23

From 17 to 21 January, BOZAR will be launching the Bridges Festival, devoted to the cinema of countries on Europe's eastern fringes; to the cinematographic treasures that emerged following the collapse of the Soviet Union as these formerly federated republics gained access to independence. 

The triple programming sheds the spotlight on a region from which we usually see very few filmed works. First there is Ukraine, of course, with its militant cinema. An active and exciting artistic world since 2010 -  and especially since 2014 and the Euromaidan Revolution. Then there is Georgia with its social and introspective cinema, contemplating family life, landscapes and traditions threatened by the opening up of borders. Finally, a section devoted to the more modest film production of various other countries in this outlying region, from Belarus to Armenia. 

These countries now unshackled from Soviet aesthetic and ideological domination draw their cultural identity from a past that bridges Europe and Russia. One that is particularly rich in interactions and cultural exchanges. A unique chance to discover on the big screen a little known cinema in the presence of its filmmakers. 

Previously

15

Du 17 au 21 janvier, BOZAR accueille le « Bridges Festival », consacré aux cinémas des pays bordant la lisière orientale de l’Europe. À ces trésors cinématographiques ayant vu le jour consécutivement à l’effondrement de l’Union soviétique et à l’accès à l’indépendance de ses anciennes républiques, jadis fédérées.
Ainsi, trois axes de programmation éclaireront cette région d’où nous parviennent d’ordinaire très peu d’œuvres filmées et qui sera sous les feux de nos projecteurs. Avec l’Ukraine, bien sûr, et son cinéma militant. Un univers artistique  en pleine ébullition depuis 2010, et davantage encore depuis la Révolution de la Place Maïdan en 2014. Avec la Géorgie et son cinéma d’observation volontiers social et introspectif, tourné vers la famille, les paysages ou les traditions bousculées par l’ouverture des frontières. Et un dernier volet consacré aux autres pays limitrophes, de la Biélorussie à l’Arménie, dont  la production cinématographique est plus modeste. 
Ces pays fraîchement affranchis de l’esthétique et de l’idéologie soviétiques, puisent leurs patrimoines identitaires dans l’histoire de l’Europe et de la Russie. Une ligne de crête particulièrement riche en interactions et en échanges culturels. Venez découvrir sur grand écran ce cinéma peu connu, en présence des réalisateurs.

 

Précédemment