17

Heloïse Meire director – Cecile Hupin set design – François Regout actor – Muriel Clairembourg actress – Jean-Michel d’Hoop actor – Léonore Frenois actress – Esther Sfez assistant – Guillaume Istace sound designer – Jérôme Dejean lighting design – Matthieu Bourdon video director

Is there life on Mars?, the new creation by the What’s Up?! company, proposes a journey through the unsettling world of autism. The director Héloïse Meire spent a long time working with autistic individuals and those close to them to prepare this play that seeks to give them a voice. How to evoke their complex and multiple experiences that are so often misunderstood?  To take up this challenge, the work explores the autistic spectrum, not through words alone but also through a spectacularization in sound and vision, gradually taking us to a different perception of the real.

Performed by four remarkable actors, Is there life on Mars? constantly overthrows the codes we are familiar with, taking us to the very limits of our own ways of functioning. To more effectively evoke the world as experienced by the autistic.

10

Heloïse Meire mise en scène – Cécile Hupin scénographie – François Regout comédien – Muriel Clairembourg comédienne – Jean-Michel d’Hoop comédien – Léonore Frenois comédienne – Esther Sfez assistant – Guillaume Istace créateur son – Jérôme Dejean éclairages – Matthieu Bourdon direction vidéo

Is there life on Mars?, la nouvelle création de la Compagnie What’s Up?!, propose un voyage dans l'univers déroutant de l'autisme. La metteuse en scène Héloïse Meire a effectué un long travail auprès d’autistes et de leur entourage pour préparer ce spectacle qui veut leur donner la parole. Comment rendre compte de ces vécus multiples et complexes, souvent méconnus ? Pour relever ce défi, l’œuvre explore le spectre autistique, non seulement par des mots mais aussi par une spectacularisation visuelle et sonore décalée, nous entraînant peu à peu dans une autre perception du réel.

Porté par quatre comédiens remarquables, Is there life on Mars? se veut à l’image des autistes, qui bousculent en permanence les codes que nous connaissons et nous renvoient aux limites de nos propres modes de fonctionnement.