15

The world-renowned duo Millicent Hodson and Kenneth Archer, aka the ‘dance detectives’, are on a quest for the soul of bygone dance pieces by legendary dancers and choreographers like Vaslav Nijinski, George Balanchine and Jean Borlin. They talk to people who were there and track down survivors in order to reconstruct the ballets as faithfully as possible. On Tuesday February 20 at BOZAR, they examine the reproductions of the costumes and the decors Fernand Léger made for the ballets La création du monde (1923) and Skating-Rink (1922).

The French conductor, composer and teacher Darius Milhaud (1892-1974) wove jazz styles and Brazilian rhythms into La création du monde, in order to evoke images of a new world, far away from the destruction left behind in the wake of the First World War. Léger also aligned himself with this ‘Afro-Cubist’ fantasy and worked artistic forms into his designs, inspired by African culture.
Skating-Rink is one of the notorious ‘ballets suédois’ performed in Europe and the United States between 1920 and 1925 under the leadership of the Swedish art collector Rolf de Mare (1888-1964). As a rhapsody of dance, drama, painting, poetry, music, acrobatics, circus, film and pantomime, they quickly acquired the reputation of being the ‘synthesis of modern art’, as did Léger’s costume designs.

20

Le duo de renommée mondiale Millicent Hodson et Kenneth Archer, alias les « dance detectives » explorent l’âme d’anciens ballets de danseurs et chorégraphes légendaires comme Vaslav Nijinski, George Balanchine et Jean Borlin. Ils s’entretiennent avec des témoins et recherchent des survivants pour reconstituer ces ballets le plus fidèlement possible. Le mardi 20 février, ils exposent à BOZAR les reproductions des costumes et des décors réalisés par Fernand Léger pour les ballets La création du monde (1923) et Skating-Rink (1922).

Dans La création du monde, le chef, compositeur et professeur Darius Milhaud (1892-1974) mêle sonorités jazz et rythmes brésiliens pour évoquer les images d’un monde nouveau à mille lieues du champ de ruines laissé par la Première Guerre mondiale.  Léger s’est lui aussi plongé dans la fantaisie « afrocubiste » et a intégré dans ses œuvres des formes artistiques inspirées par la culture africaine.
Skating-Rink est l’un des célèbres ballets suédois  montés entre 1920 et 1925 en Europe et aux Etats-Unis sous la direction du collectionneur suédois Rolf de Mare (1888-1964). Rhapsodies mêlant danse, théâtre, peinture, poésie, musique, acrobaties, cirque, film et pantomime, ces ballets ont rapidement été qualifiés de « synthèse de l’art moderne ». Les  projets de costumes ont également été conçus par Fernand Léger.