21

Taking as a starting point photographs of the 1960s protests included in the exhibition, artists Marcelo Brodksy, Artem Loskutov,  Gideon Mendel and Oliver Ressler, curator Christine Eyene and art historian Antigoni Memou will discuss what role contemporary photography and art can potentially play in contemporary political struggles around the globe.

 

MODERATOR

(Dr.) Antigoni Memou (PhD, Courtauld Institute of Art, MA University of Southampton) is Senior Lecturer in Visual Theories at the School of Arts and Digital Industries at the University of East London (U.K.). She has published in the journals Third Text, Philosophy of Photography, Epherema and Photographies. Her book Photography and Social Movements: From the Globalisation of the Movement (1968) to the Movement Against Globalisation (2001) was published by Manchester University Press in 2013. 

 

PARTICIPANTS
Christine Eyene is an art historian, critic and curator. Invited for the second time by BOZAR in the context of the Summer of Photography, Christine is the curator of “RESIST! The 1960s protest, photography and visual legacy”. She is a Guild Research Fellow in Contemporary Art at the University of Central Lancashire and a doctoral student at Birkbeck, University of London. Writing a thesis on South African photographer George Hallett. She is also co-founder of the Cameroonian photography platform YaPhoto and member of the acquisitions committee of FRAC, Fonds Régional d’Art Contemporain, Réunion. She has recently joined the Nouveau Musée National de Monaco’s scientific committee. 


Marcelo Brodsky is an international visual artist  with work focused in visual language, Memory and Human Rights.  His work combines text and images to convey meaning and to build up alternative narratives. His work is part of the collections of  Tate, London, The Metropolitan Museum of Art NY,  the Pinacoteca del Estado, Sao Paulo, the National Museum of Fine Arts, Argentina, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, etc. He has published several books and essays such as Good Memory (1997), Nexo (2001), Visual Correspondences (2009), Tree Time (2014), Once @ 9.53, and he is now publishing 1968: the Fire of ideas. Brodsky is founder of the Parque de la Memoria and a member of its Board.


Artem Loskutov lives and works in Moscow and Novosibirsk. In 2004, he and other members of the group CAT (Contemporary Art Terrorism) organized the May Day happening Monstration in Novosibirsk. In 2007, after the breakup of CAT, he founded the group Kiss my Babushka, of which he was a member until 2014. Since 2012, he has been a member of the working group of the MediaImpact Festival of Activist Art. He has been awarded the Innovation Prize (Russia, 2010). 


Gideon Mendel was one of the young generation of ‘struggle photographers’ documenting change and conflict in South Africa in the lead-up to Nelson Mandela’s release from prison. In 1990 he moved to London, from where he has focussed on social issues globally. He has won six World Press Photo Awards, first prize in the American Pictures of the Year competition, a POY Canon Photo Essayist Award, the Eugene Smith Award for Humanistic Photography and the Amnesty International Media Award for Photojournalism. He has produced a number of pioneering photographic advocacy projects working with charities and campaigning organizations, such as The Global Fund, MSF, Treatment Action Campaign, The International HIV/AIDS Alliance, Action Aid, The Terrene Higgins Trust, Shelter, Leonard Cheshire Disability, UNICEF and Concern International. Since 2007 he has been working on a major project addressing climate change, entitled ‘Drowning World’ which involves travelling to a variety of flood ravaged locations around the world. 


Oliver Ressler is an artist and filmmaker who produces installations, projects in public space, and films on issues such as economics, democracy, global warming, forms of resistance and social alternatives. He has completed thirty films that have been screened in thousands of events of social movements, art institutions and film festivals. A retrospective of his films took place at Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève in 2013. In 2002, he won first prize at the International Media Art Award of the ZKM in Karlsruhe and is the first prize winner of the newly established Prix Thun for Art and Ethics Award in 2016. For the Taipei Biennale 2008, Ressler curated an exhibition on the counter-globalization movement, A World Where Many Worlds Fit. A travelling show on the financial crisis, It’s the Political Economy, Stupid, co-curated with Gregory Sholette, has been presented at nine venues since 2011. Ressler was the project leader of the research project Utopian Pulse – Flares in the Darkroom at Secession in Vienna in 2014, in collaboration with Ines Doujak, funded by the Austrian Science Fund.

15

Au départ des photographies des protestations de 1960 présentées dans l’exposition, les artistes Marcelo Brodksy, Artem Loskutov, Gideon Mendel et Oliver Ressler, la commissaire Christine Eyene et l’historienne de l’art Antigoni Memou discuteront du rôle que la photographie et l’art contemporains peuvent potentiellement jouer dans les luttes politiques actuelles autour du globe.

