18

The project DIS-OTHERING - beyond Afropolitan & other labels consists of an exhibition, symposia, a festival, talks and performances, a residency program, mapping research, and a website, all manifesting in 2018 and 2019 in Berlin, Brussels, Vienna and Warsaw. These different formats share the bringing together of artists, communities, thinkers and people of all walks of life to deliberate on contemporary processes and technologies of ‘Dis-Othering’.

 

With ‘Dis-Othering’ we wish to propose a phenomenon in which social identity building is not made by projecting onto the so-called ‘Other’, but rather a projection towards the self. A self-reflection. A boomerang. That is to say instead of looking for or deflecting one’s faults, fantasies or angst onto some other, one could embody them and live them. It is about acknowledging and embodying the plethora of variables that make us be. The project takes its cue from the Nguemba saying Leh zo, A me ke Nde za, which literally translates as “Keep yours and I keep mine”. This, in itself, is a reaction to the invitation to exercise Afropolitanness. The issue at stake here is, how can we work with such conceptual labels that mean well, without looking at their social, political and economic connotations, hence at what they actually do and what processes of identity construction they encourage?

 

DIS-OTHERING - beyond Afropolitan & other labels is not about the ‘Other’ - which is just the ‘product’. The project is a deliberation on the amoebic and morphed methodologies employed by institutions and societies at large in constructing and cultivating ‘Otherness’ in our contemporaneity. It is about the commodification and the cooption of the ‘Other’, strategies of paternalization used in the cultural field.
Artistic Director Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung
 

Ongoing and forthcoming

22

Le projet DIS-OTHERING - beyond Afropolitan & other labels couvre une exposition, des symposiums, un festival, des entretiens et des performances, un programme de résidences, une étude cartographique et un site Internet, tous proposés entre septembre 2018 et la fin de l’année 2019 à Berlin, Bruxelles, Vienne et Varsovie. Ces différents formats rassemblent des artistes, des communautés, des penseurs et des personnes de toutes origines qui réfléchissent sur les technologies et les contemporains sous l’appellation ‘Dis-Othering’.

 

Nous voulons proposer avec ‘Dis-Othering’ une forme de construction d’une identité sociale non pas basée sur ‘l’Autre’, mais sur soi-même. Une autoréflexion en quelque sorte. Un miroir. Un boomerang. C’est à dire qu’au lieu de chercher à détecter les défauts, les travers et la peur chez autrui, nous les incarnons et les faisons nôtres. C’est une acceptation et une identification de toutes les variables qui composent l’espèce humaine. Le projet s’inspire de l’adage Nguemba ‘Leh zo, A me ke Nde za’ qu’on peut traduire littéralement par ‘Garde ce qui est tien, je garde ce qui est mien’, en soi une réaction à l’invitation de pratiquer l’afropolitanisme. L’enjeu : comment pouvons-nous utiliser des étiquettes conceptuelles pleines de bonnes intentions sans tenir compte de leur dimension sociale, politique et économique, c’est-à-dire sans réfléchir à ce qu’elles produisent et aux modes de construction d’une identité qu’elles encouragent ? 

 

DIS-OTHERING - beyond Afropolitan & other labels is not about the ‘Other’ - which is just the ‘product’. Le projet est une réflexion sur les méthodologies utilisées par les institutions et la société en général pour construire et entretenir l’altérité. Sur la marchandisation et la cooptation de ‘l’Autre’, des stratégies paternalistes qui touchent jusqu’au secteur culturel. 
Artistic Director Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung

Précédemment