19

In the presence of the director, Damon Davis.

Told by the activists and leaders who live and breathe this movement for justice, Whose Streets? is an unflinching look at the Ferguson uprising. When unarmed teenager Michael Brown is killed by police and left lying in the street for hours, it marks a breaking point for the residents of St. Louis, Missouri. Grief, long-standing racial tensions and renewed anger bring residents together to hold vigil and protest this latest tragedy. Filmmakers Sabaah Folayan and Damon Davis know this story because they have lived the story. Whose Streets? is a powerful battle cry from a generation fighting, not for their civil rights, but for the right to live.

Damon Davis (Co-Director, Producer) is an award-winning interdisciplinary artist who works and resides in St. Louis, Missouri. His scope includes illustration, painting, printmaking, music, film, and public art. Davis has work in the permanent collection at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of African American History and Culture, and has exhibited at the Museum of Contemporary African Diasporan Arts (MoCADA) in Brooklyn and the San Diego Contemporary Museum of Art. For his work as the founder of independent music and art imprint, Far Fetched, Davis received many awards. Whose Streets? is Davis’ first foray into feature-length documentary.

Sabaah Folayan (Writer/Director, Producer) is an activist and storyteller born and raised in South Central LA. As an advocate at Rikers Island, Folayan interviewed incarcerated people about their experiences with trauma. She later helped organize The Millions March in response to the non-indictment of the police officer who choked Eric Garner to death. Folayan entered the world of storytelling through theater, attending the Lee Strasberg Institute of Theatre and Film as a teenager, and performing as a member of the Black Theater Ensemble while a pre-med student at Columbia University.

16

En présence du réalisateur, Damon Davis.

Raconté par des activistes et des leaders qui vivent et respirent à travers ce mouvement pour la justice, Whose Streets? porte un regard inébranlable sur le soulèvement de Ferguson. Lorsque Michael Brown, un adolescent non armé, est tué par la police et laissé dans la rue pendant plusieurs heures, un point de rupture semble être franchi pour les résidents de St. Louis (dans le Missouri). Le deuil, les tensions raciales de longue date et une colère renouvelée unissent les résidents qui organisent une veillée et manifestent pour souligner cette récente tragédie. Les réalisateurs Sabaah Folayan et Damon Davis connaissent cette histoire car ils l’ont vécue. Whose Streets? est un puissant cri de ralliement pour une génération qui ne lutte pas pour ses droits civiques, mais pour son droit à la vie.

Damon Davis (coréalisateur, producteur) est un artiste interdisciplinaire primé qui travaille et vit à St. Louis (dans le Missouri). Il est actif dans le secteur de l’illustration, de la peinture, des estampes, de la musique, du cinéma et de l’art public. Certaines de ses œuvres font partie de la collection permanente du Musée national de l’histoire et de la culture afro-américaine, et il a exposé au Musée des arts contemporains de la diaspora africaine de Brooklyn et au Musée d’art contemporain de San Diego. En tant que fondateur du label et collectif artistique indépendant Far Fetched, Damon Davis a reçu de nombreux prix. Whose Streets? est le premier long métrage documentaire de Damon Davis.

Sabaah Folayan (scénariste/réalisatrice, productrice) est une activiste et storyteller qui est née et qui a grandi à South Central Los Angeles. Militante à la prison de Rikers Island, elle a interviewé des détenus à propos de leur expérience traumatique. Elle a ensuite participé à l’organisation de la Millions March en réponse à la non-inculpation de l’agent de police qui a provoqué la mort d’Eric Garner. Sabaah Folayan est entrée dans le monde du storytelling à travers le théâtre. Elle a été élève au Lee Strasberg Theatre and Film Institute quand elle était adolescente, puis membre du Black Theater Ensemble alors qu’elle était en prépa médecine à l’université de Columbia.