28

Zadie Smith described the novels of Jean-Philippe Toussaint as “the reason why it is worth continuing to read fiction". Words that say a great deal about the reputation of this Belgian writer who is read and acclaimed all over the world.

On 23 October BOZAR is inviting him to give a talk with French screenwriter and filmmaker Benoît Peeters. Together they will be discussing Asia, a continent that has played a major role in Toussaint's work since his 2002 novel Faire l’amour [Making Love]. His latest novel has the evocative title Made in China (2017) which is where most of the action takes place.

His books have been translated into over 20 languages and have won the Prix Médicis (2005) and the Prix Décembre (2009). Toussaint is also a filmmaker and photographer whose work has been exhibited in Brussels, Paris and Japan.

04

Zadie Smith a déclaré que les romans de Jean-Philippe Toussaint étaient « la raison pour laquelle cela vaut toujours la peine de lire de la fiction ». Cela en dit long sur la réputation de l’auteur belge, lu et apprécié partout dans le monde.

Le 23 octobre, il sera l’invité de BOZAR pour un dialogue avec l’écrivain et scénariste français Benoît Peeters. Ensemble, ils parleront de l’Asie, un continent qui joue un rôle clé dans l’œuvre de Toussaint depuis son roman Faire l’amour, paru en 2002. Son dernier ouvrage porte le titre évocateur de Made in China (2017) et se déroule en grande partie dans ce pays.

Les livres de Toussaint sont traduits dans une vingtaine de langues et ont déjà été récompensés par le Prix Médicis (2005) et le Prix Décembre (2009). En plus de l’écriture, il se consacre aussi au cinéma et à la photographie, et a déjà exposé à Bruxelles, à Paris et au Japon.