22

BOZAR and its partners are kicking off Bruegel Year at the Centre for Fine Arts with this festive Family Day. Move from workshop to workshop with your children or grandchildren, explore what our partner organisations have to offer and discover fascinating customs, dances, interiors and works of art from the age of Bruegel.  Our guides will regale you with fascinating tales as you go round the Bernard van Orley and Prints in the Age of Bruegel exhibitions and we are even opening up the underground entrance to the Coudenberg Palace so that you can go hunting for chests!


IN THE EXHIBITIONS (10.00 > 13.00 - 14.00 > 17.00)

Go back in time with your children and discover the world of Bruegel during our Family Day. Our guides are on hand with some fascinating tales as you make your way around our Bernard van Orley and Prints in the Age of Bruegel exhibitions.

WORKSHOPS IN THE HORTA HALL (10.00 > 17.00)

1, 2, 3, 4, paper hat
Bokrijk
People in the 16th century often wore some kind of headgear, usually made of leather or fabric. At our workshop your children get to make their own incredible (paper) hats using all manner of paper and patterns. They can also dive into a 'virtual hat' and look for lost items from a Bruegel painting!

Dancing and playing with Bruegel
Gaasbeek Castle
Dance to courtly music like a real princess or knight, pick a game from Bruegel's 'Children's Games' and dress up like a character from the Middle Ages!  This workshop gives you a flavour of the activities that Gaasbeek Castle organises every week for families and children.   

Print your own monster!
Royal Library of Belgium
Choose your favourite Bruegel monster and get to work with the ink roller! At this workshop you will find out how to make your own print. 

Cities of Babylon
Dilbeek and WAUW (Workshops d'Architectu(u)r(e) & Urbanisme Workshops)
Discover the visionary city with the aid of the Tower of Babel as you and the other children build magnificent tower houses with hanging gardens; tools and 3D collages included. At the end of the day all these models will be brought together to form an incredible sculpture of a high rise town.  

‘Make a Bruegel friction drum!’                                           ‘Singing with a friction drum!’
The Halle Gate
Yes, a friction drum! An old folk instrument that makes a froop froop froop sound! It was used to make music at carnivals and fairs. So get cracking and before you know it you’ll have an instrument that has been entirely made and decorated by you. Bruegel's paintings will help you get started.  Singing a song and accompanying yourself on a friction drum is quite an art, but with perseverance and a little help you will get there!  

IN THE COUDENBERG PALACE (10.00 > 17.00)

Set off in search of the WOW chests at the Coudenberg Palace! Find the underground entrance that will take you to the chests. Each of them contains a challenge to make with your family or your friends. These games will allow you to discover the former palace of Charles V, its construction, its history, the job of archaeologist and more… in a fun way!

Did you know?

  • Family Day - in the age of Bruegel

    On Sunday 31 March you and your family and friends will be plunged into the 16th century, the age of Bruegel. There’s plenty to see and visit and an awful lot to do. Here are 5 fun workshops and special activities which will be running non-stop between 10am and 5pm during our Family Day:

    — published on

21

Lors du Family Day, la fête des familles, BOZAR et ses partenaires donnent le coup d'envoi de l’année Bruegel au Palais des Beaux-Arts. Avec vos enfants ou petits-enfants, faites une halte aux différents ateliers, renseignez-vous sur l'offre des organisations partenaires et découvrez les coutumes, les danses et les œuvres fascinantes de l’époque du maître. Partez à la découverte des expositions Bernard van Orley et L’estampe au temps de Bruegel avec des guides qui vous racontent des histoires étonnantes. Pour l’occasion, BOZAR et le Coudenberg ouvrent exceptionnellement aux visiteurs le passage entre les deux institutions menant au Palais de Charles Quint. Vous allez a-do-rer !


DANS L’EXPOSITION (10.00 > 13.00 - 14.00 > 17.00)

Avec les enfants, plongez-vous dans le passé et découvrez l’univers de Bruegel lors de notre Family Day. En marge de nos expositions autour de Bernard van Orley et de l’estampe au temps de Bruegel, des guides racontent aux familles des histoires fascinantes et leurs proposent des activités créatives.

ATELIERS DANS LE HALL HORTA  (10.00 > 17.00)

Oh mon chapeau, t’es le plus beau des chapeaux
Présenté par Bokrijk
Au XVIe siècle, les gens portaient souvent un couvre-chef, généralement en cuir ou en tissu. Dans notre atelier, nous les fabriquons nous-mêmes, mais en papier ! Munis de différents types de papier et de modèles, vos enfants créent eux-mêmes un superbe chapeau. Ils peuvent aussi plonger dans un chapeau virtuel à la recherche d'objets perdus provenant d’une peinture de Bruegel !

Danser et jouer avec Bruegel
Présenté par le Château de Gaasbeek
Dansez comme une vraie princesse ou un vrai chevalier sur de la musique de château, choisissez un jeu parmi les jeux de l’époque bruegélienne et habillez-vous comme au Moyen-Âge ! Grâce à cet atelier, découvrez aussi les activités que le château de Gaasbeek organise chaque semaine pour les familles et les enfants.

Réalisez votre propre estampe !
Présenté par la Bibliothèque Royale de Belgique
Choisissez comme modèle votre dessin préféré de Bruegel et armez-vous du rouleau-encreur ! Nous vous apprendrons comment réaliser vous-même une estampe. 

Des tours d’habitation à l’image de la tour de babel
Présenté par Dilbeek et WAUW (Workshops d'Architectu(u)r(e) & Urbanisme Workshops)
Découvrez la ville visionnaire, inspirée de la Tour de Babel. Ensemble, les enfants construisent une superbe tour d’habitation, avec des jardins suspendus et des outils. Ils peuvent même utiliser des collages 3D. À la fin de la journée, découvrez une sculpture de tours d’habitation, réalisée à partir de toutes les maquettes des enfants.

« Un rommelpot comme au temps de Bruegel » - « Chante au son du rommelpot ! »
Présenté par La Porte de Hal
Un rommelpot ? Késako ? C’est un tambour à friction, un instrument folklorique ancien qui fait froutch froutch ! On en jouait lors des fêtes du Carnaval et des foires. Allez hop, les enfants retroussent leurs manches et fabriquent, en deux temps trois mouvements, un instrument qu’ils peuvent aussi décorer. Les tableaux de Bruegel servent de modèle. Van de liere, van de laere… Chanter une vieille chanson flamande en s’accompagnant au rommelpot, c’est tout un art.

DANS LE PALAIS DU COUDENBERG  (10.00 > 17.00)

WAOUW, des coffres à surprises sont à découvrir au Palais du Coudenberg. Trouve le passage souterrain qui te mènera sur leurs traces ! Chaque coffre renferme un défi à réaliser avec ta famille ou tes amis. Ces jeux te permettront de découvrir l’ancien palais de Charles Quint, sa construction, son histoire, le métier d’archéologue… de manière amusante.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Family Day - À l'époque de Bruegel

    Le dimanche 31 mars, en compagnie de votre famille et de vos amis, plongez-vous dans le passé et découvrez le XVIe siècle, le siècle de Bruegel. Nous vous proposons une foule de choses à voir et à visiter ainsi qu’une multitude d’activités ce jour-là. Petit avant-goût des 5 ateliers ludiques et autres activités exceptionnelles qui vous attendent à l’occasion de ce Family Day (de 10 à 17 h, sans interruption).

    — publié le