23

Alexis Blake choreography, artistic director, concept, composer – Nafisah Baba dance – Marika Meoli dance – Rosa Vidal Romero clarinet – Raphaëlle Riboullant clarinet – Jean Xhonneux tuba – Robert Visser euphonium, composer – Kirsten Gramlich composer – Elisa van Joolen costumes

Woman-as-mother, Madonna, temptress, prostitute, martyr, saint or goddess are classical motifs that have been painted and sculpted throughout art history from a predominately male gaze, resulting in the historical fixity of women's gestures and objectification of the body. Alexis Blake selected a series of female poses found in artworks from the Renaissance to early Modernism and created a choreography and performance that explores subjectivity and examines gender and representation through embodiment, repetition and sound. Two dancers and four musicians in the Horta Hall at BOZAR will abstract the poses, strip them of their history and context, and confront the viewer to address, contradict and question preconceived notions of a body.

Alexis Blake has a multidisciplinary practice that coalesces fine art, movement and performance. Blake received an MA in Fine Art from Piet Zwart Institute, Rotterdam (2007) and was an artist-in-residence at the Delfina Foundation, London (2016) and Jan van Eyck Academie, Maastricht (2014–15). Her work has been presented at numerous locations, such as: Riga Biennial 2018, Rijksmuseum (Amsterdam), British Museum (London) as part of Block Universe, ExtraCity (Antwerp) and La Triennale di Milano XXI (Milan).

21

Alexis Blake chorégraphie, directeur artistique, concept, compositeur – Nafisah Baba danse – Marika Meoli danse – Rosa Vidal Romero clarinette – Raphaëlle Riboullant clarinette – Jean Xhonneux tuba – Robert Visser euphonium, compositeur – Kirsten Gramlich compositeur – Elisa van Joolen costumes

Mère, Sainte Vierge, tentatrice, prostituée, martyre, sainte ou déesse, tels furent tout au long de l’histoire de l’art les motifs classiques de la peinture et de la sculpture vus à travers des regards à très forte prédominance masculine, résultant dans la fixité historique des gestes de la femme et de la chosification de son corps. Alexis Blake a sélectionné une série de poses féminines d’œuvres d’art de la Renaissance et du début du modernisme pour créer une chorégraphie et une performance qui explorent la subjectivité et examinent le genre et la représentation à travers l’incarnation, la répétition et le son. Dans le Hall Horta de BOZAR, deux danseuse et six musiciens adopteront des poses abstraites, les déferont de leur histoire et de leur contexte et inviteront les spectateurs à aborder, contredire et interroger des notions préconçues d’un corps.

Alexis Blake a une pratique multidisciplinaire qui réunit les beaux-arts, le mouvement et la performance. En 2007, elle a obtenu son Master en Arts au Piet Zwart Instituut, à Rotterdam. En 2014-2015, elle était artiste en résidence à la Jan Van Eyck Academie à Maastricht et en 2016, à la fondation Delfina à Londres. Ses œuvres s’exposent dans de multiples lieux, comme la Biennale de Riga 2018, le Rijksmuseum (Amsterdam), le British Museum (Londres) dans le cadre du festival de la performance Block Universe, ExtraCity (Anvers) et la Triennale de Milan XXI.