20

In 1974, the Belgian cartoonist Hergé, a great admirer of American avant-garde art, and Karel Geirlandt, the new director of the Centre for Fine Arts, invited Charlemagne Palestine to perform in Brussels, after discovering him on a prospecting trip to New York. Having witnessed the artist in performance, they were impressed by the “total art” nature of his work, and the physical power of his presentation. Surrounded by a multitude of stuffed animals arranged like so many alter egos, Charlemagne strummed his piano into a trance. Marking the entry into office of the newly appointed director, the concert in Brussels would leave a lasting impression on everyone who attended.

Forty-four years later, the total artist (Gesamtkünstler) is now returning to the total Work of Art and Architecture (Gesamtkunstwerk) conceived over a century ago by architect Victor Horta – to install what he calls his “CharleWorld”: a universe where his works unravel animist stories and tales of adventure, teasing and reinventing the art deco sobriety of the original design of the building, and all these magical sparks that this encounter produces are then multiplied to infinity in magical halls of wonder.

A Yiddish play on words, the title of the exhibition, AA SSCHMMETTRROOSSPPECCTIVVE, makes a mockery of the finite, finished nature of the classic, austere retrospective project, preferring instead to open up a huge range of possibilities and future avenues for the artist to explore.

 

See also:
Oldddworlddd on 4/05 – 17:00 at the Cathedral of St. Michael and St. Gudula
Newwwsswirlll on 25/05 – 22:00 at Kanal – Centre Pompidou
 

Did you know?

  • The sound of CharleWorld

    This vinyl record is the key to the mesmerising, chaotic and radical universe of Charlemagne Palestine.

    — published on

Previously

15

En 1974, le dessinateur belge Hergé, grand amateur d'art d'avant-garde américain, et Karel Geirlandt, nouveau directeur du Palais des Beaux-Arts, invitent Charlemagne Palestine à venir se produire à Bruxelles. En séjour de prospection à New York, ils viennent de découvrir l’artiste lors de l’une de ses performances, et sont impressionnés par le caractère total de son travail et par la puissance physique de sa représentation. Entouré d'une multitude d’animaux en peluche disposés comme autant d’alter ego sacrés, Charlemagne martèle jusqu'à la transe les touches de son piano. Marquant l'entrée en fonction du directeur récemment nommé, le concert bruxellois laissera un souvenir durable à tous ceux qui y assisteront.

Quarante-quatre ans plus tard, l'artiste total (Gesamtkünstler) retrouve le Palais des Beaux-Arts - conçu il y a un siècle déjà par l’architecte Victor Horta comme une œuvre d’art et d’architecture (Gesamtkunstwerk) -  et y installe son « CharleWorld », un univers où ses œuvres déroulent des histoires animistes et des récits d’aventures venant provoquer les volumes sobres du bâtiment. Les étincelles magiques produites par cette rencontre sont multipliées à l’infini dans des salles transformées en monde émerveillé.

Jeu de mot yiddish, le titre de l'exposition, AA SSCHMMETTRROOSSPPECCTIVVE, tourne en dérision le projet fini de la rétrospective classique et austère pour ouvrir tout grand le champ des possibles et des explorations futures de l’artiste.  

 

À voir aussi :
Oldddworlddd le 4/05 – 17:00 à la Cathédrale St.-Michel et St.-Gudule
Newwwsswirlll 25/05 – 22:00 au Kanal – Centre Pompidou
 

Le saviez-vous ?

  • The sound of CharleWorld

    Ce vinyle est la clé de l’univers envoûtant, chaotique et radical de Charlemagne Palestine.

    — publié le

Précédemment