24

Moya Michael choreography, set design, video, dance, music, concept, soundscape – Tracey Rose set design, video, collaboration – Mitsuki Matsumoto music, soundscape – Kitty Kortes Lynch dramaturgy – Mandla Mtshali lighting design – Povilas Bastys costumes

Together with visual and performance artist Tracey Rose, Moya Michael will explore the common visual images that reflect their ancestries, their histories and where they are today as women of colour and specifically as descendants of the Khoi people.

In COLOURED SWANS, dancer, performer and choreographer Moya Michael questions how layers of imposed identities change how an artist moves, speaks, sings and what specific spaces their bodies visualise or occupy. Classified as a “Coloured” person in apartheid South Africa, Moya invites artists from a variety of disciplines and backgrounds to join her in this quest. Together they will share their personal stories in order to confront and intertwine the complexity of their experiences into one overall creation. Each encounter leads to a solo created for and with the artist as one of the swans of COLOURED SWANS.

18

Moya Michael chorégraphie, scénographie, vidéo, danse, musique, concept, soundscape – Tracey Rose scénographie, vidéo, collaboration – Mitsuki Matsumoto musique, soundscape – Kitty Kortes Lynch dramaturgie – Mandla Mtshali éclairages – Povilas Bastys costumes

Avec la plasticienne et artiste de la performance Tracey Rose, Moya Michael explore les images habituelles qui reflètent leurs ascendances, leurs histoires et qui les situent aujourd’hui en tant que femmes de couleur et en particulier en tant que descendantes du peuple Khoi.

Dans COLOURED SWANS, la danseuse, performeuse et chorégraphe Moya Michael interroge la façon dont des strates d’identités imposées modifient la manière dont un(e) artiste se déplace, parle, chante et quels espaces spécifiques son corps visualise ou occupe. Classifiée comme « personne de couleur » sous l’apartheid en Afrique du Sud, Moya Michael invite des artistes d’une variété de disciplines et origines à la rejoindre dans cette quête. Ensemble, ils vont partager leurs histoires personnelles afin de confronter et d’entrelacer la complexité de leurs expériences en une création totale. Chaque rencontre aboutit à un solo créé pour et avec l’artiste en question et donne ainsi lieu à l’un des cygnes de COLOURED SWANS.