21

Magic System will be celebrating 20 years of success on stage at the Henry Le Bœuf Hall during the 2018 Afropolitan Festival. When you have spent two decades getting entire generations up on their feet and dancing across the world, it is not easy to break away from the image of a group solely motivated by the party spirit.  But there is indeed much more to Magic System than may first meet the eye. Their glory and success did not come easily.  And the group's festive and popular success does not diminish the message of increasing awareness in their music, lending their voice to social and humanitarian initiatives.  

Born in Anoumabo, a working class district of Abidjan (Côte d’Ivoire), A'Salfo, Manadja, Goudé and Tino, the four current members of Magic System, forged were friends long before they knew any success. While retaining its roots in zouglou, the popular music of the Côte d'Ivoire, their music mixes a range of influences, from rap to raï and including RnB, electro and pop.   
Their new album Ya Foye, celebrating 20 years of Magic System, also marks a new departure: among the hits for the clubs, there are  songs calling for people to come together, messages of hope and appeals to preserve the planet.  

Today, 20 years after first meeting, Magic System are still driven by an incredible energy that enables their music to cross borders, generations and cultures in an infectious spirit of enthusiasm.

22

Invité du festival Afropolitan 2018, Magic System célèbre vingt ans de succès dans la grande salle Henry Le Bœuf. Quand on a fait danser des générations entières durant deux décennies aux quatre coins de la planète, il est difficile de se détacher de l’image d’un groupe mu par la seule volonté d’ambiancer les foules. Pourtant, Magic System est une réalité bien plus forte que cette simple satire de son œuvre : d’une part, la gloire et la réussite ne se sont pas construites sans difficultés ; d’autre part, la portée populaire et joviale de la musique du groupe n’exclue pas sa volonté d’éveil des consciences et ses initiatives sociales et humanitaires.

Nés à Anoumabo, un quartier populaire d’Abidjan (Côte d’Ivoire), A'Salfo, Manadja, Goudé et Tino, les quatre membres actuels de Magic System, ont forgé leur histoire commune bien avant le succès, faisant de leur amitié le socle de leur aventure. Tout en conservant une base issue du zouglou, rythme populaire ivoirien, leur musique mixe de nombreuses  influences, du rap au raï en passant par le rnb, l’électro et la pop.

Leur nouvel album « Ya Foye », qui célèbre donc les 20 ans de carrière du groupe, sonne comme un nouveau point de départ : au milieu de tubes conçus pour faire le tour des clubs, des titres appellent au rassemblement des peuples, à la préservation de la planète et à l'espoir.

Vingt ans après ses débuts, Magic System est toujours porté par une énergie incroyable, permettant de dépasser les frontières et de rassembler les générations et les cultures dans un grand élan de positivité.