14

With: Galina Rymbu, Vera Pavlova & Maria Stepanova

How do female writers respond to patriarchy and imagine themselves? Three powerful female poets, from different generations in Russia, will read from their work and discuss how they revolt against stereotypes, taboos and expectations around gender, the female body and sexuality in today’s Russia. The conversation will be moderated by the literary critic Sarah Posman.

Galina Rymbu (°1990, Siberia) lives and works in Saint Petersburg. She has published poems in The New Literary Observer, Air, Sho and the Translit series. Her first book, Moving Space of the Revolution, was published in 2014. Her poetry has been translated into English and has also appeared in The White Review, Music & Literature and Cosmonauts Avenue. She has written numerous essays about cinema, literature and sexuality in Séance, Colta and Milk and Honey.
Vera Pavlova (°1963, Moscow) studied at the Schnittke Music School, sang in a church choir and graduated as a music historian before making a breakthrough three years later with poems about repressed memories, concealed experiences and latent desires. She has also written four opera librettos and two cantatas. There is a lot of media interest surrounding Pavlova, even though she prefers to stay out of the spotlight. Her work has been translated into 19 languages.
Maria Stepanova (°1972, Moscow) is a poet, prose writer and journalist. She graduated from the Maxim Gorki Literature Institute and is one of the most striking figures in the cultural life of modern-day Russia. She is a poet, journalist and publisher and an important advocate of freedom of expression. Stepanova is the founder and editor-in-chief of Colta, the first independent, digital newspaper in Russia to make use of crowdfunding.

16

Avec: Galina Rymbu, Vera Pavlova & Maria Stepanova

Comment les écrivaines réagissent-elles au patriarcat et comment se représentent-elles ? Trois influentes poètes russes de différentes générations liront des extraits de leurs œuvres et se pencheront sur les différentes façons de lutter contre les stéréotypes, les tabous et les idées reçues sur le genre, le corps féminin et la sexualité dans la Russie d’aujourd’hui. La conversation sera modérée par la critique littéraire Sarah Posman.

Galina Rymbu (°1990, Sibérie) vit et travaille à Saint-Pétersbourg. Ses poèmes ont été publiées dans The New Literary Observer, Air, Sho et dans la série Translit. Son premier livre, Moving Space of the Revolution, est paru en 2014. Ses poèmes ont été traduits en anglais et certains sont parus dans The White Review, Music & Literature et Cosmonauts Avenue. Elle est l'auteure de nombreux essais sur le cinéma, la littérature et la sexualité dans Séance, Colta et Milk and Honey.
Vera Pavlova (°1963, Moscou), ancienne élève du collège de musique Schnittke, choriste et licenciée en histoire de la musique, s'est fait connaître trois ans après ses études à travers ses poèmes parlant de souvenirs enfouis, d'expériences étouffées et de désirs latents. Elle est par ailleurs l'auteure de quatre livrets d'opéra et de deux cantates. Pavlova jouit d'un important intérêt médiatique bien qu'elle-même préfère rester dans l'ombre. Ses œuvres ont été traduites en 19 langues. 
Maria Stepanova (°1972, Moscou) est une poète, romancière et journaliste.  Elle a suivi des études à l'institut de littérature Maxime-Gorki et est l'une des figures les plus remarquables de la vie culturelle russe moderne. Poète, journaliste, éditrice et grande militante pour la liberté d'expression, Stepanova est la créatrice et rédactrice en chef de Colta, le premier journal digital indépendant russe créé par crowdfunding.