26

Árpád Schilling director, text – Annamária Láng text – Attila Balázs actor – András Zsolt Bandi actor – Zsolt Csata actor – Ninoslav Đorđević actor – Enikő Éder actor – Andrei Elek actor – Branislav Jerković actor – Sándor Mátrai Lukács actor – Dragana Šuša actress – Andrea Tokai actress – Richárd Vass actor – Carmen Vlaga-Bogdan actress – Bence Bíró dramaturgy – Emőke Kedves translation – Zoltán Molnár translation – Júlia Dobre production – Réka Fekete production – Zoltán Gálovits production – Bojana Kovačević production – Ildikó Ságodi production – Kertész Éva stage manager

Immigrants from different Eastern European countries are locked inside an abandoned building, somewhere in Great Britain. The wait feels interminable but it is particularly well-suited to introspection. “What does it feel like to have left something and got nothing in return?” is what the protagonists seem to be asking.

Divided into seven scenes, the performance cleverly analyses the reactions, customs, innate or acquired behaviour, lack of confidence, fears and dreams of migrants from the Balkans. In this novel experience, the director, Árpád Schilling, a major figure of contemporary theatre, didn’t give the actors a script but asked them to improvise during rehearsals, from scenarios they had been given. The result is incredibly authentic and this is what makes Exit so special. The Hungarian, Romanian and Serbian actors find in their roots and personal identities the raw material that they refine before the audience’s eyes.

Árpád Schilling is one of the most important Hungarian theatre directors. He founded the theatre company Krétakör - The Chalk Circle, with which he performed valuable plays around the world. The young director caused a furore wherever he went. He received several job offers from prominent Hungarian theatres, but preferred to continue paving his own way.

23

Árpád Schilling mise en scène, texte – Annamária Láng texte – Attila Balázs comédien – András Zsolt Bandi comédien – Zsolt Csata comédien – Ninoslav Đorđević comédien – Enikő Éder comédien – Andrei Elek comédien – Branislav Jerković comédien – Sándor Mátrai Lukács comédien – Dragana Šuša comédienne – Andrea Tokai comédienne – Richárd Vass comédien – Carmen Vlaga-Bogdan comédienne – Bence Bíró dramaturgie – Emőke Kedves traduction – Zoltán Molnár traduction – Júlia Dobre production – Réka Fekete production – Zoltán Gálovits production – Bojana Kovačević production – Ildikó Ságodi production – Kertész Éva régie

Des immigrés venus de différents pays d’Europe de l’Est sont enfermés dans un bâtiment abandonné, quelque part en Grande-Bretagne. L’attente leur semble interminable mais elle se prête particulièrement bien à l’introspection. « Quel effet cela fait-il d’avoir quitté quelque chose sans avoir rien en retour ? » semblent se demander les protagonistes.

Découpée en sept scènes, l’œuvre analyse finement les réflexes, les habitudes, les comportements innés ou acquis, le manque de confiance, les peurs et les rêves des migrants originaires des Balkans. Expérience inédite, le metteur en scène, Árpád Schilling, grande figure du théâtre contemporain, n’a pas confié de texte aux comédiens mais leur a demandé d’improviser lors des répétitions, à partir de scènes qui leur étaient données. Il en ressort une authenticité précieuse qui fait la richesse d’Exit, par laquelle les acteurs hongrois, roumains et serbes ont puisé dans leur racines et leurs identités personnelles le matériau brut qu’ils raffinent sous les yeux des spectateurs.

Árpád Schilling est l'un des principaux metteurs en scène hongrois. Il est le fondateur de la compagnie de théâtre Krétakor – The Chalk Circle, avec laquelle il a présenté d'excellentes pièces à travers le monde. Le jeune metteur en scène fait fureur où qu'il aille. Malgré de nombreuses propositions de théâtres hongrois de renom, il a choisi de continuer à tracer sa propre route.