16

Between 24 and 26 February, Lucrecia Martel will be in Brussels for the very first time to introduce Belgian audiences to some of her new works. BOZAR is devoting three evenings to the filmmaker, who will be present for the screening of her films.

Lucrecia Martel (1966) has made just four feature-length fictions to date, yet international critics already consider her to be one of the major directors of the 21st century. Since 2001, her four films have all been honoured by major international film festivals (Berlin, Cannes and Venice).

 

In 2001, Lucrecia Martel’s first feature-length film, La Ciénaga, was a revelation! Henceforth, she has established herself as a prodigious director and one of the most influential figures in Argentinian cinema.

The recognition of Lucrecia Martel’s work symbolises the revival of Argentinian cinema which, following years of dictatorship, is flourishing thanks to a new generation of filmmakers such as  Lisandro Alonso, Pablo Trapero, Santiago Loza, Fabian Bielinzky. These young talents share an intense creativity and an irrepressible desire to show their country and tell its tale.

In her first three feature-length films (La Ciénaga, La Nina Santa and Una Mujer sin Cabeza), Lucrecia Martel depicts human relations in the Argentinian bourgeoisie through the story of three women subjected to the asphyxiating pressure of a well-meaning society.

Her films, sometimes qualified as sensualist and elliptical, explore themes such as patriarchy, religion, the existential crisis of the middle classes, social differences and post-colonialism.
With Zama, her latest film after 9 years of absence and presented in Venice in 2017, Lucrecia Martel changes register, offering a minimalist, unconventional fresco, this time with a man in the lead role. Pedro Almovodar, a great admirer of the filmmaker, coproduced this latest opus.
Zama is a major work. The New York Times describes it as one of the best films of 2018.

 

Previously

21

Lucrecia Martel sera à Bruxelles pour la première fois du 24 au 26 février prochain et présentera plusieurs de ses œuvres encore inédites en Belgique. BOZAR consacrera trois soirées à la cinéaste, qui accompagnera la projection de ses films.

Lucrecia Martel (1966) n’a réalisé à ce jour que quatre long métrages de fiction. Pourtant elle est considérée par la critique internationale comme l’une des réalisatrices majeures des années 2000. Ses quatre films ont tous été distingués par les grands festivals internationaux de cinéma (Berlin, Cannes et Venise) depuis 2001.

En 2001, le  premier long métrage de Lucrecia Martel, La Ciénaga, fut une révélation ! 
Lucrecia Martel s’est imposée dès ce moment comme une réalisatrice prodige et l’une des figures marquantes du cinéma argentin. La reconnaissance du travail de Lucrecia Martel symbolise le renouveau du cinéma argentin qui, dans un contexte post-dictatorial,  rayonne grâce à une nouvelle génération  de cinéastes comme  Lisandro Alonso, Fabian Bielinzky, Albertina Carri, Santiago Loza, Pablo Trapero ou encore Martin Rejtman. Ces jeunes talent partageaient  une créativité bouillonnante et une irrépressible envie de montrer et raconter leur pays.

Dans ses trois premiers longs métrages (La Ciénaga, La Nina Santa et La Mujer sin Cabeza) , Lucrecia Martel met en scène les relations humaines dans la bourgeoisie argentine à travers l’histoire de trois femmes soumises à la pression asphyxiante d’une société bienpensante et sur le fil du rasoir.

À travers ses réalisations, que l’on pourrait qualifier de sensualistes et d’elliptiques, elle explore des thèmes tels que le patriarcat, la religion, la crise existentielle de la classe moyenne, les différences sociales et le post-colonialism.

Avec Zama , son dernier film après 9 ans d’absence et présenté à Venise en 2017,  Lucrecia Martel change de registre et propose une fresque historique minimaliste et décalée dont le personnage central est, cette, fois un homme.
Pedro Almodovar, grand admirateur de la cinéaste, a coproduit ce dernier opus.

Zama est une œuvre majeure. Un des meilleur film de 2018 selon le The New York Time.

 

Précédemment