23

This exhibition aims to turn the spotlight on Casablanca’s creative energy, through the work of three young artists who commute between Morocco and Europe.

Randa Maroufi’s work consists of photos, videos, installations, performances and sound art. The artist is interested in the staging of bodies in public or intimate space. Her approach is often political, and focuses on ambiguity in order to question the status of images. We will be exhibiting Maroufi’s videos Le Park and Stand By Office, as well as her new production Apparitions, a project about public space and gender that she is starting up in Brussels as part of Moussem Cities.

Mostafa Saifi Rahmouni bases himself on real, personal or collective facts or events. He questions the human condition without judgement or criticism, thereby reflecting on its values and focusing on the human capacity to imbue violence and pain with meaning, and/or to transcend them. The exhibition includes his visual work Piece of Bread, as well as the light installation The City of the Living and the new creation Jotiya (‘flea market’), which Moussem Cities commissioned him to create during a residence in Casablanca.

Youssef Ouchra has a multidisciplinary oeuvre that focuses on the relationship between mankind and his environment. He combines sound art, graphic design, performance, installation and video. Ouchra presents the video installation and performance Informatage #1, the installation and video Daqa F’Marrakchia, and the new production Meta-Fausse-Mort, an experimental and participatory performance that asks questions about an artist’s ‘career’.

Curated by Younes Baba-Ali assisted by Meriem Berrada
Scientific Support by Nadia Sabri

Did you know?

  • Record spring for BOZAR

    BOZAR’s spring exhibitions have already attracted 270,000 visitors.

    read more
    — published on

16

Cette exposition désire mettre en évidence l’énergie créative de Casablanca par le biais de trois jeunes artistes qui voyagent entre le Maroc et l’Europe.

L’œuvre de Randa Maroufi se compose de photographies, de vidéos, d’installations, de performances et d’art sonore. L’artiste s’intéresse à la mise en scène des corps dans l’espace public ou privé. Une approche souvent politique qui joue sur l’ambiguïté afin d’interroger le statut des images. Nous exposons deux vidéos de Maroufi, Le Park et Stand By Office ainsi que sa nouvelle production Apparitions, un projet autour de l’espace public et du genre qu’elle lance à Bruxelles à l’occasion de Moussem Cities.

Mostafa Saifi Rahmouni se base sur des faits ou des événements réels, personnels ou collectifs. Il interroge la condition humaine sans jugement ou critique. Ce faisant, il réfléchit toutefois à ses valeurs et se concentre sur les facultés humaines à donner du sens à la violence et à la douleur afin de les transcender. Dans l’exposition, on peut voir son œuvre suggestive Piece Of Bread, ainsi que l’installation lumineuse The City of the living et sa nouvelle création, Jotiya (marché aux puces), réalisée à la demande de Moussem Cities lors d’une résidence à Casablanca.

Youssef Ouchra travaille à une œuvre multidisciplinaire autour de la relation entre l’homme et son environnement. Il combine l’art sonore, le graphisme, la performance, l’installation et la vidéo. Ouchra présente l’installation vidéo et la performance Informatage #1, l’installation et la vidéo Daqa F’Marrakchia et la nouvelle production Meta-Fausse-Mort, une performance expérimentale et participative qui soulève des questions sur la « carrière » d’un artiste.
Commissaire d'expo: Younes Baba-Ali, assisté par Meriem Berrada.
Soutien scientifique par Nadia Sabri.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Un printemps record pour BOZAR

    Nos expos de printemps ont déjà attiré 270 000 visiteurs. Dernière chance de visiter la rétrospective de Fernand Léger, ouverte jusqu’à dimanche !

    lire la suite
    — publié le