16

The “Congo Eza” collective is not a theatre group, and is not organised as such. It is supported by Lezarts Urbains.

Three strong and unusual voices murmur, recount and express their relationship with the Congo and Belgium. Congo Eza is a long poem, a doubt – ‘how can you be a child of the Congo in the country of Tintin?’
They are three artists from this generation that ‘falls firmly between two stools’: writer and activist Joëlle Sambi, slammer Lisette Lombé, and Brussels rapper Badi. Between belonging, intimacy and commitment, they offer a sensitive, funny and uncompromising vision of this in-between space – the Congo and Belgium – a receptacle of their multiple identities and imaginations. Samples of Congolese rumba, soul, electro and soundscapes dress up texts to take them to the limits of the ‘spoken voice’.

As twins, les Mybalés are connected by a shared story and a deep complicity. These two dancers transcend the house, Afro and hip hop dances from which they draw their inspiration to create a movement unique to their characters, from which emerges a naïve and touching poetry. Their emotions feed into their dance to create moments of intense power and even violence.

16

Le collectif «Congo Eza » n’est pas une compagnie de théâtre et n’est pas organisé comme tel. Il est soutenu par Lezarts Urbains.

Trois voix fortes et singulières murmurent, racontent, expriment leur rapport au Congo et à la Belgique. Congo Eza est un long poème, un doute : « Comment être un enfant du Congo dans le pays de Tintin ? ».

Trois artistes de cette génération « bien assise le cul entre deux chaises » tentent de répondre : Joëlle Sambi, écrivaine et activiste, Lisette Lombé, slameuse et Badi, rappeur bruxellois. Entre appartenances, intimité et engagement, ils offrent une vision sensible, cocasse et sans concession de cet entre-deux - le Congo et la Belgique -, réceptacle de leurs identités et de leurs imaginaires multiples. Des samples de rumba congolaise, de soul, d’électro et des ambiances sonores habillent des textes pour aller aux frontières de la « voix parlée ».

Les Mybalés sont liées par une histoire commune et une complicité profonde grâce à leur gémellité. Ces deux danseuses transcendent les danses house, afro et hip hop dont elles s’inspirent pour créer une gestuelle propre à leurs personnages, de laquelle naît une poésie naïve et touchante. Les émotions qui les traversent nourrissent leur danse et peuvent créer des moments d’une intense puissance et aussi d’une certaine violence.