22

Belgian National OrchestraConstantinos Carydis conductor – Saleem Abboud Ashkar piano – Stephen Waarts violin – Andrei Ioniţă cello

Programme

Ritual Alfred Schnittke
Concerto for piano, violin and cello, op. 56 Ludwig van Beethoven
Coriolanus, Ouverture, op. 62 Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony no. 9, op. 70 Dmitry Shostakovich


When the Yugoslavian embassy in Moscow commissioned Ritual from Alfred Schnittke, to celebrate the liberation of Belgrade, he decided to compose a work in memory of all the victims of World War II instead. He could not envisage the abject crimes that would be committed in Yugoslavia a few years later. This composition was performed for the first time in Novosibirsk.

Given that Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 7 was inspired by the invasion of Russia by the Germans and that his Symphony No. 8 commemorated the suffering caused by war and the Battle of Stalingrad, the Russian public expected his ninth symphony to be a large composition, the apogee of his World War II trilogy. It expected him to glorify Stalin’s achievements. But it was nothing of the sort. Symphony No. 9 only lasts around half an hour (compared with the other two which are each more than one hour long) and is performed by a smaller orchestra. While the first two instalments of the trilogy were accused of being counter-revolutionary and anti-Soviet, the last symphony expresses a sense of relief, a victory over militarism.

Beethoven’s Coriolan Overture continues to be one of his most powerful, dramatic and expressive works. Along with his Egmont Overture, it is one of his most ‘heroic’ works. Initially, he composed this overture for Heinrich Joseph von Collin’s tragedy Coriolan, which was inspired by Plutarch’s biography. Today it has become a popular piece in the symphonic repertoire.

Beethoven’s Triple Concerto (1803), which is one of his best, will be performed by pianist Saleem Ashkar, cellist Andreï Ionita and violinist Stephen Waarts, whom you may still remember from the final of the 2015 Queen Elisabeth Competition. The Greek conductor Constantinos Carydis will revive these great masters, and their unique voices. You will finally understand what man is capable of, when he chooses his own path and refuses to be led by convention.

Listen to the playlist "Piano Lovers" on Spotify

24

Belgian National OrchestraConstantinos Carydis direction – Saleem Abboud Ashkar piano – Stephen Waarts violon – Andrei Ioniţă violoncelle

Programme

Ritual Alfred Schnittke
Concerto pour piano, violon et violoncelle, op. 56 Ludwig van Beethoven
Coriolanus, Ouverture, op. 62 Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphonie n° 9, op. 70 Dmitri Chostakovitch


Quand l'ambassade de Yougoslavie à Moscou lui commanda Ritual pour célébrer la libération de Belgrade, Alfred Schnittke composa une œuvre à la mémoire de toutes les victimes de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale. C’était sans compter les crimes abjectes qui seront commis dans la même Yougoslavie quelques années après. Cette œuvre fut présentée pour la 1ère fois à Novossibirsk.

Dès lors que sa 7ème Symphonie de Chostakovich décrivait l'invasion de la Russie par le Reich et que la 8ème était centrée sur les souffrances occasionnées par la guerre et la bataille de Stalingrad, le public russe s’attendait à ce que la 9ème soit gigantesque, paroxysme d’une trilogie centrée sur la Seconde Guerre Mondiale. Il escomptait une hagiographie à la gloire de Staline. Il n’en fut rien. L’œuvre ne dure qu’une demi-heure (contrairement à la 7ème et à la 8ème qui durent plus d’une heure chacune) et elle ne nécessite qu'un petit orchestre. Si les 2 premiers opus de la trilogie ont été soupçonnées d'un esprit contre-révolutionnaire et anti-soviétique, la dernière symphonie traduit, elle, un sentiment de soulagement, une victoire sur le militarisme.

Une des ouvertures les plus puissantes, les plus dramatiques et les plus expressives de Beethoven reste l’Ouverture de Coriolan. Il s’agit, avec Egmont, d'une des œuvres les plus caractéristiques du style dit « héroïque ». Au départ, cette composition devait accompagner Coriolanus, tragédie d’Heinrich Joseph von Collin, inspirée de la biographie de Plutarque. Elle restera finalement comme pièce du répertoire symphonique.

Phénix des concertos de Beethoven, l’entêté Triple Concerto (1803) sera interprété par le pianiste Saleem Ashkar, le violoncelliste Andreï Ionita et le violoniste Stephen Waarts, dont vous n’avez sans doute pas oublié le passage en finale du Concours Reine Elisabeth en 2015. Le chef d’orchestre grec Constantinos Carydis fait ressusciter ces grands maîtres à la voix singulière. Vous ressentirez ce dont l’homme est capable lorsqu’il choisit sa propre voie sans se laisser mener par les conventions.

Écoutez la playlist "Piano Lovers" sur Spotify