14

Bernard van Orley was one of the pivotal figures of the Renaissance in the Low Countries. BOZAR and other prominent Belgian institutions are teaming up for the first major monographic exhibition devoted to this 16th century artist. Van Orley was a painter at the court of Margaret of Austria and Mary of Hungary and was inundated with commissions. As a young man he was already at the head of one of the biggest workshops of his time. He painted religious subjects and also designed wall tapestries and stained glass windows. In this exhibition special attention is paid to his portraits that place him at the centre of an important network of political advisors, influential clergymen and humanist thinkers. His work was in constant dialogue with that of contemporaries such as Albrecht Dürer and Raphael. 

From all over the world works by Van Orley will travel back to the place where they were once created, to be reunited in one historic exhibition. A unique opportunity to (re)discover this Brussels master.

VAN ORLEY LOVERS DO NOT MISS:

Bernardi Bruxellensi Pictori - Coudenberg Palace
Specially for the occasion we will open the underground passageway, which runs between the Centre for Fine Arts and the Coudenberg Palace, at a few choice moments. You will be able to descend directly, from the exhibition of works by court artist Bernard van Orley in BOZAR, into the ancient remains of the Coudenberg imperial palace during Thursday evening nocturnes, family discovery tours on Saturdays, the school holidays, Family Day and during the combi visit (30.03, 27.04, 25.05).
Hof van Busleyden

Margaret of Austria is also the focus of the new museum Hof van Busleyden in Mechelen. With the voucher with your ticket for the Bernard Van Orley exhibition, you can discover everything about the Burgundian city palace at a reduced rate.
Art & History Museum
Especially for the occasion, the Art & History Museum is setting up the remaining 8 tapestries from the series of Jacob's History and the first tapestry from the series Our Blessed Lady of the Sablon. These tapestries can be viewed at group rates on presentation of your Bernard van Orley ticket. 
In the footsteps of Bernard van Orley...
With this walking guide you literally follow in the footsteps of Bernard van Orley. Be sure to take a look at the St Michael and St Gudula Cathedral and discover the stained-glass windows designed by Van Orley. 
Bernard van Orley. Red Monastery and the Sonian Forest in the 16th Century
The Red Monastery arts centre puts Bernard van Orley in the spotlight. He designed cartons for the tapestry series Maximilian's Yachts, which show detailed images of Brussels buildings and hunting grounds and sketch a picture of the fauna and flora of the Sonian Forest at the time.
Brussels City Museum
In the collection of this beautiful building on the Grand-Place you will find a tapestry from the series Our Blessed Lady of the Sablon and a cardboard by Pieter Coecke that used to be attributed to Van Orley.

Did you know?

  • Who's that girl?

    Meet Margaret of Austria, poster girl of our brand new exhibition Bernard van Orley. Here’s a quick overview of a roller coaster life between power and tragedy.

    — published on
  • Family Day - in the age of Bruegel

    On Sunday 31 March you and your family and friends will be plunged into the 16th century, the age of Bruegel. There’s plenty to see and visit and an awful lot to do. Here are 5 fun workshops and special activities which will be running non-stop between 10am and 5pm during our Family Day:

    — published on
  • Prose for Van Orley: Jeroen Olyslaegers

    Authors on paintings. BOZAR asked 5 writers to choose a work from the exhibition Bernard van Orley. Brussels and the Renaissance and inhabit one of its characters. Jeroen Olyslaegers chose Job and Lazarus Polyptych.

    — published on
  • Prose for Van Orley: Myriam Leroy

    Authors on paintings. BOZAR asked 5 writers to choose a work from the exhibition Bernard van Orley. Brussels and the Renaissance and inhabit one of its characters. Myriam Leroy chose the portrait of Margeret of Austria.

    — published on
  • Prose for Van Orley: Max Urai

    Authors on paintings. BOZAR asked 5 writers to choose a work from the exhibition Bernard van Orley. Brussels and the Renaissance and inhabit one of its characters. Max Urai chose The Battle of Pavia. Attack on the French Camp and Flight of the Besieged.

    — published on
  • Prose for Van Orley: Vamba Sherif

    Authors on paintings. BOZAR asked 5 writers to choose a work from the exhibition Bernard van Orley. Brussels and the Renaissance and inhabit one of its characters. Vamba Sherif chose The Dubbing of Saint Martin by Emperor Constantine.

    — published on
  • Prose for Van Orley: Ubah Cristina Ali Farah

    Authors on paintings. BOZAR asked 5 writers to choose a work from the exhibition Bernard van Orley. Brussels and the Renaissance and inhabit one of its characters. Ubah Cristina Ali Farah chose Ecce Homo.

    — published on
  • A Tapestry with a View

    Among the many astonishing masterpieces that travelled back to Brussels for our Bernard van Orley exhibition, one tapestry in particular stands out for its historical importance. Find out why a horse, and a view of Brussels, have set the pulse of the art world racing for several centuries.

    — published on

Previously

21

Bernard van Orley est l’une des figures clés de la Renaissance flamande. BOZAR et les grandes institutions belges unissent leurs forces pour la toute première grande exposition monographique consacrée à cet artiste du XVIe siècle. Van Orley était peintre à la cour de Marguerite d’Autriche et de Marie de Hongrie, il était surchargé de commandes et fut, à un très jeune âge, à la tête de l’un des plus grands ateliers de son époque. Il peignait des tableaux religieux, mais concevait aussi des tapisseries et des vitraux. L’exposition met particulièrement en valeur ses portraits, qui lui ont permis d’intégrer un impressionnant réseau de conseillers politiques, d’ecclésiastiques  influents et de penseurs humanistes. Son œuvre est en dialogue constant avec celle de ses contemporains, comme Albrecht Dürer et Raphaël.
Pour la première fois, des œuvres de Van Orley des quatre coins du monde sont rassemblées dans une exposition, là où elles ont jadis été créées. Une chance unique de (re)découvrir ce maître bruxellois.

