20

a nocte temporisReinoud Van Mechelen tenor, conductor – Rachel Redmond soprano – Deborah Cachet soprano – Ingeborg Bröcheler mezzo-soprano – Sean Clayton tenor – Ivan Thirion baritone – Marduk Serrano-López bass – Miriam Rignol discant gamba – Salomé Gasselin discant gamba – Anna Besson traverso – Sien Huybrechts traverso – Romina Lischka bassa da viola – Simon Linné theorbo – Pierre Gallon organ, harpsichord

Programme

In Nativitatem Domini, H. 414 Marc-Antoine Charpentier
Pastorale sur la naissance de notre Seigneur Jésus Christ, H. 483 Marc-Antoine Charpentier
Sur la Naissance de Notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ, H. 482 Marc-Antoine Charpentier


The Age of Enlightenment was marked by Jean-Baptiste Lully’s absolute dominance in the French music scene. In one genre, however, he was forced to recognise his superior: sacred music. His contemporary, Marc-Antoine Charpentier, dedicated his life to composing religious works. His magnificent output includes dramatic Latin motets, a genre that is similar to the Italian oratorio. He often takes on the nativity theme in his compositions, creating works that are infused with tenderness, such as In Nativitatem Domini (H. 414) or his pastorales, which stand out because of the infinite nuances and complex emotions they convey.

On the occasion of his ‘portrait’ in BOZAR, the Belgian tenor Reinoud Van Mechelen and his a nocte temporis ensemble will perform his delicate compositions. A delightful opportunity to experience the solace of his music in the run-up to Christmas.

Listen to the playlist "Early Music" on Spotify

Did you know?

  • Portrait: Reinoud Van Mechelen

    The young tenor Reinoud van Mechelen is clearly breezing ahead. Combining a light timbre, expressiveness with beautiful elocution, Van Mechelen brings a breath of fresh air to the baroque music scene. We sat down with him for a chat as part of his “Portrait” at for his residency at BOZAR throughout this season.

    — published on
  • A Very French Christmas

    The talented young tenor Reinoud Van Mechelen fell in love with French Baroque music after seeing the movie Le roi danse (The King Is Dancing) and is quickly becoming one of its most lauded proponents worldwide. This Christmas, he invites you into the elegant world of Marc-Antoine Charpentier and his festive pastorals, with his very own ensemble a nocte temporis.

    — published on

18

a nocte temporisReinoud Van Mechelen ténor, direction – Rachel Redmond soprano – Deborah Cachet soprano – Ingeborg Bröcheler mezzo-soprano – Sean Clayton ténor – Ivan Thirion baryton – Marduk Serrano-López basse – Miriam Rignol dessus de viole – Salomé Gasselin dessus de viole – Anna Besson traverso – Sien Huybrechts traverso – Romina Lischka basse de viole – Simon Linné théorbe – Pierre Gallon orgue, clavecin

Programme

In Nativitatem Domini, H. 414 Marc-Antoine Charpentier
Pastorale sur la naissance de notre Seigneur Jésus Christ, H. 483 Marc-Antoine Charpentier
Sur la Naissance de Notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ, H. 482 Marc-Antoine Charpentier


Le Grand Siècle fut marqué par le règne absolutiste de Jean-Baptiste Lully sur la scène musicale française. Un domaine échappa toutefois à son emprise : la musique sacrée. Toute sa vie durant, son contemporain Marc-Antoine Charpentier se consacra à la composition d’œuvres religieuses. Cette production impressionnante compte entre autres des motets dramatiques en latin, un genre apparenté à l’oratorio italien. Le thème de la nativité y est fréquemment abordé, donnant lieu à des pièces emplies de tendresse, telles In Nativitatem Domini (H. 414) ou ses pastorales, qui déploient une palette de sentiments tout en nuances.

À l’occasion de son « portrait » à BOZAR, le ténor belge Reinoud Van Mechelen et son ensemble a nocte temporis rendront justice à cette musique hautement délicate. Un moment d’émerveillement et d’apaisement à vivre à l’approche de Noël.

Écoutez la playlist "Early Music" sur Spotify

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Portrait: Reinoud Van Mechelen

    Le jeune ténor belge Reinoud Van Mechelen a le vent en poupe. Alliant légèreté du timbre, expressivité et clarté d'élocution, le chanteur apporte un souffle de fraîcheur à la scène musicale baroque. Nous nous sommes entretenu avec lui autour du « portrait » que BOZAR lui consacre tout au long de la saison.

    — publié le
  • Un Noël très français

    Le jeune ténor talentueux Reinoud Van Mechelen est tombé amoureux du baroque français après avoir vu Le roi danse, et est rapidement devenu l’un des plus grands défenseurs du genre. Pour Noël, il vous invite à découvrir le monde élégant de Marc-Antoine Charpentier et ses pastorales festives, avec son propre ensemble a nocte temporis.

    — publié le