19

Do you prefer a more intimate setting to the maddening crush of the dance floor? Then you will love the BOZAR ELECTRONIC SERIES. These exclusive evenings are a great opportunity to discover the latest musical trends, which push the boundaries of electronic, contemporary and experimental music.

20:00 Doors
20:30 – 21:30 Christina Vantzou & 7-piece ensemble
22:00 – 23:00 Steve Hauschildt

Christina Vantzou & 7-piece ensemble

It's been more than three years since composer Christina Vantzou (US) has played in Brussels, her current home. Her last album, called N°4, as a 4th release on the US label Kranky, has been praised all over the musical press and beyond. Vantzou cites sleep and “the loosening of time” as two formative practices in her private and professional life, echoes of which resound within the quietly hallucinatory properties of her music. Over time, her signature has become a fragile synthesis of contemplative drift, heady silences, and muted dissonance, as she ventures further into the uniquely elusive and evocative mode of ambient classical minimalism. 
On this special occasion, Vantzou has invited a series of collaborators who have helped her to shape her last album:

Strings: Margaret Hermant and Neil Leiter of Echo Collective, Beatrijs De Klerck & Bassel Abou Fakher, 
Synthesizers: John Also Bennett & Steve Hauschildt
Voice: Angel Deradoorian
www.christinavantzou.com

Steve Hauschildt 

Steve Hauschildt (US) might be known to some as a member of the US psych-noise band Emeralds. He has been recording and playing under his own name since 2011, and has released albums on Kranky, Les Editions Mego and most recently on Ghostly International with his latest album Dissolvi (2018). His music is generally inspired by 70ies Kosmische electronic music, where melody and repetitiveness are intertwined within the timbre of vintage synths. On his latest work, he also ventures into minimal(ist) techno, adding the voice of Julianna Barwick to his carefully crafted constructions. Hauschildt's performances are an elegant take on melancholic electronic psychedelia, as a perfect counterpoint to Christina Vantzou.
https://stevehauschildt.bandcamp.com

It's our treat! Listen to BOZAR’s "Electro" playlist on Spotify for free and discover BOZAR MUSIC season ’18-’19.

Visuals by Sabrina Ratté
Sabrina Ratté lives and work between Montreal and Paris. After a BFA and MFA in Film Production at Concordia University in Montreal, she focused mainly on video as a medium. Her interest in early video art led her to work with analog technologies such as video synthesizers and video feedback. Later on, she integrated 3D animation to her process, which allowed for more complexe imageries while creating a timeless aesthetic. From utopian architecture to painterly textures, she investigates the fine line between the virtual and the physical realm. Her work includes single-channel videos, installations, sculptures, live performances and prints. She is represented by Laffy Maffei Gallery in Paris, and Ellephant Gallery in Montreal

19

Vous préférez une atmosphère intime à la folie du dancefloor ? Les BOZAR ELECTRONIC SERIES sont pour vous. Ces soirées exclusives vous dévoilent les nouvelles tendances musicales qui repoussent les limites de la musique électronique, contemporaine et expérimentale.

20:00 Doors
20:30 – 21:30 Christina Vantzou & 7-piece ensemble
22:00 – 23:00 Steve Hauschildt

Christina Vantzou & 7-piece ensemble

Plus de trois ans se sont écoulés depuis le dernier concert de la compositrice Christina Vantzou (US) à Bruxelles, où elle réside actuellement. Son dernier album, N°4, qui marque la quatrième sortie de l’artiste sur le label nord-américain Kranky, a été largement plébiscité par la presse musicale et bien d’autres. Vantzou cite le sommeil et « le relâchement du temps » comme deux pratiques formatives de sa vie privée et professionnelle, dont les échos résonnent au cœur des caractéristiques légèrement hallucinatoires de sa musique. Au fil du temps, sa signature est devenue une synthèse fragile de dérives contemplatives, de silences enivrants et de dissonances atténuées, tandis qu’elle explore plus profondément la fugacité et le pouvoir évocateur uniques du minimalisme classique ambient.
En cette occasion spéciale, Vantzou a invité une série de collaborateurs qui ont contribué à donner forme à son dernier album: 

Cordes: Margaret Hermant &Neil Leiter d'Echo Collective, Beatrijs De Klerck & Bassel Abou Fakher, 
Synthétiseurs:John Also Bennett & Steve Hauschildt
Voix:Angel Deradoorian

www.christinavantzou.com

Steve Hauschildt 

Certains connaissent Steve Hauschildt (US) comme l’un des membres du groupe américain de psych noise Emeralds. Il enregistre et joue sous son propre nom depuis 2011, sortant des albums sur Kranky, Les Editions Mego et plus récemment Ghostly International, qui a accueilli son dernier album Dissolvi (2018). Sa musique s’inspire souvent de l’électronique cosmique des années septante, où la mélodie et la répétitivité se mêlent au timbre des synthétiseurs vintage. Sur son dernier opus, il explore également la techno minimale, ajoutant la voix de Julianna Barwick à ses structures minutieusement élaborées. Les performances de Hauschildt, au psychédélisme électronique mélancolique et élégant, offrent un contrepoint idéal à Christina Vantzou.
https://stevehauschildt.bandcamp.com

Visuals by Sabrina Ratté
Sabrina Ratté vit et travaille entre Montréal et Paris. Après un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en production cinématographique à l’université Concordia à Montréal, elle se concentre principalement sur le médium de la vidéo. Son intérêt pour les débuts de l’art vidéo l’amène à travailler avec des technologies analogiques telles que la synthèse vidéo et les feedback visuels. Elle intègre ensuite l’animation 3D et plusieurs effets numériques à sa démarche, ce qui permet la création d’architectures plus complexes ainsi que d’une esthétique intemporelle. Ses oeuvres se situent à mi-chemin entre l’abstraction et le figuratif, le paysage et l’architecture, et sur la fine ligne qui sépare le réel du virtuel. Son travail inclut des installations, impressions et performances live. Elle est représentée par la galerie Laffy Maffei à Paris et la galerie Ellephant à Montréal.