17

Jan Ducheyne is a dyed-in-the-wool poet with over twenty years of experience on the Belgian and international stages. When someone recently asked him, for the umpteenth time, if what he does with these musicians isn’t just 'a little like slam'… he decided that from now on he would reply that Jan Ducheyne & Noodzakelijk Kwaad are ‘avant-garde’.
And that is exactly what this ensemble is. A unique combination of three dedicated musicians (Teuk Henri (guitar), Frank P. (drums) and Jef Mercelis (electronic instrumentation: Korg-Farfisa) and Ducheyne, whose poetry adds another layer to their music, combining to bring out the music in poetry and vice versa.

Jan Ducheyne & Noodzakelijk Kwaad are sure to give a cutting-edge performance, with plenty of panache and the kind of music that will get under your skin, during which the musicians, refusing to be pinned down to one genre, let alone one key, continuously challenge themselves. Their virtuosity is offset by Jan Ducheyne’s biting, bouncing poems that seems to roll off the page rhythmically, recited by the poet himself in his own inimitable style. Not even he can predict where the performance will go once it has started.

Did you know?

  • Cultural workers of the world, unite!

    May ‘68 made it as far as the Centre for Fine Arts. On the evening of 28 May 1968, artists and writers gathered in a Brussels café. They all wanted to mark the event with an immediate collective action... And what an action it was!

    — published on
  • Cooking with the heart

    Twice a week Collectactif organises tables d’hôtes that are open to everyone. The price of the meal is up to you: people pay what they want or what they feel able to.

    — published on

22

Jan Ducheyne est un formidable poète avec plus de vingt ans d’expérience de la scène en Belgique et à l’étranger. Lorsqu’on lui a demandé pour la énième fois si ce qu’il faisait avec ses musiciens était « un peu comme du slam », il a décidé qu’il allait dorénavant répondre que Jan Ducheyne & Noodzakelijk Kwaad faisaient de l’« avant-garde ».
Un mot qui définit à la perfection la formation. Ce combo particulier se compose de trois excellents musiciens (Teuk Henri (guitare), Frank P. (batterie) et Jef Mercelis (électronique : Korg-Farfisa)) et de Ducheyne, qui déclame sa poésie et la mêle à leur musique. 

Jan Ducheyne & Noodzakelijk Kwaad sont la garantie d’une représentation à la pointe, pleine de panache et de musique bien ficelée, lors de laquelle les musiciens se mettent volontiers au défi en ne se limitant pas à un seul genre ou même à une seule tonalité. Ce feu d’artifice de virtuosité est combiné à des textes mordants, dansants et rythmiques, déclamés de manière très personnelle par Jan Ducheyne, qui ne sait pas lui-même quelle direction prend la représentation une fois qu’elle a commencé.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Travailleurs culturels de tous les pays, unissez-vous !

    Mai ‘68 s’est étendu au Palais des Beaux-Arts. Dans la soirée du 28 mai 1968, des artistes et écrivains s’étaient rassemblés dans un café bruxellois. Tous voulaient marquer le coup avec une action collective immédiate... Et quelle action !

    — publié le
  • Cuisiner avec le coeur

    Collectactif organise des tables d’hôtes, deux fois par semaine, ouvertes à tous. Le prix du repas – délicieux et équitable – est libre : les gens paient ce qu’ils veulent, ce qu’ils peuvent.

    — publié le