23

Bulgarian artist Nedko Solakov created a video installation, commissioned by BOZAR, for Bulgaria’s presidency of the Council of the European Union in the first half of 2018. Some Bulgarians consists of six videos, which will be simultaneously and continuously on view in BOZAR’s Horta Hall. He explains the concept of the installation in the following text that will be handwritten by the artist on the wall above the screens:

I was recently invited by a prominent European art institution to reflect on a political issue, something which I have never done before, and to create a project dedicated to my homeland Bulgaria’s six-month presidency of the Council of the European Union, scheduled for the first half of 2018, after the Estonian presidency and before Austrian one. A work connected to my Bulgaria, which I deeply love, but which is arguably the poorest and most corrupt of all the 28 European member-states.
Without much hesitation, I decided to ask only one question to six of the most creative Bulgarians (in my opinion). Some of them I have known for many years, others I met in person because of this project, but all of them already had a place in my mind and heart because of what they have written, performed, sung, animated, staged and curated not only in Bulgaria but all over the world. They all agreed to respond in front of a camera and I am deeply grateful to Georgi Gospodinov, Ivo Dimchev, Ruth Koleva, Theo Ushev, Javor Gardev and Iara Boubnova that their answers gave me six more reasons to write this very text from Sofia and not from somewhere in exile. 
Here is the question, which is not really relevant to any other EU country's citizens: Why do you live in Bulgaria (or go back there from time to time)?

‘Bulgaria: Love it or Leave it? is the central question from the installation Some Bulgarians. It is also the central question of the round table with Nedko Solakov (visual artist), Ivo Dimchev (performer), Ruth Koleva (singer), Javor Gardev (director) and Iara Boubnova (curator) where they are going to discuss the challenges in the Bulgarian society of today. Professor at the New Bulgarian University Anna Krasteva moderates the vivid conversation.

In the context of the Balkan Trafik! Festival.

 

See also

23

L’artiste bulgare Nedko Solakov a créé une installation vidéo, commandée par BOZAR, à l’occasion de la présidence bulgare du Conseil de l’Union européenne lors du premier semestre de 2018. Some Bulgarians est une œuvre de six vidéos, qui seront visibles simultanément et en continu dans le Hall Horta de BOZAR. Il explique le concept de l’installation dans le texte ci-dessous, qui sera écrit à la main, par l’artiste lui-même, sur le mur au-dessus des écrans :

J’ai récemment été invité par une importante institution artistique européenne à réfléchir à une question politique, chose que je n’avais jamais faite auparavant, et à créer un projet dédié aux six mois de présidence du Conseil de l’Union européenne exercée par mon pays, la Bulgarie, au cours du premier semestre de 2018, après la présidence de l’Estonie et avant celle de l’Autriche. Il s’agit d’une œuvre en lien avec mon pays, que j’adore, mais qui est probablement le plus pauvre et le plus corrompu des 28 États membres de l’Union européenne.
Sans trop hésiter, j’ai décidé de ne poser qu’une seule question à six artistes ou personnalités bulgares que je trouve les plus créatifs. Certains d’entre eux sont de vieillies connaissances, et d’autres, je ne les ai rencontrés en personne que dans le cadre de ce projet, mais tous occupaient déjà une place dans mon esprit et dans mon cœur en raison de ce qu’ils avaient écrit, joué, chanté, animé, mis en scène ou organisé en tant que commissaire, non seulement en Bulgarie mais dans le monde entier. Tous ont accepté de répondre à ma question devant une caméra et je suis très reconnaissant à Georgi Gospodinov, Ivo Dimchev, Ruth Koleva, Theo Ushev, Javor Gardev et Iara Boubnova car leurs réponses m’ont donné six raisons de plus d’écrire ce texte à Sofia et non pas ailleurs, en exil.
Voici la question, qui n’est pas très pertinente pour les citoyens d’autres pays de l’Union : Pourquoi vivez-vous en Bulgarie (ou y retournez-vous occasionnellement) ?