23

Scientific and artistic ways to order chaos

Are mathematics, statistics and data hoarding the ultimate ways to organise what seem to be random phenomena? Maybe, maybe not. Since the arts introduce other dimensions of ordering seemingly random phenomena, and chaos.  

This Crosstalks meeting explores scientific and artistic ways of coping with complexity: from brain-blowing science to visual arts and music.


15:00 Introduction by Jean Paul Van Bendegem (VUB-Philosopher/Mathematician)

15:05 Marleen Wynants (Director VUB Crosstalks): The first computers were women

15:30 Lawrence Malstaf (artist, the EXHALE installation and performance goes public on April 28, 2018): The anti-automaton

Presentation of aspects of his practice as an installation artist, dealing with animated objects, anti-automatons and coincidence. The work of Lawrence Malstaf is at the crossroads between the visual and the theatrical. He develops installation and performance art with a strong focus on movement, coincidence, order and chaos, and immersive sensorial rooms for individual visitors. He also creates larger mobile environments dealing with space and orientation, often using the visitor as a co-actor. His projects involve physics and technology as a point of departure or inspiration and as a means for activating installations. Malstaf is also known as an innovative scenographer in the world of theatre and dance.

15:50 Michel Tombroff (ULB, University of California Santa Barbara): Tautological Limitations in Conceptual Art: A Proposal to Represent the Beauty of Truth

We present a critique of the analytical tradition of conceptual art, and more specifically the tautological drift that caused conceptual art to distance itself from the minimal and essential aesthetic conditions required for a democratic experience of the work of art. We then propose to use mathematics, in particular the theory of infinite sets as invented by Georg Cantor and elevated to the status of ontology by Alain Badiou, as an aesthetic foundation to conceptual art in order to free it from these tautological limitations and reassert its aesthetic ambition. Finally, we present some recent works aimed at empirically testing the validity of this theory.

16:10 André Ariew (University of Missouri): Abstract statistical ideas made simple: The case of Francis Galton’s quincunx

Sometimes daunting and abstract statistical ideas can be presented simply. I will demonstrate this with an important episode in the history of biology. Francis Galton used a toy machine that he constructed, called a "quincunx", to explain the phenomenon of reversion. With the quincunx Galton showed that reversion is a purely statistical rather than—as Charles Darwin believed—a biological phenomenon. Galton's presentation, though simple, would have profound implications for the development of evolutionary biology and statistics.

16:40 Q&A + Break

17:00 Isar Goyvaerts (VUB): Symmetry in music: A means of exploring the modern Western classical repertoire

To many people, a considerable amount of 20th and 21st century Western classical music sounds "chaotic" when you first listen to it. Compared to compositions from other eras, such music sounds rather strange to our ears and we rarely feel encouraged to give it a second listen. In this talk, we discuss two short pieces by two composers and investigate whether some insight into certain mathematical concepts may be a means of exploring (part of) the modern repertoire. No background in music theory or mathematics is required for this lecture.

17:30 Bruno Letort (Ars Musica): Le Pavillion Philips : Fusion des Arts ?

At the request of Philips, Le Corbusier suggested creating an electronic poem for the 1958 Brussels World’s Fair. It’s a collage of screenings and colourful atmospheres, which provides an eight minute overview of the modern world, accompanied by Edgar Varèse’s “concrete” music. Iannis Xenakis was entrusted with its design and made the most of this opportunity by covering the pavilion in thin-shelled concrete. The work itself is housed in a big black space. For the three creators (Varèse, Le Corbusier and Xenakis) this pavilion was the opportunity to experiment with the most avant-garde things that were going on in the field of artistic production technologies.

18:00 Open discussion

18:30 Festival cocktail

25

Moyens scientifiques et artistiques pour structurer le chaos

Les mathématiques, les statistiques et l’accumulation de données sont-elles les moyens ultimes d’organiser ce qui semble être des phénomènes aléatoires ? Peut-être que oui. Peut-être que non. On retrouve dans le domaine des arts d’autres dimensions d’organisation de phénomènes apparemment aléatoires et du chaos.

Cette rencontre Crosstalks explore les approches scientifiques et artistiques de la gestion de la complexité présentées par des experts de la science, des plasticiens et des musiciens.


