15

In the presence of Bo Wang (director).

China Concerto is an observational essay about images, representations and performances in China's contemporary spectacles, shot mostly in Chongqing during the peak of Bo Xilai's red campaign in 2010 and 2011, which later ended as China's biggest political scandal after 1989. Concealed beneath the veneer of capitalism, aspects of communist totalitarianism persist today, both in Chinese economy and ideology. The film takes the Markerian form of fictional letters read by a female voice over, in which a man describes what he saw during a trip to China. 

Bo Wang (1982) is a Chinese born artist residing in the US. Next to China Concerto (2012), he directed The Wangs (2016), Traces of an Invisible City: Three Notes on Hong Kong (2016) and Miasma, Plants, Export Paintings (2017). His work has been shown most notably at the MoMA and the Guggenheim Museum (New York), at the CPH:DOX Festival (Copenhagen, Denmark) as well as at the Shanghai Biennale.

In the context of this screening, Bo Wang decided to combine China Concerto together with Chris Marker's Sunday in Peking (1956). "Marker's 1950s fascination with China echoes with my starting point for China Concerto, which started with a close analysis on Michelangelo Antonioni's China (1972), one of the few western films made on China during its close-door decades, along with Marker's Sunday in Peking." (Bo Wang)

26

En présence de Bo Wang (réalisateur).

China Concerto est un essai d'observation dédié aux images, représentations et performances dans les spectacles chinois contemporains. Le film a principalement été tourné à Chongqing, au plus fort de la campagne de propagande néo-maoïste de Bo Xilai, en 2010 et 2011, qui s'est ensuite soldée par le plus grand scandale politique de la Chine d'après 1989. Cachés sous l'apparence du capitalisme, des aspects du totalitarisme communiste persistent, tant dans l'économie que dans l'idéologie chinoises. Le film prend la forme markerienne de lettres fictives, lues par une voix féminine, dans lesquelles un homme décrit ce qu'il a vu lors d'un voyage en Chine.

Bo Wang (1982) est un artiste chinois résidant aux États-Unis. Outre China Concerto (2012), il a réalisé The Wangs (2016), Traces of an Invisible City: Three Notes on Hong Kong (2016) et Miasma, Plants, Export Paintings (2017). Son travail a notamment été présenté au MoMA et au Guggenheim Museum (New York), au festival CPH:DOX (Copenhague, Danemark) ainsi qu'à la Biennale de Shanghai.

Pour cette projection, Bo Wang a décidé de combiner China Concerto avec Dimanche à Pékin (1956) de Chris Marker. "La fascination de Marker pour la Chine des années 1950 fait écho à mon point de départ pour China Concerto, qui a débuté par une analyse approfondie de Chung Kuo, la Chine de Michelangelo Antonioni (1972), l'un des rares films occidentaux sur la Chine tournés au cours de ses décennies de fermeture, avec Dimanche à Pékin de Marker." (Bo Wang)