23

Juan Pablo Navarro double-bass, composition – Nicolás Enrich bandoneon – Bruno Cavallaro violin – Sebastián Tozzolla clarinet, bass clarinet – Esteban Falabella electric guitar – Emiliano Greco piano

The Juan Pablo Navarro Sexteto proves that tango is still very much alive and kicking. The six-piece ensemble of the Argentinean double bassist effortlessly switches between genres, innovating while respecting tradition. Many a tango aficionado has been moved by their Tango-Jazz and soon it will be our turn!

Juan Pablo Navarro’s impressive musical career reads like a tango score. He has previously shared the stage with such tango legends like Horacio Salgán and Ubaldo de Lío, the founders of the Quinteto Real and living jazz legend Joe Lovano. Critics and his peers consider him to be one of the most important double bass players in Argentinean popular music. His six-piece ensemble is a fixture in concert halls and at tango festivals across Argentina. On 8 May, Navarro introduces us to his Tango-Jazz, an original combination of tango, jazz and contemporary music. He likes to call his compositions “postcards from a New Sound of Buenos Aires”. Are you ready to take a musical trip to Argentina?

It's our treat! Listen to BOZAR’s "World" playlist on Spotify for free and discover BOZAR MUSIC season ’18-’19.

Did you know?

  • The Tango Series

    In Argentina, there are many ensembles that contribute to a varied and fresh tango scene. Some of them re-enact the tradition, others build upon it to produce their own original creations. The list is long, but for sure includes the musicians performing in this ground-breaking concert series at BOZAR.

    — published on

22

Juan Pablo Navarro contrebasse, composition – Nicolás Enrich bandoneon – Bruno Cavallaro violon – Sebastián Tozzolla clarinette, clarinette basse – Esteban Falabella guitare électrique – Emiliano Greco piano

Le Juan Pablo Navarro Sexteto prouve que le tango est plus vivant que jamais. Le sextuor du contrebassiste argentin jongle avec les genres et innove tout en rendant hommage à la tradition. Nombreux sont ceux qui ont voltigé sur la piste de danse en écoutant leur « tango-jazz ». C’est à présent à notre tour !

Le parcours musical impressionnant de Juan Pablo Navarro se lit comme une partition de tango. Il a partagé la scène avec des légendes du tango telles qu’Horacio Salgán et Ubaldo de Lío, fondateurs du Quinteto Real, mais aussi avec la légende vivante du jazz Joe Lovano. Tant les critiques que les musiciens y voient l’un des plus importants contrebassistes de la scène populaire argentine. Son sextuor est aujourd’hui largement reconnu en Argentine, où il se produit dans les salles les plus importantes et fait danser le public lors de nombreux festivals de tango. Le 8 mai, Navarro nous fera découvrir son tango-jazz, une combinaison originale de tango, jazz et musique contemporaine. Il appelle lui-même ses compositions des « cartes postales du nouveau son de Buenos Aires ». Prêts pour un voyage musical en Argentine ?

BOZAR vous gâte ! Écoutez gratuitement la playlist "World" sur Spotify et découvrez toute la saison BOZAR MUSIC ’18-’19.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • The Tango Series

    En Argentine, de nombreux ensembles contribuent aujourd'hui à une scène jeune et variée. Certains d'entre eux reviennent à la tradition, d'autres s'en servent pour produire leurs propres créations originales. La liste est très longue, mais il ne fait aucun doute que les musiciens invités à la série de concerts organisés au Palais des Beaux-Arts à Bruxelles en font partie.

    — publié le