24

Balkan Trafik! It’s been twelve years since this famous festival first started celebrating the cultures of southeastern Europe and their relationship with Brussels, the European capital. This year’s programme proves that the festival is constantly reinventing itself to match the dizzying pace of change in the Balkans.

On Thursday, Candan Erçetin, a Turkish singer of Albanian origin, opens the festival in the magnificent Salle Henry Le Bœuf.

Then on Friday, Balkan Trafik! will let the next generation of artists taking over the cultural and social scene take to the stage. Modernity has arrived in the Balkans in the guise of an urban music explosion (discover more with The Urban Project) and the voice of protest shared by groups such as Dubioza Kolektiv, a famous Bosnian group known for their militant lyrics. Other participants express their modernity by reinventing and reviving tradition, like the Belgian group Wata Wata, the singer Eda Zari and her amazing musicians, or the legendary Hungarian group Mitsoura.

The following day is devoted to traditional music and dances, the common thread linking the multiple cultural identities of the Balkans. The day will see a string of great names performing, including the Greek singer Savína Yannátou who will take us on a journey through the magical world of Salonica, and famous Romanian band Fanfare Ciocărlia, who are as comfortable in the world of folk as they are playing jazz.

You will discover some real cultural gems, some of which feature on UNESCO’s list of the intangible cultural heritage of humanity, such as Albanian iso-polyphony, Martenitsa bracelets (celebrating the beginning of spring), polyphony, and the traditional Kukeri carnival in Bulgaria. Bulgaria will be in the spotlight, thanks to musicians and dancers from the prestigious Academy of Music, Dance and Fine Arts of Plovdiv.

Don’t miss this latest edition of Balkan Trafik!, a festival which has set the standard high thanks to the quality of its programming. As always, there will be an abundance of music, dance, films, workshops, foods and smells. It is uniquely set up to encourage proximity, new encounters and warmth.

Previously

See also

24

Balkan Trafik!, douze ans déjà. Et pourtant, l’illustre festival célébrant les cultures du Sud-Est de l’Europe et leur rencontre avec Bruxelles, capitale européenne, ne cesse de se renouveler au rythme de l’évolution fulgurante des Balkans, comme l’atteste encore le programme de cette nouvelle édition.
Jeudi, la chanteuse turque d’origine albanaise Candan Erçetin se produira dans la magnifique Salle Henry Le Bœuf pour le traditionnel concert d’ouverture du Festival.
Vendredi, Balkan Trafik! fera d’abord la part belle à une nouvelle génération d’artistes qui entendent investir le monde culturel et social. La modernité frappe à la porte des Balkans avec l’explosion des musiques urbaines (à découvrir grâce à The Urban Project) et la contestation portée par des formations telles que Dubioza Kolektiv, célèbre groupe bosniaque aux textes engagés. D’autres formations puisent leur modernité dans la tradition qu’elles revisitent en lui donnant une nouvelle jeunesse, comme le groupe belge Wata Wata, la chanteuse Eda Zari et ses formidables musiciens ou le légendaire groupe hongrois Mitsoura.
Le lendemain, place aux musiques et aux danses traditionnelles qui demeurent le trait d’union des multiples identités culturelles des Balkans. La journée verra défiler de grands noms, comme la chanteuse grecque Savína Yannátou qui revisitera l’univers merveilleux de Salonique, ou la fameuse fanfare roumaine Ciocărlia, aussi à l’aise dans le folklore que dans le jazz.
Vous découvrirez de véritables trésors, dont certains figurent sur la liste du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'humanité de l'UNESCO, comme l’isopolyphonie albanaise, les bracelets de la Martenitsa (fête du printemps), la polyphonie et le carnaval traditionnel des Kukeri de Bulgarie. La Bulgarie sera précisément à l’honneur, notamment à travers les musiciens et les danseurs de la prestigieuse académie de musique, de danse et des beaux-arts de Plovdiv.
Ne manquez pas cette nouvelle édition de Balkan Trafik!, devenu une véritable référence grâce à la qualité de sa programmation – une profusion de musiques, de danses, de films, d’ateliers, de saveurs et de parfums –  et à une scénographie unique placée sous le signe de la proximité, de la rencontre et de la convivialité.  

Précédemment

Voir aussi