20

Eric Delson conductor – Brussels Choral SocietyPhilharmonischer Chor der Stadt BonnEnsemble Orchestral de BruxellesAgnes Selma Weiland soprano – Eve-Maud Hubeaux mezzo-soprano – Raimund Nolte bass – Alex Kim tenor

The Brussels Choral Society joins forces with the Philharmonischer Chor Bonn and the Ensemble Orchestral de Bruxelles under the direction of Eric Delson to present one of the greatest choral favourites of all time. A not-to-be-missed 90 minutes!

Written to mark the death of Alessandro Manzoni, a romantic author and prophet of Italian unification, the Requiem is often regarded as one of Verdi’s finest ‘operas'.

In each section, contrasts of mood, orchestral and vocal textures, dynamics and instrumentation characterise Verdi’s theatrical approach to the liturgical text. The conclusion of the work is not the comforting and ethereal Requiem, but a disconcerting Libera me in which the solo soprano urgently begs forgiveness against the background of a nagging chorus recalling God’s vengeance against sinners, her anguish soaring to a high C before disappearing into eternal silence.

20

Eric Delson direction – Brussels Choral SocietyPhilharmonischer Chor der Stadt BonnEnsemble Orchestral de BruxellesAgnes Selma Weiland soprano – Eve-Maud Hubeaux mezzo-soprano – Enrico Casari ténor – Raimund Nolte basse

La Brussels Choral Society, le Philharmonischer Chor Bonn et l’Ensemble Orchestral de Bruxelles uniront leurs forces sous la direction d’Eric Delson pour présenter l’un des plus grands chefs-d’œuvre de la musique chorale de tous les temps. 90 minutes à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte !

Composé à la mémoire de l’écrivain romantique et prophète de l’unification italienne Alessandro Manzoni, le Requiem est souvent considéré comme l’un des meilleurs ‘opéras’ de Verdi.

Dans chaque section du Requiem, les atmosphères contrastées, les textures orchestrales et vocales, les nuances et l’instrumentation caractérisent l’approche théâtrale de Verdi du texte liturgique. La conclusion de l'œuvre n'est pas le réconfortant et éthéré Requiem, mais un Libera me déconcertant dans lequel la soprano implore instamment le pardon avec à l’arrière-plan un chœur lancinant rappelant la vengeance de Dieu contre les pécheurs : son angoisse s’élève jusqu’à un contre ut avant de disparaître dans un silence éternel.