18

Swedish Chamber Orchestra Swedish Radio ChoirThomas Dausgaard conductor – Nina Stemme Leonore – Michael Weinius Florestan – John Lundgren Pizzaro – Malin Christensen Marcellina – Johan Schinkler Rocco – Karl Magnus Fredriksson Don Fernando – Daniel Johannsen Joaquino – Sam Brown stage design – Bengt Gomér set design

Programme

Fidelio, op. 72 Ludwig van Beethoven


During his lifetime Beethoven spent a lot of time working on his only opera. He recomposed the overture (known under the original title Leonore) a number of times and shortened the work considerably. The Swedish Chamber Orchestra and Thomas Dausgaard are now making their own version of Fidelio, with revised spoken dialogues from the point of view of Joaquino in an innovative spatial installation by the young British director Sam Brown. Somewhere between staged and concertante performance, these artists find the right tone in which to tell the story of Leonore (played by the celebrated Nina Stemme) and Florestan.

Did you know?

  • Beethoven 2020

    Freedom, Feminism, Fidelio

    Feeling bereft after the series finale of prison drama Orange Is The New Black? BOZAR sends you back behind bars with not one but TWO productions of Beethoven’s beloved opera Fidelio: one with one of the biggest opera stars in the world, the other with… puppets.

    — published on

22

Swedish Chamber Orchestra Swedish Radio ChoirThomas Dausgaard direction – Nina Stemme Leonore – Michael Weinius Florestan – John Lundgren Pizzaro – Malin Christensen Marcellina – Johan Schinkler Rocco – Karl Magnus Fredriksson Don Fernando – Daniel Johannsen Joaquino – Sam Brown mise en espace – Bengt Gomér décors

Programme

Fidelio, op. 72 Ludwig van Beethoven


Beethoven a consacré une grande partie de sa vie à son seul et unique opéra Fidelio. Il en a recomposé plusieurs fois l'ouverture (connue sous le titre original de Leonore) et a drastiquement raccourci l’œuvre. Le Swedish Chamber Orchestra et Thomas Dausgaard proposent aujourd’hui leur propre version de Fidelio, avec les récitatifs revus du point de vue de Joaquino, dans une mise en espace inventive du jeune metteur en scène britannique Sam Brown. Dans une version semi-concertante, chanteurs et instrumentistes trouvent le ton juste pour conter l’histoire de Léonore – incarnée par la soprano plébiscitée Nina Stemme – et Florestan.

Le saviez-vous ?

  • Beethoven 2020

    Liberté, Égalité, Fidelio

    Vous avez du mal à vous remettre de la fin de Orange Is The New Black ? BOZAR vous propose de continuer à explorer l’univers des prisonniers, dans un tout autre genre : l’opéra. Cette saison, BOZAR vous invite à découvrir DEUX versions du célèbre opéra de Beethoven, Fidelio. L’une fait appel à une star mondiale de l’opéra, l’autre met en scène... des marionnettes.

    — publié le