12

Pierre Muylle concept, performer

In 2017, Belgian curator and artist Pierre Muylle presented objects he had brought back from Hebron during his Co-laBo residence at ‘les ballets C de la B’. He chose objects, stories and experiences which he packed away and stacked in boxes. During the performance, the objects were revealed one by one, exposing themselves at their own pace and revealing their stories.
Zaher is the name of the popular game of backgammon or ‘trictrac’. Since the days of the Ottoman Empire, people have used the pretty old boxes to play in the streets and cafes of the Middle East, and to meet up and spend time together. For Pierre as well, Zaher was a good reason to meet people and hear their stories.
Having toured with this collection through Flanders and Palestine, the first part of Zaher has been told and the objects are back with their owners. Pierre Muylle has been working on a second show. Starting off from the same principles, he tried to fathom Hebron. The forming of the second Zaher was dependent on the objects, the people and the stories he encountered there. Now, Zaher goes on tour, arriving ultimately in the countries they came from, where the stories will be told to the people who told them or experienced them originally.

26

Pierre Muylle concept, interprète

En 2017, le commissaire et artiste belge Pierre Muylle a créé une performance faite d’objets ramenés de Hébron lors de sa résidence aux ballets C de la B.  Il a choisi des objets, des récits et des témoignages qu’il a ensuite emballés et emportés dans des boîtes. Pendant la représentation, ces objets ont été déballés un à un. Ils se sont exposés à leur propre rythme et ont dévoilé leur histoire.
Zaher est le nom arabe d’un jeu populaire, le « backgammon » ou tric-trac. Depuis l’Empire ottoman, les habitants du Moyen-Orient y jouent dans les rues et les cafés, avec ces superbes anciennes boîtes, histoire aussi de se retrouver et de passer du temps ensemble. Pour Pierre Muylle également, le zaher a été un excellent prétexte pour aller à la rencontre des habitants et entendre leurs histoires. 
Zaher I, qui a été présenté en Flandre et en Palestine, est à présent terminé et les objets ont été restitués à leurs propriétaires. Pierre Muylle s’est ensuite attellé à présent à une deuxième performance. En prenant comme point de départ ces mêmes principes, il s’est rendu à Hébron pour dénicher des objets, rencontrer des gens et recueillir des histoires qui ont donné forme au deuxième volet de son projet. Maintenant Pierre Muylle part en tournée avec Zaher II, une tournée qui s’achèvera là où les récits ont été racontés et où les gens les ont racontés ou vécus.