17

The revolution of May '68 cannot be viewed independently of the "sexual revolution" that began in the late 1950s. The slogan make love, not war links the personal (erotic) with the social (political). It became particularly popular in the circles of the American counterculture in demonstrations against the Vietnam War. The rejection of monogamous marriage as an instrument of an authoritarian, male-dominated system goes back to the thinking of such figures as Emma Goldman and Wilhelm Reich. It was this student of Sigmund Freud who already launched the term “The Sexual Revolution” in 1936.
One month after May '68, Pope Paul VI announced the notorious encyclical Humanae vitae. The ban on any form of contraception caused many to desert the Catholic Church. 

The British professor Alana Harris compiled a book that sheds light on the ‘schism’ of '68. What is striking about this is that the same bishops who were taunted by the Leuven students were engaged at the Vatican in what proved to be a vain attempt to convince the Pope to authorize the pill. The young Antwerp historian Wannes Dupont explores this paradox.
Chantal De Smet was present at the start of the Dolle Mina’s, the first feminist movement in Belgium. With the filmmaker and performer Saddie Choua we discuss the continuum running from the sexual revolution of '68 to the #metoo movement of today.
Discussion moderated by Cathérine Ongenae.

Did you know?

  • Cultural workers of the world, unite!

    May ‘68 made it as far as the Centre for Fine Arts. On the evening of 28 May 1968, artists and writers gathered in a Brussels café. They all wanted to mark the event with an immediate collective action... And what an action it was!

    — published on
  • “Men can get involved, as long as the women call the shots”

    In May 1968, progressive young people revolted. They wanted to fight the status quo and have more of a say. “In Flanders, the protests broke out early on. We were ahead of the rest of the world”, explains Chantal De Smet, former “Dolle Mina”.

    — published on
  • Cooking with the heart

    Twice a week Collectactif organises tables d’hôtes that are open to everyone. The price of the meal is up to you: people pay what they want or what they feel able to.

    — published on

22

La révolution de mai 68 est indissociable de la « révolution sexuelle », qui a commencé à la fin des années 50. Le slogan « Faites l’amour, pas la guerre » associe le personnel (l’érotique) au social (le politique). Utilisé lors de manifestations contre la guerre au Vietnam, il est devenu très populaire dans la contre-culture américaine. Le rejet du mariage monogame, en tant qu’instrument d’un système autoritaire patriarcal, trouve son origine dans les idées de penseurs tels qu’Emma Goldman et Wilhelm Reich. C’est ce dernier, un élève de Sigmund Freud, qui a utilisé pour la première fois l’expression « révolution sexuelle » en 1936 .
Un mois après mai 68, le pape Paul VI a publié la tristement célèbre encyclique Humanae vitae. L’interdiction de toute forme de contraception a vidé les églises.

La professeure britannique Alana Harris a écrit un livre qui explique le « schisme » de 68. Il est frappant de constater que ce sont les mêmes évêques décriés par les étudiants de Louvain qui menaient au Vatican un combat – vain – pour convaincre le pape d’autoriser la pilule. Le jeune historien anversois Wannes Dupont s’est penché sur ce paradoxe.
Chantal De Smet était à l’origine des Dolle Minas, le premier groupe féministe de notre pays. Avec la réalisatrice et performeuse Saddie Choua, nous aborderons le fil conducteur de la révolution sexuelle de 68 au mouvement #metoo d’aujourd’hui.
Discussion modérée par Cathérine Ongenae.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Travailleurs culturels de tous les pays, unissez-vous !

    Mai ‘68 s’est étendu au Palais des Beaux-Arts. Dans la soirée du 28 mai 1968, des artistes et écrivains s’étaient rassemblés dans un café bruxellois. Tous voulaient marquer le coup avec une action collective immédiate... Et quelle action !

    — publié le
  • « Les hommes peuvent participer, si les femmes mènent la danse »

    En mai 1968, des jeunes progressistes se sont révoltés. Leurs revendications ? Avoir davantage voix au chapitre et lutter contre le statu quo. « En Flandre, le combat a commencé plus tôt. Nous étions en avance sur le reste du monde », explique Chantal De Smet, ancienne « Dolle Mina ».

    — publié le
  • Cuisiner avec le coeur

    Collectactif organise des tables d’hôtes, deux fois par semaine, ouvertes à tous. Le prix du repas – délicieux et équitable – est libre : les gens paient ce qu’ils veulent, ce qu’ils peuvent.

    — publié le