11

Writing in times of war and chaos. Khaled Khalifa is one of the few Syrian writers not to have left his homeland and to have continued writing, despite the perilous situation. His work often sparks controversy, not least in Syria where some of his books have been banned. Yet he remains internationally acclaimed as one of today's great writers. He was shortlisted for the International Prize for Arabic Fiction and is winner of the prestigious Naguib Mahfouz Medal for Literature. He is known above all for his prizewinning novel No Knives in the Kitchens of This City: A Novel.

Five years after his first visit to BOZAR this controversial writer will be returning as a guest on 18 April. He will be speaking of his life and work with Alma Salem, curator of the Tourab: Syrian Art Space festival that is being held in Brussels during that week.

From 17th-27th April 2018 TOURAB: Syria Art Space moves into the Galerie Ravenstein. The Goethe-Institut has invited curator Alma Salem to put together a programme with over 50 Syrian artists. TOURAB is a place for discovery and a platform for contemporary artistic positions: an exhibition, improvisations, debates, concerts, films, workshops and much more give the opportunity to reflect and discuss. More info >

21

Écrire en temps de guerre et de chaos. Khaled Khalifa est l’un des rares auteurs syriens qui n’a pas quitté son pays et continue d’écrire malgré la situation désastreuse. Ses écrits sont souvent à l’origine de polémiques, en particulier en Syrie, où une partie de ses ouvrages ont été censurés. Sur la scène internationale, en revanche, il est considéré comme l’un des plus grands écrivains d’aujourd’hui. Il a ainsi été finaliste de l’International Prize for Arabic Fiction et lauréat du prestigieux prix littéraire Naguib-Mahfouz.

Khaled Khalifa sera notre invité le 18 avril prochain pour la seconde fois, cinq ans après sa première visite à BOZAR. Il est principalement connu dans notre pays pour son roman primé Pas de couteaux dans les cuisines de cette ville et pour La mort est une corvée, dont la traduction française paraît justement le jour de la rencontre à BOZAR.
Lors de cette rencontre, il parlera de sa vie et de son œuvre avec Alma Salem, commissaire du festival Tourab: Syrian Art Space.

Du 17 au 27 avril prochain, TOURAB: Syria Art Space s’installe dans la Galerie Ravenstein. Le Goethe Institut a invité la commissaire Alma Salem à composer un programme impliquant plus de 50 artistes syriens. TOURAB se veut un lieu de découverte et une plateforme d’art contemporain sous toutes ses formes, proposant notamment une exposition, des improvisations, des débats, des concerts, des films, des ateliers et des rencontres qui suscitent la réflexion et le débat. Plus d'infos >