24

In the framework of EUROPALIA CURATOR’S AWARD, curators Charlotte Dumoncel d'Argence and Laura Herman developed the project Natural Capital (Modal Alam), including five participating artists Martin Belou, Adrien Missika, Rachel Monosov, Offshore Studio (CH) and Adrien Vermont. 
  Comprising an exhibition and online publication, Natural Capital (Modal Alam) aims to confront economic and scientific accounts of biodiversity in the Indonesian archipelago — one of the world's most biodiverse countries. ‘Natural capital’ is an economic concept that we have come to understand as the world’s assets of natural resources capable of flowing into goods and services. No doubt, there must be more liberating and emancipatory concepts to describe the natural commons, currently managed, quantified, and represented as natural capital. 
  Dealing with this current treatment of the natural world — an outcome of 19th century notions of heroic discovery and scientific classification — while being aware of the contemporary filters through which our experience of nature is mediated, the invited artists and contributors engage with languages and visualisations of Indonesian nature that attempt to thwart the abstractions of natural capital. Yet these investigations raise the question of whether the channels that allow us to mediate and exchange alternative forms of knowledge and experience — such as travel, cultural diplomacy, the media, and the Internet — are capable of transmitting a genuine understanding.

21

Dans le cadre de l’EUROPALIA CURATOR’S AWARD les curatrices Charlotte Dumoncel d'Argence et Laura Herman ont développé le projet Natural Capital (Modal Alam) pour lequel elles ont sélectionné cinq artistes: Martin Belou, Adrien Missika, Rachel Monosov, Offshore Studio et Adrien Vermont. 
  Constitué d’une exposition et d’une publication en ligne, Natural Capital (Modal Alam) met en perspective les approches économiques et scientifiques de la biodiversité dans l'archipel indonésien, l'une des zones critique où biodiversité est à la fois riche et  menacée. Le capital naturel, est un concept économique qui perçoit et présente les ressources naturelles comme autant de moyens de production de biens et services. Cependant, il existe des approches alternatives,  émancipatrices et égalitaires pour définir cette nature commune, actuellement sous le joug de la définition profondément anthropocentrique de capital naturel.  
  Se confrontant à ce traitement du monde naturel — conséquences des conquêtes héroïques et de la frénésie des classifications scientifiques du 19e siècle — et pleinement conscients des filtres à travers lesquels notre expérience de la nature est médiatisée, les artistes et contributeurs s'engagent dans des propositions visuelles et écrites comme autant de perceptions de la nature indonésienne. Autant de propositions qui viennent contrecarrer les abstractions aliénantes du concept de capital naturel. Ces récits, observations et rapports, laissent apparaître un questionnement de la capacité qu’auraient les vecteurs de cette connaissance et expérience de l’ailleurs —le voyage, les échanges culturels, les media, l’internet— à pouvoir transmettre une véritable compréhension.