12

The conference by Georges Descombes represents the key to the second edition of the Brussels Urban Landscape Biennial (BULB). The opportunity to promote a unique landscape and territorial operational culture and methodology, which questions the morphological memory of a fragment of territory, the meaning of a place and finally, the use of water, as an allusion to a mechanism from the past.

In many of his projects, Georges Descombes reinvents the meaning of the place by describing what no longer exists. It is by way of ‘topographical sensitivity’ that his landscape projects seek to translate the feeling of loss and disappearance with as much impact as possible. The surface of the land, where you can see the history of its transformation, is both the map and the archives.
With the definitive rejection of the classic metaphor of theatre applied to the landscape, the search for a fresh, livelier way of defining the landscape began.

Georges Descombes lives and works in Geneva. After completing his studies in Geneva, Zurich and London at the Architectural Association Graduate School, he taught at the Architecture Institute of the University of Geneva – where he cofounded the landscaped architecture programme – and at the Berlage Institute in Amsterdam. Visiting professor at the Harvard Graduate School of Design and at the University of Virginia, Georges Descombes is a respected lecturer in Europe and the United States.

His main achievements include the Parc de Lancy, the Geneva section of the Swiss Path, the Bijlmer Memorial in Amsterdam, the Parc de la cour du Maroc in Paris, the Parc de la Confluence and the Jardins de la Saône in Lyon, not to mention the planning and revitalisation of the River Aire in Geneva. His ongoing projects include the Quai des Matériaux in Brussels and the Jardins Dok Zuid in Antwerp.

20

La conférence de Georges Descombes représente la clé d’entrée de la seconde édition de la Brussels Urban Landscape Biennial (BULB). L’occasion de mettre en avant une culture et une méthodologie opérationnelle paysagère et territoriale singulières, questionnant notamment la mémoire morphologique d’un fragment de territoire, le sens d’un lieu et enfin, l’usage de l’eau, comme allusion à un dispositif passé.

Dans bon nombre de ses projets, Georges Descombes réinvente le sens du lieu en décrivant ce qui est présent et ce qui n’est plus. C’est par le biais d’une « sensibilité topographique » que ses projets paysagers cherchent à traduire avec le plus de force le sentiment de perte et de disparition. La surface du terrain, où s’inscrit l’histoire de sa transformation, tient lieu de carte et d’archives.
Avec le rejet définitif de la métaphore classique du théâtre appliquée au paysage, a débuté la recherche d’une manière nouvelle et plus vivante de définir le paysage.

Georges Descombes vit et travaille à Genève. Après des études à Genève, Zurich et Londres à l’Architectural Association Graduate School, il a enseigné à l’Institut d’architecture de l’Université de Genève – dont il a cofondé le programme d’enseignement du paysage – et à l’Institut Berlage à Amsterdam. Professeur invité à la Graduate School of Design de Harvard et à l’Université de Virginie, Georges Descombes est un conférencier reconnu tant en Europe qu’aux Etats-Unis.

Ses principales réalisations comprennent le Parc de Lancy, l’itinéraire genevois de la Voie suisse, le Bijlmer Memorial à Amsterdam, le Parc de la cour du Maroc à Paris, le Parc de la Confluence et les Jardins de Saône à Lyon, ou encore l’aménagement et la revitalisation de l’Aire à Genève. Parmi ses projets en cours, on compte le quai des Matériaux à Bruxelles et les Jardins