13

Kamal Hashemi director – Jamal Hashemi text – Shiva Falahi actress – Sara Sajadi actress – Mohammad Khaksari director, direction assistance – Amin Reza Bagheri video director, light desing – Ankido Darash sound designer, sound engineer – Atoosa Ghalamfarsaie costumes

At the end of the Iran-Iraq war, Yalda, a 33 year old filmmaker rediscovers, following a long absence, the house she inherited from her family. She imagines scenes from a film that she shot there before the war. Looking back over her life, she continues to film this biopic in her home and includes Mona in it. Mona left her hometown when the conflict broke out, and rents a room in Yalda’s house. As time passes, the house goes to rack and ruin and the two women wonder whether it really makes sense to want to stay there. Mona decides to move out but Yalda refuses through a desire to hang onto childhood memories that are indissociably linked to the place. The house ends up collapsing, bringing with it the death of Yalda.

Mixing images and stage business, this poignant work is a profound reflection on the meaning of life and the rediscovery of oneself through the other and the place.

Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi (°1976) grew up in Chiraz, Iran. He is an author, actor, filmmaker and theatre director. In 1995 he joined the Mehr Theatre Group. In 2006 he wrote the play It’s a good day to die, about the Iran-Iraq war, but the play was censored. The earthquake in Bam inspired him to write Half-Open Doors. On Which Wind Will You Ride had its premiere in Fribourg in 2015 and has been performed in BOZAR in 2017.

13

Kamal Hashemi mise en scène – Jamal Hashemi texte – Shiva Falahi comédienne – Sara Sajadi comédienne – Mohammad Khaksari régie générale, assistance mise en scène – Amin Reza Bagheri direction vidéo, création lumières – Ankido Darash créateur son, régie son – Atoosa Ghalamfarsaie costumes

Au terme de la guerre Iran-Irak, Yalda, une cinéaste de 33 ans, redécouvre après une longue absence la maison qu’elle a héritée de sa famille. Elle imagine les scènes d’un film qu’elle y a tourné avant la guerre. Se remémorant sa vie, elle poursuit le tournage de ce film biographique dans sa maison et y intègre Mona. Cette dernière a quitté sa ville natale au moment où le conflit a éclaté, et loue une chambre dans la maison de Yalda. Le temps passant, de graves signes d’usure de la maison poussent les deux femmes à se demander s’il est bien raisonnable de vouloir y demeurer. Mona décide de déménager mais Yalda s’y refuse car elle veut conserver les souvenirs de son enfance, indissociablement liés au lieu. La maison finit par s’effondrer, entraînant avec elle la mort de Yalda.

Mélangeant images projetées et jeu de scène, cette œuvre poignante est une réflexion profonde sur le sens de la vie et la redécouverte de soi à travers l’autre.

Seyed Kamaleddin Hashemi (°1976) a grandi à Chiraz, en Iran. Il est auteur, comédien, réalisateur et metteur en scène. Il a rejoint le Mehr Theatre Group en 1995. En 2006, il écrit la pièce It’s a good day to die, à propos de la guerre Iran-Irak, mais elle a été censurée. Le tremblement de terre à Bam lui inspire la pièce Half-Open Doors. La première de On Which Wind Will You Ride a lieu à Fribourg en 2015. La pièce sera ensuite jouée à BOZAR en 2017.