15:00 Introduction par Jean Paul Van Bendegem (philosophe / mathématicien, VUB)

15:05 Marleen Wynants (Directrice VUB Crosstalks): The first computers were women

15:30 Conférence de Lawrence Malstaf (artiste, dont la performance et installation EXHALE sera montrée le 28 avril): The anti-automaton

Présentation des aspects de sa pratique d’installations artistiques intégrant des objets animés, des anti-automates et du hasard. Le travail de Lawrence Malstaf se situe à la frontière entre l’art visuel et théâtral. Il développe des installations et des performances qui accordent une importance particulière au mouvement, au hasard, à l’ordre et au chaos, ainsi que des pièces immersives sensorielles pour visiteurs individuels. Il crée aussi des environnements mobiles de plus grande taille qui évoquent l’espace et l’orientation et utilisent souvent le visiteur comme co-acteur. Ses projets prennent la physique et la technologie comme points de départ, sources d’inspiration ou pour activer les installations. Malstaf est aussi un scénographe renommé dans le monde de la danse et du théâtre.

15:50 Michel Tombroff (ULB, University of California Santa Barbara): Tautological Limitations in Conceptual Art: A Proposal to Represent the Beauty of Truth

Nous présentons une critique de la tradition analytique de l’art conceptuel, et plus spécifiquement de la dérive tautologique qui a poussé celui-ci à se distancer des conditions esthétiques minimales et essentielles nécessaires à une expérience démocratique de l’œuvre d’art. Ensuite, nous proposons d’utiliser les mathématiques, en particulier la théorie des ensembles infinis inventée par Georg Cantor et élevée au statut d’ontologie par Alain Badiou, en tant que fondement esthétique de l’art conceptuel pour le libérer de ses limitations tautologiques et réaffirmer son ambition esthétique. Enfin, nous présentons quelques œuvres récentes visant à tester la validité empirique de cette théorie.

16:10 André Ariew (University of Missouri): Abstract statistical ideas made simple: The case of Francis Galton’s quincunx

Parfois, les concepts statistiques intimidants et abstraits peuvent être présentés de manière simple. Je prouverai ceci à l’aide d’un chapitre important de l’histoire de la biologie. Francis Galton a fabriqué un dispositif appelé « quincunx » pour expliquer le phénomène de la réversion. Grâce au quincunx, Galton a montré que la réversion est un phénomène purement statistique plutôt que – comme le prétendait Charles Darwin – biologique. Malgré sa simplicité, la présentation de Galton allait avoir des implications profondes sur le développement de la biologie évolutionnaire et des statistiques.

16:40 Q&A + pause

17:00 Isar Goyvaerts (VUB): Symmetry in music: A means of exploring the modern Western classical repertoire

Pour bon nombre de personnes, une bonne partie de la musique classique occidentale des XXe et XXIe siècles semble « chaotique » à la première écoute. Lorsqu’on la compare à des compositions d’autres époques, cette musique paraît étrange et donne peu envie d’être écoutée une seconde fois. Cette conférence s’intéresse à deux courtes pièces de deux compositeurs différents et tente de montrer comment certains concepts mathématiques peuvent aider à explorer (une partie de) ce répertoire moderne. Aucune connaissance théorique musicale ou mathématique n’est requise pour assister à cette conférence.

17:30 Bruno Letort (Ars Musica) : Le Pavillon Philips : Fusion des Arts ?

À la demande de la compagnie Philips, Le Corbusier propose de créer un Poème électronique pour l’Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles en 1958. C’est un collage de projections et d’ambiances colorées, qui fait un bilan du monde moderne en huit minutes, accompagné d’une musique « concrète » d’Edgar Varèse. Il est abrité dans un grand espace noir dont la conception est confiée à Iannis Xenakis qui en profite pour expérimenter pleinement des coques minces en béton pour la couverture. Ce pavillon fut pour les trois créateurs (Varèse, Le Corbusier et Xenakis) l’occasion d’expérimenter tout ce qui se faisait de plus avant-gardiste, dans le domaine des technologies de la création artistique.

18:00 Discussion ouverte

18:30 Festival cocktail