19

Uwe Dierksen

Programme

music Uwe Dierksen


MUSIC BY

'I SOLISTI DI FRANCOFORTE'

I Solisti di Francoforte is an instrumental ensemble made up of musicians from all over Europe. The pianist Neus Estarellas hails from Majorca and received her training in Iceland and Germany, she plays mainly as a soloist in the performing arts. Giorgos Panagiotidis from Greece first picked up a violin at the age of five. At 13, he won the Czech Republic’s Ústí nad Orlicí violin competition. He studied in Munich before beginning a prestigious career that saw him join the renowned Ensemble Modern and collaborate with conductors such as Zubin Mehta, Pierre Boulez and Sir Neville Marriner. Born in 1994, Miguel García Casas is an exceptional young Spanish trombonist. He is solo trombonist at the Frankfurter Opern- und Museumorchester whilst at the same time studying for a Master’s at the Hochschule der Künste in Bern. Finally, on the cello, Hugo Rannou from France completes the ensemble. With his insatiable musical mind, he is at home with all manner of repertoires, ranging from jazz to early music by way of contemporary and chamber music, which he trained in under Gerhard Schulz of the Alban Berg Quartet.

DER GEIGER VON FLORENZ – Paul Czinner 
(GER 1925/1926, 82 min)

Until now, young Reneé has enjoyed the undivided attention of her beloved father. But after his wedding, their domestic circumstances change. Driven by jealousy, the girl begins to compete bitterly with her stepmother. When an attempt at reconciliation fails, the father finally sends the fiery Reneé to a Swiss boarding school. But she flees across the border into Italy, disguised as a shepherd boy. During her journey through the country, Reneé's violin playing attracts the attention of a painter. He takes the supposed young man into his home – and soon finds his muse in Reneé...
Paul Czinner was no stranger to the art of violin playing. As a child he was considered a virtuoso because of his abilities on the stringed instrument. He wrote the female leading role in THE FIDDLER OF FLORENCE specifically for Elisabeth Bergner. In 1933, the pair married in England. In 1939 they both moved to the U.S. where Czinner categorically refused to shoot any more movies without his wife’s involvement and instead embarked on a career as a theater producer. From the beginning of the 1950s, now permanently back in England, he dedicated himself to documentary films about dance and musical theater.

17

Uwe Dierksen

Programme

musique Uwe Dierksen


MUSIC BY

'I SOLISTI DI FRANCOFORTE'

I Solisti di Francoforte est un ensemble instrumental réunissant des musiciens des quatre coins de l’Europe. La pianiste Neus Estarellas nous vient de Majorque. Formée en Islande et en Allemagne, elle se produit principalement en tant que soliste et dans le domaine des arts de la scène et de la performance. Le Grec Giorgos Panagiotidis a commencé le violon à l’âge de cinq ans. À 13 ans, il remporte le concours de violon Ústí nad Orlicí en République tchèque. Après des études à Munich, il débute une carrière prestigieuse qui le voit intégrer le très célèbre Ensemble Modern et collaborer avec des chefs tels que Zubin Mehta, Pierre Boulez ou Sir Neville Marriner. Né en 1994, Miguel García Casas est un jeune tromboniste espagnol d’exception. Il occupe le poste de trombone solo au sein du Frankfurter Opern- und Museumorchester tout en poursuivant un master à la Hochschule der Künste de Bern. Enfin, au violoncelle, on trouve le Français Hugo Rannou. Esprit musical insatiable, il est à l’aise dans une diversité de répertoires allant du jazz à la musique ancienne, en passant par la musique contemporaine et la musique de chambre, à laquelle il s’est formée auprès de Gerhard Schulz (Alban Berg Quartet).

DER GEIGER VON FLORENZ – Paul Czinner 
(GER 1925/1926, 82 min)

La jeune Renée est la prunelle des yeux de son papa adoré. Mais au remariage de celui-ci, les choses changent du tout au tout à la maison. Rongée par la jalousie, la jeune fille rivalise douloureusement avec sa belle-mère. Lorsqu’une tentative de réconciliation échoue, le père finit par expédier l’indomptable Renée dans une pension en Suisse. Mais la jeunette s’enfuit et traverse la frontière pour se rendre en Italie, travestie en berger. Au hasard de son périple à travers la campagne, les talents de violoniste de Renée attirent l’attention d’un peintre. Il recueille le « jeune homme » chez lui et Renée devient rapidement sa muse.
Paul Czinner n’est pas étranger à la maîtrise du violon. Enfant, il était considéré comme un virtuose de cet instrument à cordes. Il a écrit le rôle principal de « Der Geiger von Florenz » spécialement pour Elisabeth Bergner. En 1933, le couple se marie en Angleterre. En 1939, ils emménagent aux États-Unis, où Czinner refuse catégoriquement de tourner d’autres films sans que sa femme y participe. Il décide plutôt de se lancer dans une carrière de producteur de théâtre. Dès le début des années 50, définitivement de retour en Angleterre, il se consacre aux documentaires sur la danse et le théâtre musical.