19

What happens when you gather young people, politicians and artists and ask them to spend one year reflecting on the future of our society? Fireworks of course!
During the third edition of ‘Next Generation, Please!’, hundreds of young adults in Belgian schools and youth associations collaborate with young people from France, Serbia, England, Greece, Ireland and Denmark, focusing on the themes of freedom, citizenship, revolution, identity and democracy. They each do this in their own way, with performances, installations, compositions, audio stories and sharply-edited video content. At the end of the school year the end result is shown in a pop-up exhibition in the Centre for Fine Arts, where you can also attend talks, performances and debates as part of the Next Generation, Please! interactive exhibition. Browse the selected projects for this 2018-2019 edition here.

SELECTED PROJECTS

Atheneum Brussel

The fifth year of general secondary education of Atheneum Brussel sees the bigger picture! Together with the artist Dirk Hendrikx, the philosophers Steven Raemen and Gideon Hakker and the journalist Lode Delputte, they spent a whole year working around freedom. How can we define freedom? How free are we really? What does freedom of speech mean?

Destelheide & Hanenbos

The choreographer and dancer Yentl de Werd delves deeper into the theme of ‘gender equality’ with twenty pupils from COOVI Anderlecht. Real equality between men and women remains no more than an ideal in Europe. How can we break through damaging stereotypes? The philosopher Jan Knops oversaw the thought processes and discussions. The pupils extend their reflection to other regions in Europe by working with organisations in Serbia, France and Greece.

École Mondiale

The École Mondiale develops an alternative model for the city of Brussels while walking through the Senne Valley. The specific hydrographical structure of Brussels, with its eight small river valleys, serves as the cornerstone of a model for the future in which the landscape plays a key role in the city’s governance. Students from Sint-Lukas Kunsthumaniora, Sint-Lukas Brussels and ERG set out on a walk together with the artist Filip Van Dingenen. The international partners are the Schumacher College in Devon, the Edinburgh College of Art and Askeaton Contemporary Arts in Ireland.

Emotional Europe

Emotional Europe sheds new light on the power of citizen participation and engagement in today’s fragmented Europe. What does it mean to be a European citizen? Which values do we endorse? The Romanian choreographer Cosmin Manolescu examines contemporary problems starting from the ‘emotional body’, searching for a common language together with Belgian and Romanian youngsters in the context of the Romanian Presidency of the Council of European Union.

Institut Communal Technique Frans Fischer

The youngsters of the Institut Communal Technique Frans Fischer in Schaerbeek test the boundaries between reality and memory, between a location and past events there. They recreate the journeys of migrants and the places they visited en route using 3D printers, photographs and sounds. Their international partner is very familiar with this issue: the G. La Pira school in Pozzallo, Sicily, also opens its doors to young immigrants.

IStudio/IS asbl

IStudio and IS-vzw use the slogans of May ’68 as a starting point to break up abstract themes into digestible fragments, together with the youngsters of the not-for-profit association Calame in Saint-Josse-Ten-Node. The participants and the artists Safa-Eddine Taghian, Nikoo Nateghian and Olivier De Roeck will get inspired by their exchange with the French Le Fresnoy school to create an installation that combines sound and images with music.

Muziekforum

The students of the Royal Conservatoire in Antwerp will be spending a whole year exchanging interesting ideas with the students of the Danish Høy Design College and members of the Alexandra Gadzina Band, Katharina Smets and Mauro Pawlowski. Together they experiment with new formats, developing moving audio stories that paint a bigger picture of various European themes. They search for real stories behind the processes (e.g. migration, stereotypes…) and values (civic responsibility, social justice).

Thomas More Kempen

What is the perfect teacher like? How does today’s European society define and shape a teacher’s identity? Twenty students who are training to become nursery, primary and secondary school teachers examine how context and society shape a teacher’s identity, together with artists and politicians. How does a teacher approach such topics as global citizenship and culture? How does the teacher, who must guide children and young people, with an open mind, in a world that is evolving at breakneck pace, go about this?

European Activism Incubator, Zinemma, Margins

Social media is now omnipresent: there's no shortage of YouTube and Instagram influencers. But how are women represented online? Is there a sufficient number of female personalities who share their opinion on social issues? Zinnema, European Activism Incubator and Margins join forces for this project to develop and promote a positive image of girls and women, with videos and photos, in collaboration with a group of young girls.

Philocité & École Supérieure des Arts de la Ville de Liège, Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts de Liège, La Baraka

Philocité developed three projects in Liège for Next Generation, Please!: 
- Sofie Vangor and the students of L'École Supérieure des Arts de la Ville de Liège use tattoo art as a starting point to delve deeper into revolution, protest and the relationship between the body and image. The philosopher Jessica Borroto supervises the thought process, including a discussion about tattoo with art historian Alix Nissen.
- The youngsters of the ‘La Baraka’ youth centre examine how they can use 'krumping', a dance style, to defend their rights. The choreographer and krumper Hendrick Ntela supported by the film maker Catherine Lévêque and the krumper Patribe Kanyinda help them develop a multidisciplinary project, focusing on the body and revolution.
- Diversity and unity is the theme chosen by the students of the Haute École Libre Mosane (HELMO). Together with the engineer-architect Veronica Cremasco they redefine the role of the social-cultural worker.  

