21

Riton Liebman text, interpretation – Jean-Michel Van den Eeyden assistant of the director – Yannick Duret direction assistance – Aurélie Alessandroni direction assistance – Xavier Lauwers lighting design – Olivier Wiame set design – Vincent Cahay composition sonore – Simon Delecosse video

How does a person cope with success at a young age? Riton Liebman’s latest creation La vedette du quartier explores this question with healthy dose of humour. He speaks of the twists and turns of his career so far, which began with his role in Bertrand Blier’s masterpiece Préparez vos mouchoirs.
Having shared the billing with Gérard Depardieu, Patrick Dewaere and Carole Laure when he was just 13 years old, he could be big headed with his friend who saw him as “THE” star of the neighbourhood. What happened next? Riton describes his rise to fame in Paris and his adolescent hopes and disillusionment in the City of Light in the 1980s.
It’s a refreshing self-portrait, packed with the self-depreciating humour that earned its author the Critics’ Award for Liebman Renégat.

25

Riton Liebman texte, interprétation – Jean-Michel Van den Eeyden collaboration à la mise en scène – Yannick Duret assistance mise en scène – Aurélie Alessandroni assistance mise en scène – Xavier Lauwers éclairages – Olivier Wiame scénographie – Vincent Cahay composition sonore – Simon Delecosse vidéo

Comment peut-on gérer un succès précoce ? C’est en substance la question que pose avec beaucoup d’humour La vedette du quartier, dernière création de Riton Liebman. Il y raconte son itinéraire à rebondissements, qui débuta par sa participation au chef-d’œuvre de Bertrand Blier Préparez vos mouchoirs.

Ayant partagé l’affiche avec Gérard Depardieu, Patrick Dewaere et Carole Laure alors qu’il n’avait que 13 ans, il a pu rouler des épaules et des mécaniques auprès de ses copains et des potes de son quartier pour qui il était devenu « LA » vedette. Mais que faire ensuite ? Riton évoque alors sa montée à Paris, et à travers elle, les espoirs et les désillusions d’un adolescent en quête de célébrité dans la ville Lumière des années 80.

Un portrait vivifiant sous le signe de cette autodérision qui avait déjà valu à l’auteur le Prix de la critique pour Liebman Renégat.