VAN ORLEY LOVERS DO NOT MISS :

Bernardi Bruxellensi Pictori - Palais du Coudenberg
Spécialement pour l’occasion, le passage sous-terrain reliant le Palais des Beaux-Arts et le Palais du Coudenberg sera ouvert au public à quelques moments clés. Après avoir admiré l’œuvre du peintre de cour Bernard van Orley à BOZAR, vous rejoindrez ainsi directement les ruines du Palais du Coudenberg, durant les nocturnes du jeudi soir, les parcours découvertes en famille du samedi et lors des vacances, ainsi que le Family Day et la visite guidé combi (30.03, 27.04, 25.05).
Hof van Busleyden 

Marguerite d'Autriche est également au centre du nouveau musée Hof van Busleyden, à Malines. Grâce au bon de votre billet d’entrée de l'exposition Bernard van Orley, vous bénéficierez d’un tarif réduit pour découvrir le Palais bourguignon de Malines.
Musée Art & Histoire
Spécialement pour l'occasion, le Musée Art & Histoire installe les 8 tapisseries restantes de la série Histoire de Jacob et la première tapisserie de la série Notre Dame du Sablon. Ces tapisseries peuvent être vues au tarif de groupe sur présentation de votre billet Bernard van Orley. 
Sur les traces de Bernard van Orley...
Avec ce guide, vous suivrez littéralement les traces de Bernard van Orley. Veillez à jeter un coup d'œil à la cathédrale des Sts Michel et Gudule et à découvrir les vitraux conçus par Van Orley. 
Bernard van Orley. Rouge-Cloître et la forêt de Soignes au XVIe siècle
Le Centre d'Art de Rouge-Cloître met Bernard van Orley sous les feux de la rampe. Il a conçu des cartons pour la série de tapisseries Les chasses de Maximilien, qui montrent des images détaillées des bâtiments et des terrains de chasse de Bruxelles ainsi que de la faune et de la flore de la forêt de Soignes à l'époque.
Musée de la Ville de Bruxelles
Dans la collection de ce magnifique bâtiment de la Grand-Place, vous trouverez une tapisserie de la série Notre Dame du Sablon et un carton de Pieter Coecke qui a été attribué à Van Orley.

 

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Who's that girl?

    Rencontrez Marguerite d’Autriche, personnage emblématique de notre toute nouvelle exposition sur Bernard van Orley. Voici un bref aperçu de sa vie agitée, entre pouvoir et tragédie.

    — publié le
  • Family Day - À l'époque de Bruegel

    Le dimanche 31 mars, en compagnie de votre famille et de vos amis, plongez-vous dans le passé et découvrez le XVIe siècle, le siècle de Bruegel. Nous vous proposons une foule de choses à voir et à visiter ainsi qu’une multitude d’activités ce jour-là. Petit avant-goût des 5 ateliers ludiques et autres activités exceptionnelles qui vous attendent à l’occasion de ce Family Day (de 10 à 17 h, sans interruption).

    — publié le
  • Prose pour Van Orley: Jeroen Olyslaegers

    Des écrits et des toiles. À la demande de BOZAR, 5 auteurs ont choisi une œuvre de l'exposition Bernard van Orley. Bruxelles et de la Renaissance pour se glisser dans l'un des personnages. Jeroen Olyslaegers a choisi Polyptyque de Job et de Lazare.

    — publié le
  • Prose pour Van Orley: Myriam Leroy

    Des écrits et des toiles. À la demande de BOZAR, 5 auteurs ont choisi une œuvre de l'exposition Bernard van Orley. Bruxelles et de la Renaissance pour se glisser dans l'un des personnages. Myriam Leroy a choisi le portrait de Marguerite d'Autriche.

    — publié le
  • Prose pour Van Orley: Max Urai

    Des écrits et des toiles. À la demande de BOZAR, 5 auteurs ont choisi une œuvre de l'exposition Bernard van Orley. Bruxelles et de la Renaissance pour se glisser dans l'un des personnages. Max Urai a choisi le tapisserie La Bataille de Pavie. L'Attaque du camp français et la fuite des civils.

    — publié le
  • Prose pour Van Orley: Vemba Sherif

    Des écrits et des toiles. À la demande de BOZAR, 5 auteurs ont choisi une œuvre de l'exposition Bernard van Orley. Bruxelles et de la Renaissance pour se glisser dans l'un des personnages. Vamba Sherif a choisi L'Adoubement de saint Martin par l'empereur Constantin.

    — publié le
  • Prose pour Van Orley: Ubah Cristina Ali Farah

    Des écrits et des toiles. À la demande de BOZAR, 5 auteurs ont choisi une œuvre de l'exposition Bernard van Orley. Bruxelles et de la Renaissance pour se glisser dans l'un des personnages. Ubah Cristina Ali Farah a choisi Ecce Homo.

    — publié le
  • Une tapisserie avec vue

    Parmi les nombreux chefs-d’œuvre étonnants qui sont revenus à Bruxelles pour notre exposition consacrée à Bernard van Orley, une tapisserie en particulier se distingue par son importance historique. Découvrez pourquoi un cheval et une vue de Bruxelles ont enthousiasmé le monde de l’art pendant plusieurs siècles.

    — publié le

Précédemment