 

MODÉRATEUR
(Dr) Antigoni Memou (doctorat à l’Institut Courtauld, master à l’université de Southampton) est maître de conférences en théories visuelles à la faculté des arts et industries numériques de l’université de Londres-Est (R.U.). Elle a été publiée dans les revues Third Text, Philosophy of Photography, Epherema et Photographies. Son ouvrage Photography and Social Movements: From the Globalisation of the Movement (1968) to the Movement Against Globalisation (2001) a été publié par Manchester University Press en 2013. 

 

PARTICIPANTS
Christine Eyene est historienne de l’art, critique et commissaire. Invitée pour la deuxième fois à BOZAR dans le cadre du Summer of Photography, Christine est la commissaire de « RESIST! The 1960s protest, photography and visual legacy ». Elle est également chercheuse en art contemporain à l’université du Lancashire central et doctorante au Birbeck College de l’université de Londres, où elle réalise une thèse sur le photographe sud-africain George Hallett. Elle est aussi la cofondatrice de la plateforme camerounaise de photographie YaPhoto et membre du comité d’acquisition du FRAC (Fonds régional d’art contemporain) Réunion. Elle a récemment rejoint le comité scientifique du Nouveau Musée national de Monaco. 


Marcelo Brodsky est un artiste plasticien dont le travail est axé sur le langage visuel, la mémoire et les droits de l'homme. Son travail associe le texte et les images pour faire passer un message et construire des récits alternatifs. Son œuvre figure notamment dans les collections de la galerie Tate à Londres, du Metropolitan Museum of Art à New York, de la Pinacoteca del Estado, à Sao Paulo, du Musée national des beaux-arts d'Argentine, du Musée des beaux-arts de Houston, etc. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs livres et essais, comme Good Memory (1997), Nexo (2001), Visual Correspondences (2009), Tree Time (2014), Once @ 9.53, et publie à présent 1968: the Fire of ideas. Brodsky est le fondateur du Parque de la Memoria, dont il est membre du conseil d’administration.


Artem Loskutov vit et travaille à Moscou et Novosibirsk. Le 1er mai 2004, avec d’autres membres du groupe CAT (Contemporary Art Terrorism), il a organisé le happening Monstration à Novossibirsk. En 2007, après la dissolution du CAT, il a fondé le groupe Kiss my Babushkak, dont il est resté membre jusqu’en 2014. Depuis 2012, il est membre du groupe de travail du festival d’art militant MediaImpact. Il a reçu le prix de l’Innovation (Russie, 2010). 


Gideon Mendel était l’un des « photographes de lutte » de la jeune génération qui ont documenté le changement et le conflit en Afrique du Sud, juste avant la libération de Nelson Mandela. En 1990, il a déménagé à Londres, où il s’est intéressé aux questions sociales à l’échelle mondiale. Il a remporté six prix World Press Photo, le premier prix du concours American Pictures of the Year, le prix POY Canon Photo Essayist, le prix Eugene Smith de la photographie humaniste et le prix Amnesty International du photojournalisme. Il est l’auteur d’une série novatrice de projets photographiques de sensibilisation, réalisés en collaboration avec des organisations telles que le Fonds mondial, MSF, Treatment Action Campaign, l’International HIV/AIDS Alliance, Action Aid, Terrene Higgins Trust, Shelter, Leonard Cheshire Disability, l’UNICEF et Concern International. Depuis 2007, il travaille à un grand projet sur le changement climatique, intitulé « Drowning World », dans le cadre duquel il se rend dans toute une série de régions du monde ravagées par les inondations. 


Oliver Ressler est un artiste et cinéaste qui réalise des installations, des projets dans l'espace public et des films sur des sujets tels que l'économie, la démocratie, le réchauffement climatique, les formes de résistance et les alternatives sociales. Il a réalisé 30 films qui ont été projetés dans des milliers de manifestations organisées par des mouvements sociaux, des institutions artistiques et des festivals de cinéma. Une rétrospective de ses films a eu lieu au Centre d'art contemporain de Genève en 2013. En 2002, il a remporté le premier prix de l’International Media Art Award du ZKM à Karlsruhe et, en 2016, il a été le premier lauréat du nouveau Prix Thun pour l'art et l'éthique. Lors de la Biennale de Taipei 2008, Ressler a été le commissaire d’une exposition sur le mouvement antimondialisation, A World Where Many Worlds Fit. Un spectacle itinérant sur la crise financière, It’s the Political Economy, Stupid, dont il était le commissaire avec Gregory Sholette, a été présenté dans neuf institutions depuis 2011. Ressler a été responsable du projet de recherche Utopian Pulse – Flares in the Darkroom à la Sécession à Vienne en 2014, en collaboration avec Ines Doujak ; ce projeté était financé par le Fonds autrichien pour la science.