19

Belgian National OrchestraHugh Wolff conductor – Augustin Hadelich violin

Programme

Sensemayá, R.48, 67 Silvestre Revueltas
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra no. 2, Sz. 112 Béla Bartók
Symphony no. 6, op. 74, "Pathétique" Pyotr Tchaikovsky


“The snake […] Hit him! Go on, hit him!” In Sensemayá (1934), the Cuban author Nicolás Guillén evokes the ritual snake dance and chant of the Palo Monte, an Afro-Caribbean religion. The furious and possessed rhythms of the Mexican composer Silvestre Revueltas’s composition evoke the sacrificial ritual, in which the death of a reptile heals humanity. Revueltas’s revolutionary ideals were fuelled during his years in Spain at the time of the Civil War (1936-39).

Weighed down by the same threat of rising fascism, Bartók worked on his Violin Concerto No. 2 (1938) shortly before being forced to emigrate to America. Like Revueltas, he was inspired by folk music. Tonight, this concert, which was first performed in 1939 by his friend Zoltán Székely, will be performed by Augustin Hadelich —Instrumentalist of the Year 2017, Musical America.

Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 6 (1893) adds another forbidden passion to the programme. “To see him, hear him and feel him close to me… is the paramount condition for my happiness.” The virtuoso composer named his sixth symphony Pathétique (tragic) dedicating it to his cousin and secret love, Vladimir – Bob – Davydov. Tchaikovsky died a few days after the celebrated premiere. He Bob appointed as the heir to his music rights.

24

Belgian National OrchestraHugh Wolff direction – Augustin Hadelich violon

Programme

Sensemayá, R.48, 67 Silvestre Revueltas
Concerto pour violon et orchestre n° 2, Sz. 112 Béla Bartók
Symphonie n° 6, op. 74, "Pathétique" Pyotr Tchaïkovsky


«Le serpent […] Tue-le ! Allez, Tue-le !» Dans le poème Sensemayá (1934), l’écrivain cubain Nicolás Guillén évoque la danse rituelle du serpent dans le palo, une religion afro-caribéenne. Les rythmes possédés du compositeur mexicain Silvestre Revueltas, dont les idéaux révolutionnaires ont été alimentés tandis qu’il séjournait en Espagne en pleine guerre civile (1936-39), évoquent un rituel d’offrande où la mort du reptile sert à guérir l’humanité.

C’est sous la même menace de la montée du fascisme que Bartók, peu avant son émigration forcée en Amérique, compose son Deuxième Concerto pour violon (1938). Tout comme Revueltas, Bartók s’inspire de la musique populaire. Ce concerto créé en 1939 par son ami Zoltán Székely sera interprété ce soir par Augustin Hadelich, sacré «Instrumentiste de l’année 2017» par Musical America.

La Sixième Symphonie (1893) de Tchaïkovsky ajoute une autre passion interdite au programme. « Le voir, l’entendre, le sentir proche de moi … est nécessaire à mon bonheur. » La Sixième du grand maître russe, intitulée « Pathétique », est dédiée à Vladimir – Bob – Davydov, son neveu et amant secret. Tchaïkovsky décède quelques jours après la première. Dans son testament, il nomme Bob héritier de ses droits musicaux.