20

In the annual MOUSSEM CITIES festival, Moussem Nomadic Arts Centre and its partners focus on a metropolis from the MENA region. Following a focus on Tunis, Beirut and Casablanca, the 2019 festival will be taking Damascus as its starting point.

It goes without saying that this requires a different approach and contextualisation. Damascus and Syria, a city and a country that have been at war for almost eight years, with a totally dislocated society and millions of people displaced. Damascus, a city with a social fabric that has been brutally torn apart and a shattered artistic scene. A city from which numerous artists have fled or have been forced to flee. A city with a hugely rich and culturally diverse history whose artistic dynamism until recently played a leading role in the region.

Moussem Cities will not attempt to normalise Damascus, but will look at the geographical place with its complex current events from a different angle. In this edition of the multidisciplinary festival, we will be looking even more explicitly from the artist’s perspective. With performances, concerts, exhibitions, lectures and discussions, we will be presenting work from a scattered artistic scene.

Previously

17

Avec le festival annuel MOUSSEM CITIES, le Centre Nomade des Arts Moussem et ses partenaires tournent leur regard vers une métropole du MENA (Moyen-Orient et Afrique du Nord). Après les éditions autour de Tunis, Beyrouth et Casablanca, le festival choisit cette année Damas comme point de mire.

Il va de soi que cette edition requiert une approche et une contextualisation différentes : Damas et la Syrie, une ville et un pays en guerre depuis près de huit ans, une société disloquée et des millions de personnes déplacées. Damas, une ville au tissu social cruellement mis en lambeaux et à la scène artistique qui a volé en éclats. Une ville dont d’innombrables artistes ont été contraints de partir et où d’autres ont choisi de rester. Une ville d’une formidable richesse et diversité historique et culturelle, dont la dynamique artistique a joué un rôle majeur dans la région jusqu’à il y a peu.

Moussem Cities ne va pas tenter de normaliser Damas, mais d’observer son actualité complexe à partir d’une autre perspective. Cette edition du festival multidisciplinaire envisage encore plus explicitement les choses à travers le prisme de l’artiste. Par le biais de spectacles, de concerts, d’expositions, de conférences et de discussions, nous présentons le travail d’une scène artistique disséminée.

En cours et à venir

Précédemment