21

Hank Willis Thomas (b.1976, USA) often incorporates recognizable icons into his work, many from well-known advertising and branding campaigns. Thomas sees cultural disconnects everywhere in day-to-day living particularly as it relates to race (a figment of our imagination). In a 2013 review by Holland Cotter in the New York Times, “[Hank] has been particularly astute in examining the workings of what W. E. B. Du Bois called double consciousness, the condition in which people see themselves reflected, often negatively, in the view of others and end up molding their lives to confirm that view.” In this way, his work has gone beyond just making art, to examining and exposing deeper divides in our culture. During this evening conversation, artist Hank Willis Thomas, curator Christine Eyene and Open Society President Patrick Gaspard review the artist’s work in light of evolving political contexts.

Hank Willis Thomas is a conceptual artist working primarily with themes related to perspective, identity, commodity, media, and popular culture. His work is included in numerous public collections including the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, and the Whitney Museum of American Art, among others. Thomas is a recipient of the Gordon Parks Foundation Fellowship (2019), Guggenheim Fellowship (2018), the AIMIA | AGO Photography Prize (2017), the Soros Equality Fellowship (2017), and is a member of the New York City Public Design Commission.
Christine Eyene is an art historian, critic and curator. She is a Research Fellow in Contemporary Art at the University of Central Lancashire where she collaborates to Making Histories Visible, an interdisciplinary visual arts project based at UCLan’s Centre for Contemporary Art, led by Professor Lubaina Himid. Her areas of research and curatorial practice range from contemporary African and Diaspora arts, Black British arts, gendered art discourses, to non-object-based art practices notably sound art.
Patrick Gaspard is president of the Open Society Foundations. He joined the Foundations as vice president in 2017. Prior to joining Open Society, Gaspard served as the U.S. ambassador to South Africa from 2013 to 2016. Gaspard has extensive experience in presidential and congressional campaigns. Most recently, he served as a senior aide to President Barack Obama, as the executive director of the Democratic National Committee, and as an assistant to the president and director of the White House Office of Political Affairs.

This event is made possible thanks to the support of:
Embassy of the United States in Belgium
Open Society European Policy Institute
​​​​​​​Open Society Foundations
Galerie Maruani Mercier
Coopération belge au développement

Did you know?

23

Hank Willis Thomas (1976, EUA) inclut souvent dans son travail des images emblématiques reconnaissables tirées de nombreuses campagnes publicitaires et de labellisation. Thomas perçoit partout des ruptures culturelles dans la vie de tous les jours, surtout en matière de race (fruit de notre imagination). Selon l’analyse faite par Holland Cotter dans le New York Times en 2013 ‘{Hank} a été particulièrement astucieux dans l’examen de ce que W.E.B. Du Bois a appelé la double conscience, l’état dans lequel des personnes perçoivent leur propre image (souvent négative) dans les yeux d’autrui et finissent par modeler leurs vies pour se conformer à cette vision. » Son travail transcende ainsi le simple fait de faire de l’art pour analyser et démasquer les profondes fractures dans notre culture. Durant cette soirée de discussion, Hank Willis Thomas, la commissaire Christine Eyene et le président des Open Society Foundations Patrick Gaspard passent en revue le travail de l’artiste à la lumière de l’évolution du contexte politique.

Hank Willis Thomas est un artiste conceptuel qui travaille essentiellement sur des thèmes en relation avec les perspectives, l’identité, la société de consommation, les médias et la culture populaire. On retrouve ses œuvres dans de nombreuses collections publiques : le Museum of Modern Art de New York, le Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum et le Whitney Museum of American Art, entre autres. Hank Willis Thomas a reçu la Gordon Parks Foundation Fellowship (2019), la Guggenheim Fellowship (2018), le AIMIA | AGO Photography Prize (2017), la Soros Equality Fellowship (2017), et il est membre de la New York City Public Design Commission.
Christine Eyene est historienne de l’art, critique et commissaire. Elle est chercheuse en art contemporain à l’université du Lancashire central (UCLan), où elle collabore au projet interdisciplinaire d’art visuel « Making Histories Visible », qui est basé au Centre for Contemporary Art de l’UCLan, dirigé par la professeure Lubaina Himid. Ses recherches et son travail de commissaire sont axés sur les arts contemporains africains et de la diaspora, les arts afro-britanniques, les discours artistiques déterminés par le sexe, les pratiques artistiques non basées sur des objets, et en particulier l’art sonore.
Patrick Gaspard est le président des Open Society Foundations, qu’il a rejointes en 2017 en tant que vice-président. Avant cela, il a été ambassadeur des États-Unis en Afrique du Sud de 2013 à 2016. M. Gaspard jouit d’une vaste expérience des campagnes présidentielles et pour le Congrès. Récemment, il a été haut conseiller du président Barack Obama, directeur exécutif du Comité national démocrate, assistant du président, ainsi que directeur du bureau des affaires politiques de la Maison-Blanche.

Cet événement est organisé avec le soutien de :
L’Ambassade des États-Unis en Belgique
L’Open Society European Policy Institute
L'Open Society Foundations
La Galerie Maruani Mercier
La Coopération belge au développement

Le saviez-vous ?