15

Tatiana Frolova dramaturgy, director, lighting design, actress – Dmitrii Bocharov actor – Vladimir Dmitriev actor – German Iakovenko actor – Ludmila Smirnova actress – Vladimir Smirnov sound

“I am full of joy but it’s not entirely true. What’s wrong with us?” It’s in these terms – and in French – that Tatiana Frolova begins the show. The director of the KnAM theatre gives us a less than encouraging vision of contemporary Russia, relaying the fears and anguishes of the population that she documented on the basis of testimonies gathered in her hometown of Komsomolsk-on-Amur.

This malaise is put into perspective through a century of Russo-Soviet history since the 1917 Revolution. There is a succession of recorded testimonies and reactions of young actors on stage, painting a picture of disillusioned young people that are incapable of looking to the future. We can understand their confusion, inherited from several generations of women and men who had been reduced to silence, subservient to an ideology which set tens of millions of men on the path of deportation and death.
Don’t miss this moving show in which you can hear the voice of a people, stifled for so long and finally liberated!

Tatiana Frolova founded one of Russia's first independent theatres in her home town of  Komsomolsk-on-Amur (in the Russian Far East) back in 1985: the Théâtre KnAM. It is at this theatre, the abbreviated name of which could be translated as "(come to) our place", that   Tatiana Frolova has been producing her work with very limited resources for the past 30 years. Isolated in a rather hostile environment, it is with impressive energy that she keeps her theatre alive and brings contemporary works to the stage for the local population. In 2003 she was honoured by the President of the Russian Federation for her contribution to the development of contemporary theatre in Russia. In the last decade she has turned to documentary theatre, a theatre based on accounts of everyday life.

16

Tatiana Frolova dramaturgie, mise en scène, éclairages, comédienne – Dmitrii Bocharov comédien – Vladimir Dmitriev comédien – German Iakovenko comédien – Ludmila Smirnova comédienne – Vladimir Smirnov son

« Je suis joyeuse, mais ce n’est pas tout à fait vrai. Qu’est ce qui ne va pas chez nous ? » C’est en ces termes – et en français – que Tatiana Frolova commence le spectacle. La directrice du théâtre KnAM y livre une vision peu réjouissante de la Russie d’aujourd’hui, relayant les craintes et les angoisses de la population, qu’elle a consignées à partir de témoignages recueillis dans sa ville natale, à Kosmomosk-sur-Amour.

Ce malaise est mis en perspective à travers un siècle d’histoire russo-soviétique, depuis la Révolution de 1917. Les témoignages enregistrés et les réactions des jeunes comédiens sur scène se succèdent, peignant le tableau d’une jeunesse qui ne parvient pas à se projeter dans l’avenir. On peut comprendre son désarroi, hérité de plusieurs générations de femmes et d’hommes inféodés à une idéologie ayant conduit des dizaines de millions d’hommes sur le chemin de la déportation et de la mort.
Ne manquez pas ce spectacle bouleversant et venez écouter une parole si longtemps étouffée qui se libère enfin.

Tatiana Frolova a créé en 1985 dans sa ville natale de Komsomolsk-sur-Amour (Extrême-Orient russe) le Théâtre KnAM, un des premiers théâtres indépendants de Russie. C’est dans ce lieu dont l’abréviation pourrait être traduite par ≪(venez) chez nous≫ que Tatiana Frolova fabrique avec très peu de moyens ses spectacles depuis trente ans. Isolée dans une ville plutôt hostile, elle déploie une exceptionnelle énergie pour faire vivre son théâtre et proposer aux habitants des œuvres contemporaines. En 2003, elle reçoit le prix du Président de la Fédération de Russie pour sa contribution au développement du théâtre contemporain en Russie. Depuis une douzaine d’années, elle s’est tournée vers le théâtre documentaire, un théâtre base sur le recueil de témoignages de vie.