19

At a time when Europe is striving to retain its legitimacy and relevance in the face of growing disillusionment and Euroscepticism, cities can provide a critical link to citizens. Participatory decision making, citizens’ initiatives and the involvement of people in policy making at all levels are fundamental to an inclusive and democratic society.
Throughout May 2018, EUROCITIES, the network of big European cities, is running the campaign ‘Cities4Europe – Europe for citizens’, a platform for local initiatives that engage people, envision new forms of democracy and map out a common future.
Together with BOZAR and the city of Brussels, EUROCITIES is launching this campaign on 7 May in Brussels with a public debate, featuring a panel of national and European leaders as well as actors of urban change, artists and activists.

Speakers:
Ada Colau is the mayor of Barcelona.
Philippe Close is the mayor of Brussels.
Gilles Pargneaux is member of the European Parliament
Ingrid Pecquet is general and financial director of Recyclart
Saskia Sassen is Professor, Columbia University and is member of its Committee on Global Thought (www.saskiasassen.com).
Daniel Termont is the president of EUROCITIES and mayor of Ghent.
Philippe Van Leeuw is a Belgian film director, screenwriter and cinematographer.
Philippe Van Parijs, philosopher and economist, is professor emeritus at the UCL.
Karmenu Vella is the European Commissioner for the Environment.

24

Tandis que l’Europe s’efforce de conserver légitimité et pertinence face à la montée du désenchantement et de l’euroscepticisme, les villes représentent un lien crucial vers les citoyens. La prise de décisions participative, les initiatives populaires ainsi que l’engagement citoyen dans l’élaboration des politiques, sont autant d’instruments fondamentaux dans une société inclusive et démocratique.
Au cours du mois de mai 2018, EUROCITIES, le réseau des métropoles européennes, animera la campagne « Cities4Europe – Europe for citizens », une plateforme regroupant des initiatives locales qui encouragent la participation citoyenne, imaginent de nouvelles formes de démocratie, et proposent des pistes de réflexion pour un avenir commun.
Le lancement de cette campagne, organisé par EUROCITIES en coopération avec BOZAR et la ville de Bruxelles, aura lieu le 7 mai à Bruxelles, et s’ouvrira par un débat public rassemblant des dirigeants européens et nationaux, des acteurs des transformations urbaines, ainsi que des figures artistiques et militantes.

Intervenants: 
Ada Colau est la bourgmestre de Barcelone
Philippe Close est le bourgmestre de la Ville de Bruxelles.
Gilles Pargneaux est membre du Parlement européen
Ingrid Pecquet est directrice générale & financière de Recyclart
Saskia Sassen est professeure à l’Université de Columbia et membre du Committee on Global Thought (www.saskiasassen.com).
Daniel Termont est le président d'EUROCITIES et le bourgmestre de Gand.
Philippe Van Leeuw est un réalisateur, scénariste et directeur de la photographie belge.
Philippe Van Parijs, philosophe et économiste, est professeur ordinaire émérite de UCL.
Karmenu Vella est le Commissaire européen à l'environnement.