23

In the presence of Agnès Devictor.

This is a Portrait of an artist, whose exceptional approach to Art and life, defined him as one of the most ardent admirers of life itself. The leading aim of this documentary is to share 76 minutes and 15 seconds of undiscovered moments of Abbas Kiarostami’s life and work, in commemoration of his 76 years and 15 days of creative journey. The shots of this documentary are selected out of hundreds of hours of footages , filmed during 25 years of friendship, inside and outside Iran in various occasions: film festivals, photo exhibitions, photography sessions, artistic events, workshops and some unique moments of his daily life.

Born in 1954 in Oroumieh (Iran), Seifollah Samadian started his career as a photographer since 1968 and as a documentary filmmaker since 1978. He’s been involved as a jury, curator of photo exhibitions and running workshops in numerous national and international events and he’s also founding director of the Annual Image Visual Arts Festival and Tassvir Film Festival since 2003. He’s also running Tassvir (Image) Magazine as a founder and chief editor since 1991. He made his first short documentary film, “Iranian Revolution” in 1979. “76 Minutes and 15 Seconds with Abbas Kiarostami” is his last feature documentary. 

 

"76 Minutes and 15 seconds with Abbas Kiarostami" by Seifollah Samadian will be preceeded by the screening of "Take me home" by Abbas Kiarostami.

TAKE ME HOME 

(Iran, 2016, 16 min)

Abbas Kiarostami takes his camera to south of Italy and shows us a beautiful and playful video of alleys and stairs there. Premiering recently at Venice, shot in Black and white in the south of Italy, Abbas Kiarostami’s last short film masks a carefully constructed narrative that highlights the deceptive nature of his filmmaking and his deft manipulation of time and space.

Iranian film director, screenwriter, photographer and film producer, Abbas Kiarostami had been involved from 1940 in over forty films, including shorts and documentaries. He attained critical acclaim for directing Close-Up (1990), Taste of Cherry (1997) – Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival that year – and The Wind Will Carry Us (1999). In his later works, Certified Copy (2010) and Like Someone in Love (2012).

23

En présence d'Agnès Devictor.

Ce film dresse le portrait d’un artiste qui se définit, par son approche exceptionnelle de l’art et de la vie, comme l’un des plus fervents admirateurs de la vie elle-même. L’objectif premier de ce documentaire est de partager 76 minutes et 15 secondes de moments inédits de la vie et du travail d’Abbas Kiarostami, en hommage à son parcours créatif de 76 ans et 15 jours. Les images ont été sélectionnées parmi des heures d’archives, filmées au cours de 25 ans d’amitié, en Iran et à l’étranger, à diverses occasions : festivals de cinéma, expositions de photographies, séances photo, événements artistiques, ateliers, ainsi que des moments uniques de sa vie quotidienne.

Né en 1954 à Oroumieh (Iran), Seifollah Samadian a commencé sa carrière de photographe en 1968 et de réalisateur de documentaire en 1978. Il a été membre du jury, commissaire d’expositions photo et organisateur d’ateliers dans le cadre de plusieurs événements nationaux et internationaux. Il est aussi le fondateur et directeur de l’Annual Image Visual Arts Festival et du Tassvir Film Festival depuis 2003. Il dirige en outre le magazine Tassvir (« image »), dont il est le fondateur et le rédacteur  en chef depuis 1991. Il a réalisé son premier documentaire, « Iranian Revolution », en 1979. « 76 Minutes and 15 Seconds with Abbas Kiarostami » est son dernier long métrage documentaire.

 

"76 Minutes and 15 Seconds by Abbas Kiarostami" de Seifollah Samadian sera précedé par la projection de "Take me home" d'Abbas Kiarostami.

TAKE ME HOME 

(Iran, 2016, 16 min)

Abbas Kiarostami a embarqué sa caméra dans le Sud de l’Italie et nous montre une série d’allées et d’escaliers dans une vidéo sublime et ludique. Tourné en noir et blanc, ce dernier court métrage du réalisateur a été présenté récemment en première à Venise. L’œuvre bénéficie d’un scénario soigneusement construit, qui met en avant la nature trompeuse de son travail et sa manipulation habile du temps et de l’espace. 

Réalisateur, scénariste, photographe et producteur de film iranien, Abbas Kiarostami a travaillé depuis 1940 à une quarantaine de films, dont notamment des courts métrages et documentaires. Plusieurs de ses films, Close-Up (1990), Le Goût de la cerise (1997) – Palme d’or au Festival de Cannes cette année-là – et Le Vent nous emportera (1999) ont été encensés par la critique. Ses réalisations plus récentes incluent Copie Conforme (2010) et Like Someone in Love (2012).