic change and to make music for himself. He started exploring new tools like modular synthesizers and computers. He quickly found his own sound, combining dark abstract textures with surprising melodic and melancholic hooks. His rythmic approach is rich and varied, allowing the listener to get lost in his propositions. Among his influences, you’ll find Laurie Spiegel, Daphne Oram, James Holden, Luke Abott, Bebe and Louis Barron, with hints of pop and post-rock.

Liyo (BE)

HE4RTBROKEN   is   a   Belgian   collective   promoting   forward-thinking   and   genre-blending club music. It aims at offering performances challenging expectations from the club, and focuses  on   emotion   and   reinvention   rather  than   on   a   certain   musical  genre. Co-founder Liyo has been selected as one of the «8 female djs and producers who made 2017» by i-D magazine. Her style  could  be qualified as  «storytelling», and is kindred to the  philosophy  of her nights : emotions come first, as she's looking for interesting collages, abrupt downfalls and emotional   climaxes   in   her   mixes   regardless   of   genres   and   regular   dance   music conventions.

24

Musiques électroniques et expositions jusqu’aux petites heures: bienvenue à la BOZAR NIGHT ! 

Cette édition s’annonce déjà incontournable. L’œuvre de Fernand Léger est une toile de fond parfaite pour la musique électronique. Sa représentation d’une société fragmentée et syncopée, en évolution rapide, s’harmonise parfaitement aux beats électro répétitifs. Outre les vitraux monumentaux de Kehinde Wiley vous découvrirez aussi une collection unique de natures mortes espagnoles et une exposition multidisciplinaire sur Hugo Claus, l’un des plus célèbres auteurs belges.

La house et techno minimalistes de Magda, née à Détroit, la musique électronique subtile et élégante de la vétérane française Chloé, les beats bruts et dansants de Kyoka, les expérimentations ludiques de Haring, les textures abstraites et sombres de Monolithe Noir et les sons narratifs de Liyo vous feront passer une merveilleuse BOZAR Night.

EXPOSITIONS > 20:00 - 01:00

Fernand Léger. Le beau est partout
Spanish Still Life. Velázquez, Goya, Picasso, Miró, ...
Hugo Claus. Con Amore
Kehinde Wiley
Benoit Platéus

MUSIC > 20:00 - 03:00

HORTA HALL

20:00 Pierre & Marc (BE)
22:00 Haring (BE)
23:00 Chloé (FR)
01:00 Magda (US)

FUMOIR

22:00 Liyo (BE)
23:00 Monolithe Noir (BE)
00:00 Kyoka (JA)
01:00 Liyo (BE)

Magda (VS)

Le domaine artistique de Magda s’étend loin au-delà du rôle typiquement endossé par les DJ et les producteurs. L’esprit ouvert, Magda explore tout ce qui lui parle – des collaborations technologiques à la mode en passant par l’art – pour créer un univers personnel unique aux multiples facettes. Née en Pologne, elle a passé son enfance à Detroit où, à l’adolescence, elle a découvert le monde de la nuit. Il n’a pas fallu longtemps pour qu’elle plonge au cœur de la scène underground de la ville. En 1998, elle rejoint Minus et se lance dans des tournées à travers le monde en assurant la première partie de Richie Hawtin. Sur scène, sa discographie combine son amour pour la musique des films d’horreur italiens, la techno futuriste de Detroit, l’acid modulaire et les disques de dancefloor purement fonctionnels. Elle a également remixé des artistes tels que Plastikman et Depeche Mode. Magda continue d’explorer de nouveaux univers créatifs en proposant à chaque reprise une qualité qui est désormais devenue sa marque de fabrique.

Chloé (FR)

Chloé est l’exemple parfait de l’artiste polyvalente. Elle compose principalement avec des outils musicaux électroniques. Elle a sorti de la musique sur des labels tels que BPitch Control, Live at Robert Johnson, Kill the DJ, My Favorite Robot et Throne of Blood. Constamment à la recherche de nouveaux défis, elle collabore avec le monde du cinéma, de l’art contemporain et des institutions telles que l’IRCAM. Elle possède aussi son propre label, Lumière Noire, sur lequel elle sort ses propres œuvres. Sa versatilité se reflète dans ses DJ sets, où rencontres audacieuses, mélanges improbables et contrastes subtils engendrent un résultat insolite à l’élégance rare.

Kyoka (JP)

Kyoka est une compositrice et musicienne japonaise qui partage sa vie  entre Berlin et Tokyo. Enfant, elle a appris à jouer du piano, de la flûte et du shamisen. Plus tard, elle s’est intéressée aux possibilités offertes par les enregistrements de terrain et la manipulation de bandes. Ensuite, elle a exploré les limites des sons générés par synthétiseur et par ordinateur. La musique qu’elle a publiée sur Raster-Media (ex Raster-Noton) illustre bien son approche artistique audacieuse. Kyoka interprète une musique électronique inventive, aux sonorités légèrement chaotiques, parfois enjouées, mais toujours riches et atmosphériques. Mêlées à des rythmes expérimentaux mais dansants, elles sont synonymes d’une expérience auditive hors du commun.

Haring (BE)

Haring est un jeune musicien et producteur de musique électronique belge basé à Bruxelles. Sa musique combine la house, l’électronique et le downtempo. Ses sonorités s’inspirent de voyages et de rencontres qu’il traduit en musique en consacrant de longues soirées et de longues nuits à la recherche du son parfait. Influencé par des artistes tels que Gold Panda, Rone, Fatima Yamaha et Vessels, Haring a récemment sorti son premier opus In Spaces sur son propre label City Tracks.

Monolithe Noir (BE)

Monolithe Noir est le projet solo d’Antoine Pasqualini. Après avoir joué dans plusieurs groupes de pop, il a voulu faire de la musique pour lui-même. Il s’est intéressé à de nouveaux outils tels que les synthétiseurs modulaires et les ordinateurs. Il a rapidement trouvé un son très personnel en combinant des textures sombres abstraites à une dimension mélodique et mélancolique surprenante. Son approche rythmique riche et variée permet à l’auditeur de plonger au cœur de son univers. Parmi ses influences, on retrouve Laurie Spiegel, Daphne Oram, James Holden, Luke Abott, Bebe et Louis Barron, avec une touche de pop et de post-rock.

Liyo (BE)

HE4RTBROKEN est un collectif belge qui promeut la musique de club progressiste et métissée. Son objectif est de proposer des prestations défiant les conceptions traditionnelles de la musique de club, axées sur l’émotion et la réinvention plutôt que sur un genre musical spécifique. Sa cofondatrice Liyo est l’une des « 8 DJ et productrices qui ont marqué 2017 » sélectionnées par le magazine i-D. Son style « narratif » est à l’image de la conception de ses sets : avant tout, l’émotion prime. Viennent s’y ajouter des collages intéressants et des chutes abruptes qui progressent vers un point culminant, au-delà des genres et des conventions de la musique dance traditionnelle.