24

To what extent is cinema primarily about the body and movement and how far can editing and screening prolong the physical adventure of the shoot? In order to inaugurate the 3rd edition of the Conversation residence, initiated by the CVB and GSARA, Laure Cottin Stefanelli and Peter Snowdon will present recent footage and speak about their upcoming projects, in the course of a conversation with Septembre Tiberghien.
British, Brussels-based, filmmaker Peter Snowdon is the man behind The Uprising (2013), a film made from YouTube videos created by people involved in the Arab Spring, and the director of the ALARM group’s film Le Parti du rêve de logement (2016, CVB production). He is currently studying the relationship between the person behind the camera and the subject matter. Peter is a lecturer in film directing, part of the Visual Ethnography programme of the University of Leiden (the Netherlands).
With her films, photographs and installations, the French artist Laure Cottin Stefanelli explores stories based around characters with paradoxical tensions – life instincts, death instincts and erotic urges –which are the result of the separation of the mind and body. Having participated in FID Marseille and the Kasseler Dok Festival, in 2017 Laure staged her first personal exhibition, Touch me not / do not cling to me / do not hold me / do not approach me, in the Centrale Lab in Brussels.

16

En quoi le cinéma est-il avant tout une mise en jeu de corps et de gestes? Jusqu'où le montage et la projection peuvent-ils prolonger l'aventure physique du tournage, sans la dissoudre dans l'idée? Pour inaugurer la 3e édition de la résidence Conversation, initiée par le CVB et le GSARA, Laure Cottin Stefanelli et Peter Snowdon présenteront, au cours d’une conversation avec Septembre Tiberghien, des images récemment tournées par eux et évoqueront celles dans lesquelles ils se projettent, et qui sont encore à venir.

Cinéaste britannique établi à Bruxelles, Peter Snowdon est l’auteur de The Uprising (2013), film de montage réalisé à partir de vidéos YouTube créés par les acteurs des révolutions arabes, et le metteur en scène du film du Groupe ALARM, Le Parti du rêve de logement (2016, production CVB). Ses recherches actuelles portent sur la relation filmeur/filmé. Peter enseigne la réalisation dans le cadre du programme d'anthropologie visuelle de l'Université de Leyde (Pays-Bas).

À travers ses films, photographies et installations, l’artiste française Laure Cottin Stefanelli poursuit une recherche autour de récits centrés sur des personnages habités de tensions paradoxales – pulsions de vie, de mort, érotique – celles qui résultent de la séparation entre l’esprit et le corps. Ayant participé notamment au FID Marseille et au Kasseler Dok Festival, Laure a eu en 2017 sa première exposition personnelle, Touch me not / do not cling to me / do not hold me / do not approach me, à la Centrale Lab (Bruxelles).