Digital Natives

Digital Natives is built around an artistic reflection on the accessibility of technology and the representation of minorities and women, both historically and today online, explored through the prism of multiculturalism and cultural heritage. This project adds a unique dimension to the Next Generation, Please! adventure. BOZAR, in partnership with Soul of Nations in Washington, D.C., Native American artist mentors and the Brussels based Belgo-Italian artist Sophie Saporosi, have assembled a group of young Belgians with a diversity of migrant backgrounds to partner with a group of young Native Americans. These youth will have the opportunity to exchange their ideas, energy and debate the challenges they face, both online and during two residencies in the United States (November 2018) and Belgium (May 2019).

Did you know?

  • © Caroline Lessire

    Design the campaign image of Next Generation, Please!, an exhibition by and for young people at BOZAR

    Surprise us with an inspiring image that catches the eye, and reflects a rebellious, engaged youthful nature. The first 10 selected projects will be part of an exhibition at BOZAR, among other prices to take away. You(th) can do it!

    read more
    — published on
  • Our Digital Natives Are Back!

    Back from where? From across the ocean, where they teamed up with their American counterparts to learn, laugh, and create some art – which you will get to see at BOZAR in May. But here’s a sneak preview!

    — published on

Ongoing and forthcoming

Previously

21

Rassemblez des jeunes, des politiciens et des artistes et invitez-les à travailler sur les questions de l'avenir de nos sociétés européennes pendant un an. Résultat ? Des étincelles ! 
Au cours de la troisième édition de « Next Generation, Please! », des centaines de jeunes des écoles et associations de jeunesse belges collaborent avec des jeunes Français, Serbes, Anglais, Grecs, Irlandais et Danois sur des thèmes tels que la liberté, la citoyenneté, la révolution, l’identité et la démocratie. Chacun les aborde à sa façon : performances, installations, compositions, histoires audio, montages vidéo impressionnants. À la fin de l’année scolaire, le résultat final est présenté lors d’une exposition pop-up au Palais des Beaux-Arts. À celle-ci viennent se greffer des conférences, des performances et des débats qui forment le cœur de l'exposition interactive « Next Generation, Please! ». Découvrez ici les projets sélectionnés pour cette saison 2018-2019.
 

PROJETS SÉLECTIONNÉS

Atheneum Brussel 

Les élèves de cinquième secondaire générale de l’Atheneum Brussel voient les choses en grand ! Avec l’artiste Dirk Hendrikx, les philosophes Steven Raemen et Gideon Hakker ainsi que le journaliste Lode Delputte se penchent sur le thème de la liberté : comment la définir ? À quel point sommes-nous libres ? Que signifie le concept de liberté d’expression ?

Destelheide & Hanenbos

Avec vingt élèves du COOVI Anderlecht, la chorégraphe et danseuse Yentl de Werdt plonge dans le thème de l’égalité des genres. La vraie égalité entre hommes et femmes reste encore un idéal à atteindre en Europe. Comment pouvons-nous nous débarrasser des stéréotypes nuisibles ? Le philosophe Jan Knops accompagne les réflexions et les dialogues. Grâce à des collaborations avec des organisations serbes, françaises et grecques, les élèves élargissent leur pensée à d’autres régions de l’Europe.

École Mondiale

L’École Mondiale développe, au fur et à mesure de ses promenades dans la vallée de la Senne, un modèle politique alternatif pour la ville de Bruxelles. La structure hydrographique spécifique de Bruxelles, avec ses huit vallées de ruisseaux, forme la base d’un modèle d’avenir où le paysage joue un rôle central dans l’administration de la ville. Quinze étudiants de Sint-Lukas Brussels, de Sint-Lukas Kunsthumaniora et de l’ERG se lancent dans l’aventure avec l’artiste Filip Van Dingenen. Les partenaires internationaux sont le Schumacher College dans le Devon, l’Edinburgh College of Art et l’Askeaton Contemporary Arts en Irlande. 

Emotional Europe

Emotional Europe jette un nouveau regard sur le pouvoir de la participation citoyenne et l’engagement dans l’Europe fragmentée d’aujourd’hui. Que cela signifie-t-il d’être un citoyen européen ? Quelles valeurs défendons-nous ? Le chorégraphe roumain Cosmin Manolescu observe, depuis le « corps émotif », des problèmes actuels et part à la recherche d’un langage commun avec des jeunes belges et roumains dans le cadre de la Présidence roumaine du Conseil de l'Union européenne.

Institut Communal Technique Frans Fischer

Les jeunes de l’Institut Communal Technique Frans Fischer à Schaarbeek explorent les frontières entre la réalité et le souvenir, entre un lieu et ce qui s’y est déroulé autrefois. À l’aide d’imprimantes 3D, de photographies et de sons, ils recréent les trajets que les migrants ont effectués et les lieux qu’ils ont visités au fil de leur parcours. Le partenaire international est un spécialiste en la matière : l’école G. La Pira à Pozzalo en Sicile accueille des immigrés mineurs.

