24

Daniel "Pipi" Piazzolla conductor, drums – Mariano Sívori double-bass – Martín Pantyrer bass clarinet – Nicolás Guerschberg piano – Damián Fogiel tenor saxophone – Gustavo Musso alto saxophone, soprano saxophone

"Piazzolla originals are played with new élan and the ones that must have incurred the ire of the late master." (Latinjazznet, 2012)

 

Daniel “Pipi” Piazzolla pays tribute to his illustrious grandfather, with his band Escalandrum. Let them take you on a journey into the sensuous and magical world of Piazzola’s tango. In Pipi’s own unique style of course!

Welcome to the land of tango and of Piazzolla… of Daniel “Pipi” Piazzolla, grandson of the internationally-acclaimed composer. In the past 19 years, he has toured the world with his band Escalandrum, performing with such artists as Enrico Rava, Dave Holland, Ute Lemper and John Scofield. So when he finally decided to tackle the musical legacy of the family’s patriarch, he demonstrated considerable maturity. The tribute album Piazzolla Plays Piazolla, an eloquent musical mix of tango and jazz, was such an international hit that it was nominated for a Latin Grammy Award, winning three Premios Gardel, the Argentinean music awards. Do not miss this unique opportunity to enjoy Astor Piazzolla’s sensuous and magical music. In Pipi’s own unique style of course!


Music Talk(s)
19:00 Artist talk with Daniel Piazzolla, moderated by Alexis Cousein. Free for everyone with a concert ticket.


It's our treat! Listen to BOZAR’s "World" playlist on Spotify for free and discover BOZAR MUSIC season ’18-’19.

Did you know?

  • The Tango Series

    In Argentina, there are many ensembles that contribute to a varied and fresh tango scene. Some of them re-enact the tradition, others build upon it to produce their own original creations. The list is long, but for sure includes the musicians performing in this ground-breaking concert series at BOZAR.

    — published on

15

Daniel "Pipi" Piazzolla direction, batterie – Mariano Sívori contrebasse – Martín Pantyrer clarinette basse – Nicolás Guerschberg piano – Damián Fogiel saxophone ténor – Gustavo Musso saxophone alto, saxophone soprano

"Piazzolla originals are played with new élan and the ones that must have incurred the ire of the late master." (Latinjazznet, 2012)

 

Daniel « Pipi » Piazzolla rend hommage à son illustre grand-père, avec son groupe Escalandrum. Ils vous emportent dans l’univers sensuel et envoûtant du tango de Piazolla. Façon « Pipi », naturellement !

Bienvenue au pays du tango et de Piazzolla. De Daniel « Pipi » Piazzolla, le petit-fils du compositeur mondialement connu. En 19 ans d’existence, il s’est produit dans le monde entier avec son groupe Escalandrum et a joué avec des artistes comme Enrico Rava, Dave Holland, Ute Lemper ou John Scofield. C’est donc avec une grande maturité qu’il s’est attaqué au patrimoine musical légué par le patriarche familial et a enregistré Piazzolla Plays Piazolla. Cet album-hommage, mêlant tango et jazz dans un langage musical prolifique, a connu un tel succès international qu’il a été nominé aux Latin Grammy Awards, et a remporté trois Premios Gardel, les Awards argentins. Ne manquez pas  cette soirée consacrée à la musique sensuelle et envoûtante d’Astor Piazolla. Façon « Pipi », naturellement !


Music Talk(s)
19:00 Artist talk avec Daniel Piazzolla, modéré par Alexis Cousein. Gratuit sur présentation du ticket de concert.

 

BOZAR vous gâte ! Écoutez gratuitement la playlist "World" sur Spotify et découvrez toute la saison BOZAR MUSIC ’18-’19.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • The Tango Series

    En Argentine, de nombreux ensembles contribuent aujourd'hui à une scène jeune et variée. Certains d'entre eux reviennent à la tradition, d'autres s'en servent pour produire leurs propres créations originales. La liste est très longue, mais il ne fait aucun doute que les musiciens invités à la série de concerts organisés au Palais des Beaux-Arts à Bruxelles en font partie.

    — publié le