13

Sergey Khachatryan violin – Lusine Khachatryan piano – Narek Hakhnazaryan cello

Programme

Piano Trio no. 5, op. 70/1, "Trio of spirits" Ludwig van Beethoven
Trio élégiaque nr.1, for piano, violin and cello in G minor Sergei Rachmaninoff
Six Pictures for piano solo Arno Babadjanian
Piano Trio Arno Babadjanian


For this concert, the Henry Le Bœuf Great Hall will be bathed in an Armenian atmosphere. All three artists on stage, Sergey Khachatryan - in the spotlight this season with a ‘Portrait’ - sister Lusine and cellist Narek Hakhnazaryan are from Jerevan and are ambassadors for Armenian music.
The Sergey Khachatryan Trio gives you the chance to familiarise yourself with the work of Arno Babajanian, and more specifically with his Piano trio in F-sharp minor, the Armenian composer’s best known and most successful work. Babajanian took a great deal of inspiration from Armenian folklore, whilst at the same time transcending it. The trio performs in a late Romantic style and is indebted to its Babajanian model, Aram Chatsjatoerjan, and Sergey Rachmanioff.
It is therefore no coincidence that it appears last on the programme. In his youthful First Piano Trio we find all the elements which went on to make his music so popular: grand gestures, a stirring melancholy and melodious lyricism.
These same elements also mark the slow part of Beethoven’s Trio, op. 70/1. The drama of this movement and its numerous changes in atmosphere explain the work’s nickname of 'ghost trio'.

21

Sergey Khachatryan violon – Lusine Khachatryan piano – Narek Hakhnazaryan violoncelle

Programme

Trio avec piano n° 5, op. 70/1, "Trio des Esprits" Ludwig van Beethoven
Trio élégiaque n° 1, pour piano, violon et violoncelle en sol mineur Sergueï Rachmaninov
Six Pictures for piano solo Arno Babadjanian
Trio avec piano Arno Babadjanian


Ce concert plonge la Grande Salle Henry Le Bœuf dans une ambiance arménienne. Sur scène, nous retrouvons Sergey Khachatryan – auquel nous consacrons un « Portrait » cette saison –, sa sœur Lusine et le violoncelliste Narek Hakhnazaryan. Ils sont tous les trois originaires d’Erevan et incarnent à merveille la musique arménienne.
Le Sergey Khachatryan Trio vous invite à découvrir l’œuvre de l’Arménien Arno Babajanian et plus précisément son Trio pour piano en fa dièse mineur, sa composition la plus célèbre et la plus appréciée. Babajanian s’est profondément inspiré du folklore arménien tout en dépassant ses frontières. Son trio, écrit dans un style romantique tardif, doit beaucoup à un compositeur que Babajanian admirait, Aram Khatchatourian, et à Serge Rachmaninov. Ce n’est donc pas un hasard si ce dernier rejoint lui aussi le programme de ce concert. Dans son Premier Trio pour piano, une œuvre de jeunesse, nous rencontrons déjà tous les éléments qui allaient ensuite populariser sa musique : traits somptueux, mélancolie captivante et lyrisme chantant.
Ces mêmes éléments caractérisent également la partie lente du Trio, op. 70/1 de Beethoven. L’aspect dramatique de ce mouvement marqué par de nombreux changements d’ambiance ont valu à l’œuvre son surnom de « Trio des esprits ».