IStudio/IS asbl

Accompagnés par les jeunes de l’asbl Calame de Saint-Josse-Ten-Noode, l’IStudio et l’asbl IS prennent pour point de départ les slogans de mai 68 pour réduire des thèmes abstraits en segments faciles à assimiler. Les participants et les artistes Safa-Eddine Taghian, Nikoo Nateghian et Olivier De Roeck s’inspirent de l’échange avec l’école française Le Fresnoy pour réaliser une installation qui mêle son, image et musique.

Muziekforum

Pendant une année, les étudiants du Conservatoire royal d’Anvers échangent des idées sonores avec des étudiants du Høy Design College danois, les membres du groupe de pop Alexandra Gadzina Band, Katharina Smets et Mauro Pawlowski. Ensemble, ils expérimentent avec de nouveaux formats et développent des histoires audio touchantes qui vont au-delà des visions européennes rouillées. Ils se mettent à la recherche de nouvelles histoires derrières les processus (comme la migration ou les stéréotypes) et les valeurs (responsabilité civique et justice sociale).

Thomas More Kempen

À quoi ressemble le professeur idéal ? Comment la société européenne actuelle détermine-t-elle l’identité du professeur ? Vingt étudiants de l’enseignement maternel, primaire et secondaire se penchent, avec des artistes et des politiciens, sur le rôle déterminant joué par le contexte et la société sur l’identité du professeur. Comment ce professeur, qui doit mener les enfants et les jeunes à ouvrir leur vision dans un monde en évolution ultrarapide, aborde-t-il des thèmes tels que la citoyenneté mondiale et la culture ? 

European Activism Incubator, Zinemma, Margins

Les médiaux sociaux sont partout : on ne manque pas de YouTubers ou d’Instagrammers influents. Mais comment les femmes sont-elles représentées en ligne ? Y a-t-il assez de personnalités féminines qui s’expriment sur les questions sociales ? Ce projet, qui vise à susciter une image positive à l’aide de vidéos et de photos, est une collaboration entre Zinnema, Margins, European Activism Incubator et un groupe de jeunes filles.

Philocité & École Supérieure des Arts de la Ville de Liège, Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts de Liège, La Baraka

Pour « Next Generation, Please! », Philocité a conçu deux parcours à Liège : 
- Grâce à l’art du tatouage, Sofie Vangor et les étudiants de l’École Supérieure des Arts de la Ville de Liège s’intéressent à la révolution, à la contestation et à la relation entre l’image et le corps. La doctorante en philosophie Jessica Borroto encadre les discussions et les réflexions, dont une discussion sur le tatouage avec l'historienne de l'art Alix Nissen.
- Les jeunes du centre de jeunes « La Baraka » réfléchissent à la manière dont ils peuvent défendre leurs droits grâce au « krump », un style de danse. La chorégraphe et krumpeuse Hendrick Ntela soutenue par la réalisatrice Catherine Lévêque et le krumper Patribe Kanyinda les aident à mettre sur pied un projet multidisciplinaire axé sur le corps et à la révolution.

Digital natives

Digital Natives s’articule autour d’une réflexion artistique sur l’accessibilité des technologies et la représentation des minorités et des femmes, d’un point de vue historique et actuel en ligne. Ce projet ajoute une dimension unique à l’aventure « Next Generation, Please! ». BOZAR, en partenariat avec Soul of Nations à Washington D.C., des mentors d’artistes amérindiens et l’artiste belgo-italienne Sophie Saporosi, ont réuni un groupe de jeunes Belges de différentes origines afin de collaborer avec un groupe de jeunes Amérindiens. Ensemble, ils explorent l’intersectionnalité de leurs identités via les diverses couches qui composent leur patrimoine culturel. Ves jeunes pourront échanger leurs idées, partager leur énergie et débattre des défis auxquels ils sont confrontés, en ligne et lors de deux résidences aux États-Unis (novembre 2018) et en Belgique (mai 2019).

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Colloque : « Les places et les effets de l’artiste à l’école et sur les institutions culturelles »

    A l’occasion de la sortie de Outside/inside : Practices Between Art and Education, un livre collectif écrit par BOZAR, l’Institut Sainte Marie, le lycée Rodin, le Centre Pompidou et la fondation Pistoletto.

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • © Caroline Lessire

    Concevez l'image de campagne de Next Generation, Please! Une exposition par et pour les jeunes à BOZAR

    Surprenez-nous avec une image inspirante qui attire l’œil, à l’image d’une jeune génération décalée et engagée. Les 10 premiers projets sélectionnés seront au cœur d’une exposition à BOZAR, parmi d’autres prix à emporter. You(th) can do it!

    lire la suite
    — publié le
  • Nos Digital Natives sont de retour

    Mais d’où reviennent-ils ? Des États-Unis, où ils ont retrouvé leurs homologues américains pour apprendre, rire et créer... Vous pourrez découvrir le résultat de ce voyage à BOZAR au mois de mai prochain, mais nous vous en donnons déjà un petit aperçu ici !

    — publié le

En cours et à venir

Précédemment